We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Sonnenburg

#17 of 51 Hotels in Lech
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Sonnenburg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Sonnenburg
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

We came here every day for lunch as it was directly opposite the ski school which finished between 12-1.30pm. Food was good, simple and filling although it was never very hot, maybe because they are so busy and things were either waiting around or cooked in large batches. But the service Was always good and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 283Tanga283
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Inhaber at Hotel Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear 283Tanga283, thank you for your rating. We are very sorry that your food was not hot enough. We will have a talk to our chef and will find a solution, so you can be sure this will not happen again. Best regards from snowy Oberlech, Family Hoch and Team

New York, United States
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Having stayed at this hotel off and on for decades it is now in truly good form. All rooms have been remade in a sober way and with very attractive bathrooms. Lovley wallpaper, by the way. Also the kitchen has stepped up is act considerably. Some dinners were indeed star-class. Service has also improved and is courteous but still relaxed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gustaf V
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Inhaber at Hotel Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear Gustaf V, thank you so much for your kind rating. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again :)! Best regards, Gregor and Waltraud Hoch

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We were keen to stay "up the slope" in the Lech ski resort given snow conditions and eventually settled on The Hotel Sonnenburg in Oberlech . It has turned out to be an excellent choice great room , great food , great "apres ski sun terrace " too and fine friendly service . Recommended for couples and good facilities for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthewmC4563UP
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Inhaber at Hotel Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear matthewmC4563UP, thank you so much for these great words. You can imagine how proud and happy we are about your rating and opinion regarding the Sonnenburg. The sun is shining outside so bride but also for us inside the hotel, after this amazing words. We hope to welcome you soon again ;). Thank you & all the best, Gregor...

Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Reviewed 20 February 2017

This Sonnenburg offers pure mountain bliss with all the conveniences you could possibly imagine. The location simply doesn't come better and the extensive spa pool area is perfect after a day on the sloapes.The newly decorated suites are modern yet cosy just as they should be in the alpes. We have been going to the Sonnenburg for the past 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisefaerovik
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear Louisefaerovik, thank you so much for your nice words. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Best regards from snowy Oberlech, Gregor & Waltraud Hoch

Nyon, Switzerland
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Oberlech is where we generally gather at lunchtime and the Sonnenberg is the usual place we do it. In good weather the sunny terrace is heavenly and when the weather is bad there is abundant comfortable space inside. They have the most extraordinary waiters that see you once and then remember you all week. An excellent and varied menu from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Nyon
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear Michael_Nyon, thank you so much for your nice rating. Well, this morning we already smiled about your words, because we really try to remember all our guests and we see - we can :)! We hope to see you soon again ;) Best regards, Gregor & Waltraud Hoch

Nice, France
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We had pretty good classic Austrian lunch here in the December sunshine on the terrace I would like to mention that the maitre D was exceptional, diplomatic and charming. He is an asset to this hotel/restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ADHADH
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear Adhadh, thank you so much for your rating. Stephan, a real "pro". But it is his special type, which makes him so liked for the guests. We hope we will be able to work with him lots of years :). Hope to see you soon again & best regards, Gregor & Waltraud Hoch

south wales
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Third visit , a great pre christmas stay . Oberlech are amazing at making snow as snow fall was poor again this year. We needn't have worried the pistes were fabulous and so quiet. No off piste obviously but sunny and warm! Its usually a sunny resort! So lots of sitting outside with a gluehwein!! Hotel food is very fancy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rockySouthWales
Province of Milan, Italy
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We are biased about this hotel because we got married here, but we love the place. It is simple, unpretentious, good food, good bar, and rooms are comfy. Peaceful and relaxing. Recommended to Oberlech lovers.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank agf883
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Manager at Hotel Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear agf883, thank you so much for taking the time to reccomend us to Oberlech lovers. We hope you've enjoyed the new Sonnenburg and you will return as soon as possible. Looking forward to your next stay :), Gregor & Waltraud Hoch

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We spent a week at the Sonnenburg hotel with our family and friends. The location is fantastic and beautiful and we loved being able to ski in/ ski out. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately there were a few negatives: The rooms were far too warm and stuffy making it difficult to sleep at night and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paola0902
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

Used to be a great place for lunch, but the service is now arrogant and frankly shocking. Same again at tea time, waited 15 mins to get served and gave up. Montana and Burg much better options for lunch and drinks, or the Monhanfluh up the hill with its better view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theczech
Hotel_Sonnenburg, Manager at Hotel Sonnenburg, responded to this review

Dear theczech, thank you for your rating. Yes of course, it can happen that you have to wait approx. 15 Minutes when we serve meals for over 400 guests at the same time. We are very sorry that you have to wait that long time for your meal. Best regards!

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lech hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Goldener Berg
Hotel Goldener Berg
#11 of 51 in Lech
155 reviews
1.0 km away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 51 in Lech
237 reviews
0.1 km away
Burg Hotel
Burg Hotel
#21 of 51 in Lech
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Haldenhof
Hotel Haldenhof
#3 of 51 in Lech
209 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Plattenhof
Hotel Plattenhof
#42 of 51 in Lech
52 reviews
0.1 km away
Burg Vital Resort
Burg Vital Resort
#7 of 51 in Lech
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 Star Superior Hotel Sonnenburg is located in the most popular place in the Arlberg region: in the heart of (Ober)Lech am Arlberg, right next to the ski slope. This family hotel is well-known for its welcoming staff with their talents for foreign languages. This is just the right hotel for a family holiday, with the ski slope right in front of the ski room, ski school opposite the hotel and the practice slope and kids’ slope right next door. Culinarily, you can enjoy over 200 products at the breakfast buffet, a six course meal in the evening, crêpes, fondue, great steaks and much more. Get in touch with the Sonnenburg team – you will love this hotel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnenburg

Address: Oberlech 55, Lech 6764, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Lech
Price Range: ₹ 26,764 - ₹ 1,46,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sonnenburg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sonnenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnenburg Hotel Lech
Hotel Style:
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lech
#13 Family Hotel in Lech
#14 Spa Hotel in Lech
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lech
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lech
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sonnenburg staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
south wales

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sonnenburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Balcony and facing the valley is of course nice, but you pay for it,”
124gustafv, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had the best room we've ever had in over 30 years of ski trips but all rooms seemed to be excellent and with great views”
matthewmC4563UP, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“303, some rooms overlook slopes this room is at the side. Uber quiet!”
rockySouthWales, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in main building might be more convenient.”
coachlondon1, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“do not choose the Landhouse option as it is as if you are staying in a 3* lodge but paying 5* price.”
EmmanouelaLin, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates