We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Expo Congress Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Expo Congress Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Expo Congress Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel in december 2015. We were given a room at the second floor, which had problems with the heating/ventilation system, the temperature couln't go higher than 20 degrees Celsius. But the worst part was that the bed sheets haven't been cleaned, they were dirty and full of hair from a previous guest. Furtherly, I went to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olga u
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear olga u, Thank you for staying at the Expo Congeress Hotel and taking time to post your feedback. First of all I was very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel. Our goal is to ensure that each one of our guests leaves with a feeling of satisfaction from their visit, we...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015

The hotel is really lovely, and the staff are incredibly professional and knowledgeable, as well as being approachable. A lot of reviews seem to comment on the hotel being "far out" from the city - the nearest metro is about a ten minute walk away, and two stops takes you into the heart of Budapest. The breakfast is delicious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah N! I appreciate your passionate words about your recent stay with us. We are very encouraged by the positive feedback we have received so far. We are never tired of hearing such praising comments as yours about the Hotel and our facilities. Our commitment is to provide a very high level of service and I am obviously pleased...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2015

The staff were pleasant, and the food decent but the room wasn't fantastic. On arrival we had to shepherd a weird beetle out of the window so the room obviously hadnt been cleaned well before we checked in. Speaking of the window, there was a notice on it saying it couldnt be opened fully (to prevent you flinging yourself from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheBananaKing
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TheBananaKing, I was very sorry to learn that you left our hotel not feeling you had a completely enjoyable stay. I am sorry that you were disappointed about the temperature of the room. Please be assured we will follow-up with our housekeeping staff to avoid any reoccurrence of not working A/C. We hope that you will grant us another...

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Stayed at Expo Congress Hotel for 4 days around New Year's Eve ( 2014-2015). We arrived late at night ( around 11pm ) and the room was really really cold ( the air conditioning was set to 15/16 degrees when outside there were temperatures below 0 ). It took a lot of time for the room to warm up so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra P
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear , We would like to thank you personally for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and we regretfully that you left our hotel disappointed and not feeling you had a special stay with us due to various reasons you highlighted in your feedback. Our goal...

Oradea, Romania
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Very good hotel, but not excellent. The location is not great (a bit secluded), but should work fine if you have a gps. Clean rooms, great bathroom. Even if we had a room at an upper floor, the view was good, but not delightful (there are no touristic attractions in the surroundings). Breakfast was ok, could have been more diverse....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxana D
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roxana D, Thank you for taking the time to time to share your feedback on the Tripadvisior public forum following your recent stay with us at the Expo Congress Hotel. Although I was glad to note that your overall stay with us was quite positive and you did enjoy your visit to Budapest, I am sorry for the inconvenience...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

I visited with a friend in October. Amazing price budget break. Could not fault this hotel, we didn't pay a lot for our 4 night stay but safe to say if a couple hundred euros was added to the cost we still wouldn't of complained. Our room was spacious, spotless and bed comfy. Breakfast was lovely too, staff kindly made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shalybalybee
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shalybalybee, I am so happy that managed to contribute to a memorable experience in Budapest and you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us at the Expo Congress Hotel. Our aim is to impress each and every one of our guests and I am happy to know that we succeeded in your case. I am very proud of...

Caterham
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in October, the room was clean and a reasonable size, cheaply furnished and a small flat screen TV. We stayed on the ninth floor, views were ok but not outstanding by any means. Breakfast was again average, scrambled egg every day, bacon and frankfurter type sausages, cereal and some pastries and breads. Nearest metro is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveTurner
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DaveTurner! Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review following your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you had a mixed experience regarding to the room. Thank you for choosing us and I still hope we may have the pleasure once again to welcome you back to our hotel. Kind regards, Gergely Bobák

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2015

I stayed here towards the end of October into the start of November with three other friends on a sightseeing trip. The Hotel was part of a package holiday with Jet 2 and I must say looked really well presented from the photos prior to going. Upon arrival, the overall look of the hotel lived up to those photos, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimnotjon
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jimnotjon, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other potential visitors! I was really pleased to read your kind words from the helpfulness of the staff through the quiet location and the nice view.How nice to feel that we have left lasting impressions in your memories. We are absolutely thrilled to know delighted that we have met...

Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Pros: - free parking - wi-fi Cons: - dirty rooms - broken window - clogged shower drain - dirty and broken towels - broken door - dirty walls - smelly/dirty sheets - unproffesional staff - verry poor breakfast - worst coffee Far away from being a 4 star hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank placeb000
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear placeb000! Thank you for staying with us at the Expo Congress Hotel. Thank you so much that you taking time to shared your experiences on Tripadvisor. Your comments serve as a base for further improvement of our service. We do hope that we will welcoming you back at the Expo Congress Hotel in the near future and you will...

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

This hotel is a real drama. We arrived at 11:00 o'clock am and the room wasn't ready yet. No problem, but they also didn't have a room to change our clothes, which we had to do because we were participating at Hungexpo. They wanted us to change our clothes at the toilet.... Reception friendly level zero, the shower only had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana A
ExpoCongress2009, Front Office Manager at Expo Congress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Zuzana A! Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your comment of your stay. We are sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. As far as I know you did not requested the early check in option, since we had a full house the rooms are avaible from 2:00PM. The Board Room was...

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
ACHAT Premium Budapest
#139 of 340 in Budapest
242 reviews
Green Hotel
#228 of 340 in Budapest
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#109 of 340 in Budapest
1,483 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#138 of 340 in Budapest
270 reviews
Danubius Hotel Arena
#133 of 340 in Budapest
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Expo Congress Hotel looks over the Budapest Exhibition Centre, East of the centre of Budapest. The hotel offers a bar, sky bar and restaurant and 160 standard and superior guest rooms designed for the modern business traveler. For visitors wishing to see the sights of the city, the downtown area is easily accessible by bus or metro in less than 20 minutes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Expo Congress Hotel

Address: Expo ter 2., Budapest 1101, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Price Range: ₹ 2,763 - ₹ 11,795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo Congress Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Expo Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#93 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Expo Congress Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Expo Congress Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a high floor”
 of 5 bubbles worldtraveller382, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on the top floor with a view!”
 of 5 bubbles hollym917, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A clock would have been good and fan in bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles CassandraMag, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the higher floors would have a better view”
 of 5 bubbles shaz69Aberdeen, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room was num. 1106 - on the 11th floor with amazing view.”
 of 5 bubbles Katarina_Popo, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay