Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel

Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel

11 Hekerua Road, Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081 New Zealand
Traveller (54)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 2 lodges in Oneroa
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to our small social backpackers on the magical Waiheke Island, the island of sun, wine and fun! Only 35min from downtown Auckland. Waiheke is so close, yet so far removed from the rat race of Auckland City - come and see why Waiheke was voted one of the worlds top island destinations in the world by many travel magazines. The Hekerua Lodge Backpackers is centrally located secluded on an acre of stunning New Zealand native bush, only 5 minutes walk form Little Oneroa Beach and another 10 to the shops We cater specially for the international youth travel market, a place to meet new people, laugh and dance in paradise, so if you wish to socialize and have fun then the Hekerua Lodge Backpackers is the place for you!! We offer a chilled spot to get away from it all and immerse yourself in island and backpacker life. We have no TV so relax on any of our sun decks, take a dip in our rock pool or just wash it all away in our spa pool. Get involved with all our fun activities in the camp-ground including volleyball, cricket, beersbie and yoga!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Hiking
Table tennis
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Adults only
BBQ facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Board games / puzzles
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Room features
Fireplace
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, Greek

Location

11 Hekerua Road, Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081 New Zealand
253Reviews1Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 48
  • 26
  • 17
  • 21
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
annadru2016 wrote a review Jan 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked into this hostel by mistake, and now I don’t want to leave! This is such a welcoming place, from staff to guest, just get involved in the community vibe and you’ll be rewarded. I feel very lucky to have found this special gem, and I can’t wait to return and bring friends.

The facilities are excellent. Hekeruah has everything you need for a comfortable stay: great beds and showers, a spa pool, a sociable deck area and beautiful scenery, whilst only being a short walk from the beach. There’s even a fabulous veggie garden and friendly dogs!

The owners Tom and Audrey are extremely kind and generous with their time, their home and their energy. They’ve created a very safe, non-judgemental and seriously fun Waiheke world of their own and they’ve managed to fill it with lots of like-minded and cool souls.

I’ve made friends here. Thank you, Hekeruah... you gave me everything I needed and so much more!

See you soon! Anna
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew B wrote a review Feb 2020
chester,england
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I enjoyed my stay at Hekerau Backpackers lodge on Waiheke Island. Staff were helpful and friendly and place was clean.Ok if your backpacking or on budget.I stayed there while visiting relative.Good location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura Huber wrote a review Mar 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hostel is close to a really nice beach and has a pool which is also amazing. If you like to party you are definitely at the right address. Unfortunately the hostel is not clean at all and there was even mold on the salt in the kitchen. You have to walk around barefeet which wouldn’t be a problem if the floor was clean.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DonnaBerry wrote a review Mar 2020
Hamilton, New Zealand
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Serious safety incident
My first impression of Hekerua Lodge was a good one, we arrived later and it looked cute all lit up. There was a nice pool and a spa and the room was on par with other backpackers I have stayed at. The kitchen was quite dirty, but not the worst I have seen staying at hostels and the general cleanliness wasn’t great, with dirty underwear under one of our beds, filthy hand towels and no dishwashing liquid. The septic tank must have been quite close to our room because there was a sewerage smell every time we went outside (although growing up living with a septic system, I know this does happen). They also have a “no shoes” rule, which is a nice idea in principle, but not when the bathrooms are filthy and covered in piss. However, the location was beautiful and this would have been an average review of a backpackers I may have considered returning to if it wasn’t for the horrific behaviour of the male owner (the female owner was helpful and friendly).

When we arrived back on our second night staying there we were subjected to several hours of the owner continuously harassing us and telling us off over minor things. He appeared intoxicated and was acting very erratically. We were told off things like having the lights on in our room as this would “attract mosquitos”. When we tried to inform him that mosquitos are not attracted to light, but rather carbon dioxide he proceeded to tell us that he had lived there long enough and would know, and then turned our light off (with us still in the room on our bunks). He was also making rude comments about other guests. These were just little things, but when you are being told off for something every 5 minutes by someone acting the way he was you start to get very uncomfortable. It got to the point we’re we considered leaving and getting the ferry back to Auckland that night as we were so uncomfortable. However, the owner then left to go to a party so we stayed.

During this time there was also a Stag Party at the lodge, which the owner had some kind of connection to. While the majority of the guys were fine, we spent the rest of the night being intimidated by a few extremely intoxicated and drugged-up members of the group. They would not leave us alone and groped one of my friends.

Some final points:
- The wiring in the rooms needs to be checked, two of our phones overheated while charging to the point they started malfunctioning (luckily we were not charging them at night!) – my phone has never done this before.
- Sort out the rude, elderly long term guest. I see her mentioned in previous reviews. She should not be telling people off, if she has an issue with something she should be going through management. And maybe ask he to use the path instead of constantly walking past the rooms when she doesn’t need to.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mats wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We do agree on another review.
"extremely disappointed, not helpful guest service when booking reso
property in good location - trail to bus stop, not far from town
pool looked good, but dirty or chipped on bottom. wanted to use hot tub but ppl in there for hours and it closes early
uncomfortable beds - not sturdy, missing steps on ladder making difficult to get up (multiple beds had this problem and ppl of all size were struggling), very hot in room, lots of bugs (a few cockroaches) and mosquitos, no screens on windows and doors. have mosquitos buzzing around your face at night
smoking on back deck unpleasant, should be separate area further from doors and windows
small kitchen, sink always full of dirty water, no food storage room left
no sink main floor toilets. separate toilet showers nice but had to go upstairs for sink, shower mats always soaking, never clean
no lockers in room, thin walls and roof so loud
owner smoking on deck with guests, uncomfortable and weird dynamic
floors extremely dirty inside but you aren't allowed shoes on
other guests yelling at us checking to take shoes off, one older longterm guest yelling at a girl wearing her jandals inside because the floor was so dirty (I wanted to do the same), and threatening to kick her out, so unacceptable to be treated like that by another guest
there appeared to be some events but no communication of it - weren't sure which ones were open invite or if it was just longterm guests who had their cliques
will be staying somewhere else next time"
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travellinglyfe wrote a review Jan 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a family room for four which is tiny with one power outlet. Rooms have no fan or fly screens so we had to have windows open for ventilation but got eaten by copious amounts of mozzies on first night. Bathrooms are not cleaned often and were barely acceptable with urine on floors around toilets. House rules are to remove shoes in bathrooms and communal areas but the floors are filthy so we wore flip flops just to keep our feet clean. One look at the kitchen and we did not eat there or prepare meals. We just slept there and went out all day until late. May be what backpackers are looking for but not a pleasant or comfortable stay for most. Wouldn’t stay again. Only stayed because of good reviews but not for us at all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicol1235 wrote a review Mar 2020
Hamilton, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible place. Toilets and showers filthy. Two minute showers strongly pushed on us. The “no shoes inside” rule is disgusting, especially when the toilets etc are so filthy. Strong unpleasant sewerage smell the whole time. Was made to feel bullied/pestered by the owner. Intimidated by a stag do who were clearly on drugs.

Only positive was the bed which was comfortable. Would never stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adria Sabado wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hostel. Clean, new, spacious and really chill and nice people. The terrace outside is great.
I really recommend if you go there. The staff is great and welcoming and the place has nice areas to chill.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cloe222 wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I slept 2 nights in this little paradise ! But not enough to visit the island.
A clean swiming pool, a clean kitchen, toilet...
It was a wonderful staying !
We feel welcome very quickly, thanks for the service guys
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Ferguson, Owner at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Thank you Cloe, glad you had a great time. Save travels.....
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
noname20 wrote a review Mar 2020
Hamilton
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Probably a good place to stay for backpackers with absolutely no expectations. The management is terrible, the owner is rude and a bully. The place is seriously unclean. Some of the other long term stayers there are just really rude and mean. We did not feel welcome at all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Ferguson, Owner at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Hi there, thanks for your review. As a hostel, we cater to the needs of backpackers. The reason we have so many long-termers (some for up to 2 years), we believe, is because we are good at what we do. For this reason, I think it unfair to judge my management so strongly. As for the cleanliness, we deep clean the entire hostel for 2.5 hours every day. As for the guests that were supposedly rude to you, we cannot speak for. We are sorry that you didn't feel welcome, as that is something we pride ourselves on.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Offshore34
Auckland Central, New Zealand15 contributions15 helpful votes
Sorry guys but we have no road access to our camping area... You are more than welcome to bring a tent. The rate is $18pp/night with full use of lodge facilities..
Venture47062708210 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're looking for quiet/solitude, this may not be the place for you. This place is for connection and good times. Sleep is for the dead."
Read full review
DaNy C wrote a tip Dec 2022
3 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can camp with your tent/van or have a bed in shear room or your private room"
Read full review
Danny F wrote a tip Oct 2018
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Depending to your mood & budget, availability of shared dorms downstairs or private rooms upstairs."
Read full review
Badgerbags wrote a tip Mar 2018
Wellington, New Zealand2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in a private double room. Was good."
Read full review
JJSola wrote a tip Jan 2018
Helsinki, Finland4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I had a good night sleep also in the dorm room and they were spacy and clean."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oneroa area.
PRICE RANGE
₹2,923 - ₹3,591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandWaiheke IslandOneroa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HEKERUA LODGE BACKPACKERS HOSTEL (Oneroa) - Lodge Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Sacred Blessing Sanctuary Garden (1.1 km) and Waiheke Wine Centre (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Island Gelato Company, The Oyster Inn, and Vino Vino by Connie Aldao.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Greek, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Hekerua Lodge Backpackers Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stony Batter Historic Reserve (2.7 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire