We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
See the most recent reviews
Showing 373: English reviews
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Roxburghe Hotel. The staff were friendly the food was excellent and the overall standard was five star. log fires, comfy sofas and a relaxing atmosphere. I would highly recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janice w
General M, Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to write this. I believe you have captured the essence of the hotel, a home from home and somewhere you can truly relax. I have passed your kind words onto the team, they will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards, Kerry Watson,...

Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2014

Have been coming to this hotel for nearly twenty years. It is a superb venue with a majestic golf course but constantly let down by the food. Have had some good meals but mostly poor ones many of which we have had to send back. We had virtually given up using it and would certainly not take any friends there....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BorderTerriers
General M, Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

What a great review, thank you. It is wonderful to hear. We are very keen that the hotel is used locally as a place to dine or even to pop in for a coffee. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards, Kerry Watson, Operations Manager, ICMI

Green Valley, Arizona
Reviewed 16 October 2014

Loved our one night here. We were in one of their 2-story cottages around a cobbled courtyard next to the main hotel building. It was very spacious and had a lovely view of the grounds. The food was excellent and the breakfast lasted us all day! Unfortunately the weather was a bit wet so we only did a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mgwrite
General M, Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your review, it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Courtyard rooms. Breakfast certainly does keep you going for the day! I have passed your comments onto the team and hope to see you again, hopefully the weather will be better next time and you can really...

Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2014

I was recently at the hotel for an evening meal and I have to say was very disappointed with it. It was very ordinary and the portion sizes were fit for children..,,don't expect too many accompanying vegetables on your plate! I counted one Brussels sprout, one courgette piece and one carrot piece. The main course was infact not much bigger...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Edinburghlass58
General M, Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and taking the time to let us know your feedback. Good or bad this is vital to our growth and development as a team. We were extremely disappointed to receive your review especially as the comments we received on the night were very different, one of your guests commented that it was the best risotto...

leicestershire
Reviewed 4 October 2014

Welcoming open fires, even in September, cosy room, very attentive staff, and all in a historic house. Even without the very good golf course, this clearly is a great place to stay, as its many guests testify. Dinner with the 'Chez Roux' endorsement and guidance from the master was very good, if not quite up to the standard you get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stella317
General M, Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I agree completely about the log fires, we lucky to have 4 in our public rooms and they really do add character to the room. It is good to note that you also enjoyed the food. Since introducing Chez Roux and having...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Last week, my husband and I stayed at the Roxburgh for one night only, unfortunately, on our way to another hotel closer to the Ryder Cup. After traveling from the states, it was a wonderful respite. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. If we had been staying longer, we would have upgraded to a larger room but for one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie H
General M, Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the hotel and of course our golf course. I am happy to hear that your husband managed to enjoy a round before having to move on up North, it certainly is a must for golfers. I have passed your kind words onto our team, especially the barman, who can work wonders with his...

Reviewed 1 October 2014

We arrived at the Roxburghe not knowing what to expect….and were thrilled. The hotel was beautifully done and maintained. Our rooms (#8 and #10) were large and bright and well decorated. Everyone was friendly and courteous. A special delight was the shooting instructor, Alastair. He must have spent 1.5 hours with my daughter teaching her to shoot clays - a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargDavis
General M, Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your review of the hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and letting us have your valuable feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. I have to say the instructors at the shooting school are excellent and very much enjoy their work. I have...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2014

Stayed here with my wife and one of our dogs in one of the outbuilding rooms that accommodates dogs. From arrival till departure 3 days later we had a fantastic stay. The staff were excellent, the hotel lounge was warm and comfortable and the food in the main dining room was excellent. My wife requested one of the days with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ross M
General M, Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. We are working very hard as a team on all aspects of the hotel and it is great to hear that the work is paying off. The Courtyard rooms are delightful rooms which are ideal for our guests who wish to take their pets with them. As you mentioned the grounds...

Reviewed 6 September 2014

Booked at short notice. Went for the cheapest rate. Got a great room. What made the stay great was the staff, very attentive but not over intrusive. Dinner was also superb (grouse done just perfect for me, never had better) and the picnic lunch was rather good. In total the night cost more than the days fishing but, in my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wylieas
General M, Manager at Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed both your room and your meal in our Chez Roux restaurant. I have passed your comments onto Chef Albert and all the team. Thank you again for your time. Kind regards Kerry Watson, Operations Manager, ICMI

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Back at the wonderful Roxburgh Hotel where we have stayed many times,eaten many times and got married (once!) - just to try out the Twenty's Plenty lunch offer. What an incredible lunch and unbelievable value beautifully presented with excellent service in fabulous surroundings - whitebait,sea bass and a couple of glasses of NZ Sauvignon did the trick.Coffee afterwards in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephen F

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heiton
0.0 km away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
322 reviews
0.0 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
296 reviews
0.0 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
683 reviews
0.0 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
510 reviews
0.0 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Roxburghshire, Heiton, Kelso TD5 8JZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Kelso > Heiton
Price Range: ₹ 9,926 - ₹ 18,926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxburghe Hotel And Golf Course
Roxburghe Hotel Kelso
Roxburghe Hotel Course
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Kelso, United Kingdom
over a year ago
paisley
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Courtyard rooms are good if you have a disability”
 of 5 bubbles bonitaz2016, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the courtyard- very unimaginatively done”
 of 5 bubbles bwfs20, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The inclusive Golf/Hotel breaks, when available look excellent valus”
 of 5 bubbles 0barrym, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if there are any but ones with view from rear of hotel will certainly get the views.”
 of 5 bubbles BJMcI, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“very difficult to advise, given our experience.”
 of 5 bubbles Mags777, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay