We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Continental Hotel Budapest

Show Prices
#37 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Continental Hotel Budapest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,040 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Continental Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,711: English reviews
Thailand
Reviewed 31 October 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at this business hotel and really enjoyed it. The hotel is located not far from city center and many restaurants. The breakfast buffet was great, many different things! Price was very reasonable and concierge was extremely helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anavarr2
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear anavarr2, Thank you very much for your review from the beautiful Kitzbühel (In January, 2014 I was there for skiing for a week - super!). I’m very happy that our city Budapest gave you so much fun like your city to me – since I’m a big ski fun - every winter! Kindest regards,

Vijayawada, India
Reviewed 31 October 2014

The hotel was nice inside, out side it looks like an old building. The room size was decent. The location was good. Wish this was a little closer to the city Center. The roads around the hotel were not very bright. It was safe but a little scary and dark. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Srikrishna B
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Srikrishna B, Thank you very much for your feedback, but I’m a litte lovelorn that although you have a lot positive comments, you gave us only three points. I hope you will give us another chance to serve on the top level if you return once to Budapest. Best regards,

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Great value, beautiful facilities and rooms, charming staff. The location is super central too! I'm really glad we stayed here. There are lots of bars nearby, and it's a short 10/15 minute walk into the central square etc.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura G
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Laura G, We are really glad you stayed here! We look forward welcoming you again at our hotel! I hope you will return soon! KIndest regards,

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 30 October 2014

This was our second visit in the hotel. It is a very good hotel with polite and professional staff. The restaurant is also great... the dinner was very good and breakfast was also very tasteful. We liked to have a breakfast always outside in a small yard. There are two pools in the hotel that are located on the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkoHiski
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear MarkoHiski, I’m very happy that you found the staff polite and professional. They are really one of our strenghts. I hope you will keep your promise and you will return to us if your travel will bring you back to Budapest. Kiitos, Kiitos! Best regards,

Modiin, Israel
Reviewed 29 October 2014

This hotel is quite a bargain. You get a very nice hotel, modern, well decorated with all the amenities you can expect for such a level of hotel, at an historical building with lots of character - high ceilings and the works. The food was great - I ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel. Free WiFi throughout the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron_Ellenbogen
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Ron_Ellenbogen, You are right, our hotel is a good bargain! It has a really good rate value ratio. Thank you for your nice comments about the breakfast and the location. KIndest regards,

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2014 via mobile

8 of us stayed here on a family break. Excellent service and rooms in a good location although it's a 15 min stroll to the Danube. If you go swimming in the pool check the temperature before paying your €8 though as it was freezing when we went although reception waived the cost because we complained! Opposite the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnjy
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Johnjy, Thank you for your feedback. I’m very sorry that you found the water temperature of our outside pool too cold. On the other side I’m happy to read that you found our hotel fantastic! Kindest regards,

uk
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Had a two night stay at this Hotel. On arrival we had a room upgrade which was a nice surprise. The room was nice and was spotlessly clean, if the view was nicer it would have been better (street view) but no big problem. The Hotel staff were all helpful and polite. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lozziebozzie
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear lozzliebozzie, I’m very happy that you were satisfied with your room upgrade, with the staff and cleanliness and also with our hotel taxi service. Thank you very much for your recommendation. Kindest regards,

Mission, Canada
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Front desk is very helpful and freindly. Wifi did not work the most of time as my room is at very far side. Power went out at one midnight while I was reading and scared out of me which did not help me to fall sleep. A little bit too far away from Dona river where the most activity and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Grace B
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Grace B, I’m very sorry that the wifi was not strong enough and also that the light was broken during one night. Until now I in the hoep that no one had noticed it since it was at 4am and it came back very quickly. I hope – although you have some criticism – you will give us another...

London
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a recent city break in Budapest. The hotel is located in the Pest side and is convenient for easy access to most sights and parts of Budapest. Breakfast was disappointing as it there was no variation and the choice is limited if you don't like tinned fruit. The coffee comes from a machine and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quadrature
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dera Quadrature, I’m very sorry for your frustration because of our breakfast since we get so much commendatory reviews for it. The „day before policy for airport minibus” comes from the operators, since they can guarantee the exact pick up time only if we book it in advance – it is even written on the ticket – but beleive me,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2014

My fiancé surprised me with a trip for my 30th on Thursday 16-Sunday 19th October. We arrived at the hotel to a lady playing the piano, which was lovely. Whilst checking in the booking had an error if twin beds, but they resolved this by upgrading us to a suite. Room was lovely, large plenty of room, clean and tidy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cherrybombbtq
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Cherrybombbtq, Firstly I’m very happy that your suprise trip was so nice in general. It was good to read that you have enjoyed your upgraded suite although it was a little noisy once. Thank you for your commendatory words about the breakfast and massage. I hope you will remebemr us if you have to make some surprise for your...

2,110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1278)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (279)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (226)
Viewed
Bathroom (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (545)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (753)
Viewed
Amenities (98)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (84)
Viewed
Presidental Suite (119)
Viewed
Dining (89)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (102)
Viewed
Standard Room (69)
Viewed
Suite (99)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 340 in Budapest
4,494 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 340 in Budapest
1,054 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 340 in Budapest
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 340 in Budapest
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District VII / Jewish Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly Moorish in style, crowned by the twin onion shaped domes, the Synagogue is the very emblem of District VII and one of the main attractions in the capital.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Price Range: ₹ 5,244 - ₹ 14,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Budapest
#29 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#29 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Continental Hotel Budapest staff and other travellers.
96 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (96)

Questions? Get answers from Continental Hotel Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can get an upgrade it is worth the little extra”
  • amazing lifesize view into the courtyard
 of 5 bubbles frankberm, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room facing the inner courtyard as much quieter. Rooms also have tea /coffee making facilities & English speaking channels on tv too.”
 of 5 bubbles nodlaigs, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms look amazing if a little compact, décor very tasteful unlike some others in Budapest”
 of 5 bubbles malcolm190stewart, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would guess the higher floors are quieter, upgrade if you can but otherwise all good - we had 3 rooms and they were all identical.”
 of 5 bubbles 104PaulN, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Maybe spend a little more and get a bigger room if your there for more than 2 days”
 of 5 bubbles FlyTravel26, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5