We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Budget Newcastle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Budget Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ibis Budget Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Cheap hotel easy check in comfy beds clean and tidy. Air con is an old rattler could not sleep with it on. Air vent in shower was uncovered and could see straight into the dusty dirty roof. Thought their was a fridge in room but no it was a communal one. Limited space in fridge as hotel was very busy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Strongl
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, you brought up some excellent points that I definitely will be introducing. We apologise that there were a few things about the hotel that were not up to standard, we would love to mention that we are installing new shower vents in all rooms as well as upgrading some of our older air...

An Accor traveller
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank An Accor traveller
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Capsule shower toilet, double bed plus bunk bed, just same as any other ETAP or Formule 1. You been to any one of these, you been to all ETAP / Formule 1 around the world. No going to waste time write about the room. The only thing I would mention is the rooms do have window air conditioning units (not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Azzsyd
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your experience. Yes we are like any other ETAP or Formule 1 Hotel with slight difference. We hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, General Manager

Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had a medical emergency with my pregnant daughter who was being flown to Newcastle.. we rang the ibis.. and asked to book a room.. advised them that it would be a late check in as I was travelling from port macquarie I then offered to pay for the room by credit card but was told "no its ok just...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank justme81269
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We just wanted to apologise for your experience with our hotel, we have spoken to our staff and conducted further training especially when it comes to late check ins as we do not have an after hour check in service and once again apologise that you were not advised of this. We know we cannot change your experience...

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed 1 night at short notice. Were able to book a further night if required. Basic, and a great place to get a good sleep. Safe parking with CCTV, and no noise from the roads. There is a central dining area for breakfast, and you can store you food in freezers/fridges. No cooking facilities in rooms - just bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind feedback regarding your experience at our hotel, we appreciate the time you have taken to recommend us. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future and also will be sharing your great feedback with our staff. Kind regards, General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for a night on our way to the Gold Coast, late check-in, early check-out, and were pleasantly surprised. It was cheaper than most of the motels around but definitely very clean and comfortable. We are happy to have found out about the "Ibis Budget" brand and will consider it when we travel. Clean, comfortable and cheap prices, what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emine A
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I was staying here for work and was looking for a cheap stay. The only positive is that the beds were comfortable and it was cheap. The toilet door didn't close as my knees stuck out, I could only just turn around in the shower and the noise from the highway was pretty hard to get used to. Good for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrendanOldman
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter A
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide B
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed at the Ibis as a quick stopover on the way to Brisbane. The room was very cheap ($65 for one night) and it was definitely well priced as I wouldn't have been happy paying anymore than that for the room. The room was tiny with a bed, sink in the corner and the toilet/shower in a cupboard (kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheree W
IbisBudgetManagement, General Manager at Ibis Budget Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you letting us know about your stay. We want to thank you for providing honest and positive feedback that we can share with our staff. We know its not necessarily for everyone but we are glad it served its purpose in your case. We look forward to serving you again in...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallsend
7.0 km away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
44 reviews
4.9 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
332 reviews
9.4 km away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#11 of 22 in Newcastle
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,276 reviews
6.4 km away
Best Western Plus Apollo International
6.5 km away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ibis Budget Newcastle is located clost to John Hunter Hospital, Hunter Ice Skating Arena, Hunter Stadium, Newcastle University and Newcastle Entertainment Centre and much more. Hotel check in is available 24 hours. Reception is open from 7am to 10am and from midday to 10pm. The Hotel offers many different room types suitable for everyone. We also offer a continental breakfast daily. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Newcastle

Address: Corner of Link And Lakes Roads 3-5 Thomas St, Wallsend, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2287, Australia (Formerly Formule 1)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Wallsend
Price Range: ₹ 3,072 - ₹ 5,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Newcastle 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Budget Newcastle staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Budget Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“simply don't go there!”
 of 5 bubbles keitho210, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Dont go there!”
 of 5 bubbles jillyh2015, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If there is only the two of you try for a room without the bunk beds as it will seem more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles kathryns568, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground Floor close to Reception was great”
 of 5 bubbles JP777777, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Away from the highway side.”
 of 5 bubbles CptJules1985, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5