We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Art Series - The Cullen

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Art Series - The Cullen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,032 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Cullen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,019: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First the good: The staff were nice, the rooms are comfortable, the restaurant downstairs was great (the best burger i have had in a long time, and nice coffee every morning). They also have a laundry on every floor for $2, which was useful cause i didn't pack enough gym clothes. AND the BAD: I just had a standard room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flien1980
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

On arriving after our Wedding we were disappointed that we were not congratulated by the hotel staff and were I fact treated quite rudely. We had prebooked late checkouts and room upgrades at the hotel months in advance so of they were available we could stay later. These weren't even mentioned at checkout and I feel the whole process was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ng91
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Ng91, Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience on your wedding night. It was disappointed to hear that your special night was not how you expected it to be. I sincerely apologise for this. This is certainly not he type of experience we wish our guests to have when staying with us. I would like the...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It's colourful and friendly and I find everything has just had that little bit of extra thought given to it to make their guest's stay perfect. Like....a piece of cake to greet you on your bed when you arrive with a hello note and the recipe. T2 teabags, a pillow preference choice, cool ideas of what to do when you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samgood72
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Samgood72, Thank you so much for your words or praise!! I will make sure the whole team know how much you enjoyed the hotel!! I hope to see you again soon! Ben

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our check in time was 2pm. However we did not get to our room until 4:30pm. We were given 2 drink cards to keep us happy in the bar while we waited. But because we waited for such a long time we then approached staff to see how long the wait would be. After we had to wait some more...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Haylee M
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hayley M, I sincerely apologise for your recent experience with us at the Cullen. This is certainly not the experience we want our guests to have while staying with us. I have tried contacting you via phone however I beleive you prefer email. I have sent you an email following up on this review. My details are in the email...

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and room. Clever infrastructure and good options if you like to do your own meal. The bathroom could be more private. Paid wifi is unacceptable nowadays. Location isn't the best, but transportation is easy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiago T
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hi Tiago, Thanks for your review. Im glad you enjoyed your stay overall. I hope that we get to welcome you back soon Ben

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 10 May 2014

As in many boutique hotels, design is not always associated with comfort. Bed and pillow were very soft and bathroom with frosted glass walls (reduced privacy). The artworks spread through the halls and rooms give a special touch to the place. Prahran is a very nice neighborhood, close to downtown, full of bars and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruno D
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Bruno D, Thank you for coming to visit us! our bathrooms are not to everyone tastes but im glad our artwork and location made up for this. Warm Regards, Ben

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I arrived with some work colleagues very late after the last flight out of Sydney, so had to press a buzzer to get in. After a brief wait, a very friendly (and it was post midnight) and helpful member of staff opened the door and checked us in. I'd recently signed up for Priority Guest Rewards and the new membership...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natbrown75
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I work in visual arts, so I really enjoy staying at art-themed hotels, and I have to say that this was one of the best ever. Melbourne is a very arts-oriented city, and The Cullen has completely integrated art into their experience. One artist is featured throughout the hotel with art even in the elevator. They have maps of nearby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deepcover
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Deepcover, thank you so much for your kind words, We pride our selves in setting us apart by providing a different experience in each of our hotels. the next time you are down you may want to try the Olsen or the Blackman who also have different artists who have attached their names and art to provide 3 different experiences....

cheshire england
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was fun and comfortable and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Our flight left in the evening and we were offered shower facilities with shampoo, towels etc. My only dislike was the bathroom. We stayed in a Junior Suite and the bathroom was tiny. This was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spencerj
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hi Spencerj, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Cullen. I'm glad the team were able to let you freshen up before you flight home. Our bathrooms are not to everyone's tastes, however I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the location of the hotel. I look...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had a four night stay in a twin suite. Attention to detail was impressive and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. NO free wifi was the only disappointing thing. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Directly across the road from a food market and surrounded by shops, cafes and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hello Carole B! thanks so much for your kind words. I will be sure to pass your comments on to my team here at the hotel. Hopefully next time you come back we will be able to offer free wifi! Ben

430 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (270)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (121)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Growler Penthouse (42)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
1,594 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 160 in Melbourne
1,972 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
2,582 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Price Range: ₹ 6,519 - ₹ 17,340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Prahran, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I haven't had a bad room but I loved having a kitchenette in the room. They're quiet and no noisy neighbours. ”
 of 5 bubbles JACKBrighton, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Every room we have stayed in has been fine.”
 of 5 bubbles KayH137, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Amazing artwork!”
 of 5 bubbles QueenDragon, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the south side of the building....more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Fletch101, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I like a higher room to get away from the street noise - essential for me when in Melbourne, as I find the trams loud.”
 of 5 bubbles lukehP678ZT, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5