We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Riverlodge Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Riverlodge Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Riverlodge Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 98: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Good, clean and a great opportunity to meet with other travellers as you share a kitchen and bathroom. Just make sure you lock your door at night - when we arrived we were first taken to a room that was occupied (systems were off) and during our stay the same happened, with somebody wanting to check into our room late...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gustav_13
Petrus J V, Owner at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Greetings Gustav Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an pleasant review. I must apologise for the systems going down. Eskom our countries electricity provider has scheduled power load shedding. This sometimes happens according to their schedule but most times it just happens. This has caused severe problems with our computers, as you can imagine. I now...

Reviewed 20 January 2015

Awesome experience living there, amazing colorful blend of characters from the other lodgers to the staff. Very welcoming and warm. Felt relaxed , refreshed and rejuvenated after my stay. Recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful and affordable place to stay while seeing the scenic places of the Mother City.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Masikati
Riverlodge C, General Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Riverlodge Backpackers. It is always a pleasure having guests like yourself staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest should you return to Cape Town. The Riverlodge Team

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 10 January 2015

We spend ther 3 nights with our camper van. When we arrived ,the stuff did not know about our reservation ( including 100 euro deposit, witch I could not remember at that moment ! ) The camp ground was nearly full and I needed to move other poeple to park our van. The stuff was helpfull to clear the situation.We...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pauldanny
Petrus J V, Owner at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for your review. When I read this review I was appalled, that one of my staff members would STEAL any money. So I did a little investigation into all the correspondence that you had engaged in with us here at Riverlodge Backpackers. In all of our correspondence to you we have found that we sent you...

Reviewed 5 January 2015

I went there for NYE and I enjoyed my stay. Toilets are public but very clean. The price paid is good considering that security is provided. They have parking place They offer options for camping. The only thing I didnt enjoy is the timing for cleaning the rooms. They only clean 2 times a month for what I was told.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neide T
CharlotteVisagie, CEO at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Greetings Niede, Thank you for your beautiful response and review. It is heart warming to know that our guests did enjoy their stay and have left with found memories. I would like to mention something about the cleaning of rooms though. As an guest leaves and checks out we clean the room from top to bottom. We wash the walls...

Cowes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2014

This is safe, welcoming budget backpackers that is closest to the airport. I have been here 10 days for business and as a base for exploring Cape Town. I don't know about you, but for me, a good shower is essential. If the shower area is small, if there's no hot water when you need it and if the head...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IvorBiggun2013
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ivor, thanks for the award and bragging rights, we are very proud! You'll be happy to know that we are adding 4 more showers, with good old fashioned taps and shower heads, to our ablutions! Come check it out!

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Riverlodge Backpackers has the staff that has the hospitality any backpacker can take example from. The place is strategically located in such a way that users can buy from nearby shops and catch a train to various places.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Silas N
Riverlodge C, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Silas, Thank you for review of Riverlodge Backpackers. Really great that you enjoyed your stay, look forward to having you back with us in the future. Safe Travels Ricky

Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I booked for one night, but after spending a rather depressing hour there I left and found another place to stay. I travelled for 8 weeks through South Africa and I never ever felt unsafe. However, this place gave me the creeps! I would not recommend staying here if you are travelling on your own (especially as a woman). The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MOxOx2014
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi MOxOx2014 On behalf of the management and staff of Riverlodge Backpackers I want to apologise for the bad experience you had at our lodge. Many of the complaints you mention have been identified and addressed already. We endeavour to ensure a pleasurable stay for all our guests, and regret that yours was less so. Regards Louise

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We really liked this place- it was unusual, quirky and different. The staff were friendly and laidback, which was nice. The building was so fascinating, being an old institution- I noticed on tripadvisor that some people complained about the building being run down...we thought it actually added to the character and unusualness of the place :) The eco village was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank freyja2014
New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 April 2014

staying at Riverlodge was a great experience. the staff were so helpful with all my inquiries, it is nice and close to the airport, also very easy to get the train to and from the city here. Thanks for making my stay so comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicola S
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi NicolaS Thanks for the comments, and we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Warm Regards Louise

Bowen Island, Canada
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was the most depressing, disgusting accommodation I have ever had the displeasure of staying in. If moving had been an option, I would have left immediately. Unfortunately, our rather large group was booked in for 6 hellish nights. The staff was quite indifferent to complaints. The management, however, did move us to another room for one night when we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mona H
RiverlodgeCapeTown, Manager at Riverlodge Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Mona H Thank you for your comments. On behalf of all staff and management at Riverlodge Backpackers, I would like to extend our apologies for the bad experience you had at our lodge. I would like to assure you that we take all complaints very seriously. We have addressed the issues of cleanliness in a strict manner and will...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinelands
0.9 km away
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
City Lodge Hotel Pinelands
#1 of 1 in Pinelands
81 reviews
8.7 km away
Road Lodge Cape Town N1 City
2.2 km away
Green Elephant
Green Elephant
#1 of 10 in Observatory
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Lighthouse Farm Backpacker’s Lodge
7.8 km away
Big Blue Backpackers
Big Blue Backpackers
#59 of 129 in Cape Town Central
132 reviews
0.5 km away
EHL House
EHL House
#4 of 26 in Pinelands
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Riverlodge offers you Cape Town Backpacking at its best. Our backpacking lodge is based in the Oude Molen Eco Village, Pinelands, the closest backpacking hostel to the airport. Cape Town City center is only a 12 min drive away. We offer a convenient on site shuttle service and we are an accredited Baz Bus stop. WIFI, internet, office services and a travel desk are just some of the facilities available. River Lodge offers the best of both city and country living. An fantastic backpackers - self catering, clean & homely, high ceilings, wooden floors - cozy in winter, cool in summer. In our large spacious kitchen you can indulge in your favorite pastimes, chilling at the bar, lazing by the fireplace, prepare your favorite meal while watching DSTV, or enjoy our spacious BBQ facilities. You can relax on the enormous stoep or climb into a quiet hammock on one of our lawns. We boast of having one of the largest in city camp sites in Cape Town, catering for vehicle and tents, safe and secure. The Backpackers dorms are perfect for Volunteer Accommodation (60 pax), sporting groups, school groups, group stays, business and self drives -- we are regularly used by Volunteering Organizations. We offer a range of accommodation: 2 bed, 4 bed, double rooms and family room en-suite and a 10 bed dorm with it's own showers and toilets. Configuration of sleeping facilities can be adapted to specific needs. This is the place to base yourself and explore Cape Town as we are centrally situated, 12km away from both Cape Town International Airport and City Center, as well as a 2min walk from Pinelands railway station. A heartbeat away from the N1 and N2 highways. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riverlodge Backpackers

Address: Oude Molen Eco Village | Alexandra Road, Pinelands 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Pinelands
Price Range: ₹ 1,140 - ₹ 2,683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverlodge Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riverlodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riverlodge Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Riverlodge Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Windy house is nicer, private and quitter,”
 of 5 bubbles natef0k, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“thorough cleaning, there were even spider web on the walls. also please put a door mat on the rooms, those tiles were very cold.”
 of 5 bubbles moliehic, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the inside are of the place are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles neidet2015, 5 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Get a room near the awesome shower! 20 mins on the train and you're in Cape Town. R7 one way. Train station is 5 minute walk from Riverlodge.”
 of 5 bubbles IvorBiggun2013, 11 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 690lucyb, 16 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5