We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonnenburg

Show Prices
#26 of 52 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sonnenburg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Province of Milan, Italy
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We are biased about this hotel because we got married here, but we love the place. It is simple, unpretentious, good food, good bar, and rooms are comfy. Peaceful and relaxing. Recommended to Oberlech lovers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agf883
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We spent a week at the Sonnenburg hotel with our family and friends. The location is fantastic and beautiful and we loved being able to ski in/ ski out. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately there were a few negatives: The rooms were far too warm and stuffy making it difficult to sleep at night and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paola0902
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

Used to be a great place for lunch, but the service is now arrogant and frankly shocking. Same again at tea time, waited 15 mins to get served and gave up. Montana and Burg much better options for lunch and drinks, or the Monhanfluh up the hill with its better view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theczech
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Manager at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear theczech, thank you for your rating. Yes of course, it can happen that you have to wait approx. 15 Minutes when we serve meals for over 400 guests at the same time. We are very sorry that you have to wait that long time for your meal. Best regards!

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 March 2016

We went for lunch at the sunny terrace which was very nice and the service was very good and responded very friendly to any questions that came up. We had some Schnitzel and Soup which where good and well done. Unfortunately the "Käsespätzle" where unacceptable. I am really sorry but it was disappointing, it used to be very excelent at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mbegle
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Manager at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear Mbegle, thank you for your assessment. We are very happy that you liked our sun terrace and our food. Our Käsepätzle are homemade and it might be that you don't like the natural taste, but we will try to improve the taste. Best regards!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sonnenburg. Staff were friendly and attentive and the decoration was traditional and homely. We considered both breakfast and dinner to be very good. The hotel is family run and although some may say that the operation is not as slick as a large chain, the intimacy and atmosphere make it a very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coachlondon1
poppi
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Sonnenburg has all you can ask for as a winter hotel. But it is very expensive you even pay for tap water ! At the bar a GT goes for € 17,50 ... The staff is very friendly and they do everything to make your stay great. The salad bar in the evening is top but the cheese buffet is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank goodtime62
New York, United States
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

Sonnenburg has all you can ask for in a winter hotel. Location, ski-rental, pool, big-spa, gym, babysitting and playroom for kids. Effortless arrival service with bags and skis left at the bergbahn to show up in your room and in the ski room. Also cleaning is excellent. So basically all i great, but I am left with a lingering feeling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gustaf V
Heraklion, Greece
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Unfortunately our stay in Sonnenburg hotel this time (we had stayed in this hotel 4 years ago) was not at all what we expected based on our previous experience in this hotel. Starting form our rooms which were located in the 'Landhouse'. Firstly the rooms were unacceptably small for the price we were paying and most importantly located quite far...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank EmmanouelaLin
London
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Overall experience was great. Fantastic service with a special mention to Julia in reception, Tomislav in the restaurant and Clara in the playroom. Decoration in rooms is a little dated but super clean and the beds were super comfy. Fantastic breakfast buffet with a massive variety of food options. Dinner was equally good with ambitious cooking that is well executed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SkiingSwede
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Geschäftsführer at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear SkiingSwede, thank you so much for the nice words. We are really looking forward to welcome you as soon as possible again in our new Sonnenburg :-). Our Landhaus was also modificated approx. 3 years ago. The rooms there are very beautyful and silent. For families and teenager a perfect stay in comfortable rooms. The Landhaus is also much...

Palma
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Superb in every way. We have eaten many times at the Sonnenburg and this year stayed their for the first time. The hotel is typically Austrian , very clean and well run. The Spa exceeded our expectations. The hotel offers many facilities and as its Ski in Ski out we never felt rushed at all during our stay. Often a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoJanglesPalma
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Geschäftsführer at Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear BoJangelsPalma, thank you so much for your great rating. We can't wait to welcome you again at our Sonnenburg. You will love the new rooms ;). Ps. Maybe 2017 we will modificate the SPA - so you will enjoy it even more :-)! Best wishes & see you hopefully soon Gregor & Waltraud Hoch

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lech
0.3 km away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#13 of 52 in Lech
110 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#2 of 52 in Lech
194 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#22 of 52 in Lech
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 52 in Lech
219 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel Arlberghaus
Hotel Arlberghaus
#1 of 14 in Zurs
102 reviews
0.1 km away
Burg Hotel
Burg Hotel
#11 of 52 in Lech
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On the sun terrace of the Arlberg mountains; in the traffic-free village Oberlech; mountain rail connects to the center of Lech. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonnenburg

Address: Oberlech, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Price Range: ₹ 19,141 - ₹ 58,031 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sonnenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sonnenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenburg Hotel Lech
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lech
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lech
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lech
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sonnenburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in main building might be more convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles coachlondon1, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“do not choose the Landhouse option as it is as if you are staying in a 3* lodge but paying 5* price.”
 of 5 bubbles EmmanouelaLin, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the Landhaus are a bit of a walk away but no issue unless of reduced mobility.”
 of 5 bubbles SkiingSwede, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If you have really small children - being on the Landhaus is convenient as the Kinderclub is right outside.”
 of 5 bubbles H4983GWrebeccas, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The rooms at the front face south and have beautiful views. We had a "comfort" room which had a separate sitting room where our son slept - perfect set-up and worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles tanno1992, 12 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay