We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Budapest Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostel Budapest Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Budapest Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 63: English reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Unclean, just look at the pictures I uploaded. You'll see that the hostel is definitely one of the worst ever seen. There's dirt everywhere and the most disappointing thing is the mismatch between the picture they post and reality!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndreaBarba
Roland N, General Manager at Hostel Budapest Center, responded to this review

Dear our guest. Thank you for your comment. Please let us reply it. We provide exactly the same what we promote. Unfortunately you have forgotten to read the room description when you have booked. We extra write in the room description that all our rooms are with private shower and sink inside and the toilette is shared.On the photos you...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Very good hostel with helpful staff who ensured we made the best of our time in Budapest! Lovely rooms with great decor and very clean. Overall great experience!! It was in a brilliant location within walking distance to everything. I would highly recommend it to all travellers travelling on a budget!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauram2844
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

It looks like a hostel that i like! Simple and comfortable!cheap price, friendly staff and super location ! U can reach everything by feed in a few minutes! We paid just 8,50 € per person in a 3 bed dorm, for us perfect! Next time we will be here we will book that hostel! Thank u so much HBC <3

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marvin K
Zittau, Germany
Reviewed 29 September 2015

We stayed as a group of 15 students at the hostel. The location is abolutely perfect, close to metro, restaurants and major sights. The hostel consists of several rooms/apartments, all on the first floor. They are suitable for younger people, so don't judge them by standards you would apply to a hotel. Breakfast was fine, they let you choose from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conny21
Aarau, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 August 2015

The hostel is in a perfect location, close to a metro station and only a fiew walking minutes away from the center of Pest. The hostel consists of three seperate apartments in a regular apartment building which makes it a little hard to find. The apartments are charming but the furniture is pretty run down. Due to a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirleylia
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Good hostel in a great location. We've stayed only 1 night, slept well. The room we stayed [next to the reception] was big enough [7 ppl], had a private toilet and a shower. Hostel is located in the house [separate floor] and feels very safe. Very friendly staff, not sure what level of English they've spoken as we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BO S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Firstly the hostel does not look much like the photos - it's quite dark and dingy and rather run-down. The location is very good and the hostel has good security but it is quite hard to find. Stayed for one night in a shared dormitory room - the bunk beds were made of creaky metal and didn't feel too safe,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewed 22 June 2015

We arrived at the hostel and nobody was there. Waited at the door and luckily somebody turned up in 5 mins. The guy was very helpful, we paid for the breakfast which the hostel arranged in a cafe near by, however I would recommend you pay directly at the cafe, it is cheaper. (they also offer tickets to the river...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunny1811
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 13 June 2015

This hostel is really nice actually. Rooms are located in apartment (on different floor). So it feel like home. I was travelling alone, staying with other people in the room next to the reception. It was quiet, practical and the room was spacious. I slept super well! Thanks to all the staff who was super nice with me! They are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jobzie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May and loved it. We had a private room (no.4) which was well equipped and spacious. A great location in the city, a little tricky to find first time but not a big problem. The staff were polite and dealt with everything efficiently. I would stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jelnox

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Gaia Hostel
Gaia Hostel
#53 of 651 in Budapest
66 reviews
District V / Inner City
Colors Hostel
Colors Hostel
#119 of 651 in Budapest
117 reviews
HoBar - the hostel bar
#157 of 651 in Budapest
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Treestyle Hostel
Treestyle Hostel
#100 of 651 in Budapest
84 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 651 in Budapest
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District V / Inner City

Neighbourhood Profile
District V / Inner City
Discover the Inner City along the banks of the Danube, with its fashionable shops and iconic buildings. The Inner-City Parish Church and St. Stephen’s Basilica stand out as two of the finest examples of architecture in the area. If you are still hunting for more historical treats, then the ruins of the medieval city walls on Kecskeméti Utca are a must-visit while the Soviet War Memorial is also worthy of attention and relevant to Hungary’s more recent history. If shopping is on your itinerary, then be prepared: the market squares in this area are an absolute delight, particularly during the Christmas period, but even throughout the year you’ll find the latest trends in the shops on Vaci Utca.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hostel is located in the heart of the city center of Budapest with a few steps walk to the main touriststreet of Budapest. Three metrolines are within 30m walk. The hostel was totally refurbished in 2011 June and the new wing in 2012. The design is youngish,colorful and modern. All the main tourist destinations,clubs and restaurants are within 100m-300m walk. The hostel itself is a medium-sized hostel with a holding capacity of 45 persons with 10 different rooms. The rooms are quite,cosy and well equipped with all the necessary things you might need for a journey. Wifi is free and fast in the rooms as well. The hostel is located in an interesting buildingcomplex with all the necessary facilities and services that can offer you great stay. Like. Bier terrace, non-stop bar, cafe and eiscafe, supermarket and breakfastrestaurant. The rooms are all with private bathroom as following: 1 en-suite bedroom with a double bed for 2 persons, 1 en-suite bedroom with 2 double beds for 4 persons, 1 en-suite bedroom with 2 twin beds for 2 persons, 1 en-suite dormitory room for 6 person, 1 en-suite dormitory room for 6 person, lobby, 3 guest kitchens. Each room has: Own shower in the room, lockers, dining tables, computers, wifi, safe, big cosmetic mirrors, cosmetic desk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Budapest Center

Address: Semmelweis utca 2 | Mezzanine, Budapest 1052, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Price Range: ₹ 779 - ₹ 4,319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Budapest Center 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Budapest Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Budapest Center staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hostel Budapest Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please specify the kind of room you would like”
 of 5 bubbles sunitad147, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Perfect Central location, Friendly staff, Home Hostel”
 of 5 bubbles Nour_Hassan2012, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We went for the smaller two person room which was fine for us but if you want more space go for the double one.”
 of 5 bubbles 581alixt, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Wi-Fi was available but sometimes didn’t work. As mentioned, room 05 was very warm. But again, our stay was in August, so maybe if you travel sometime during winter or spring you will not feel that warm.”
 of 5 bubbles iconicam, 2 Jan 2015 | Read review
“The new apartment is charming and spacious!”
 of 5 bubbles 55aniaz, 14 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5