We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Art Series - The Cullen

TravelocityUS$ 109*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Art Series - The Cullen
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,064 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Cullen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,051: English reviews
Alstonville, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2014

This hotel is one you can't mistake for another. As frequent traveler, I always know where I am when I arrive or wake up at The Cullen. And I'm always happy to be there. It's a unique hotel experience and I am made to feel welcome on my regular stay there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark P
CoryNJ, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Mark P, Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind Regards, Cory Norris-Jones

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 September 2014

I live in Melbourne but chose to stay here on a Saturday night instead of paying for cab fares to Prahran back for a big party. What a great idea! This hotel is super cool, conveniently located in the gay friendly busy and colourful Commercial Road/Chapel Street vicinity. Room was immaculate, colourfully decorated, food fabulous and all the staff ever...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jodie S
CoryNJ, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hello Jodie S, Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review of our hotel. We feel very lucky to be part of such a vibrant and exciting neighbourhood, there is something for everyone here! I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you back soon. Kind Regards, Cory Norris-Jones

Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 3 September 2014

A family member booked this hotel as a present for my partner's birthday knowing we were going on the Yarra dinner cruise. When getting ready to go out on our dinner cruise the plug in the shower blocked up, reception sent 2 different people to fix it, both of them did their best to no avail, so having no other...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Dean S
Amy_Moylan, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Dean S, Thank you for your review and first and foremost I do sincerely apologise there has been a communication error in the chain of events following your stay with us at The Cullen and the manager with whom you were dealing with, please know we would love to have you return and we are very disappointed to learn...

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved our 1 night stay at the Cullen. The Art Series hotel lives up to it's name and full of beautiful modern art. A stay at this hotel is more then a room it's an experience. The room it's was nicely sized with a king bed, kitchen and sitting area. The bathroom was a bit small but the artworks...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hannah M
CoryNJ, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hello Hannah M, Thank you for the amazing review of our hotel! Unforgettable experiences are what we strive to achieve for all our guests, and I am so glad that we were able to make your stay one of them! It sounds like you were able to experience a bit of what makes Prahran special, hopefully your next stay with...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We absolutely loved the hotel, the design and the room. We don't have a bad word to say about it. We tried breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and that was really worth trying. Location is great as the 72 tram stops just outside so straight to Flinder Street Station or walk 2 mins down the road and you get Chapel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VinceFenlon
CoryNJ, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Hello VinceFenlon, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and point out a few of our misses in regards to your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us but I apologize for the confusion we caused in regards to the Priority Guest Rewards membership. You are correct, the benefits of our membership should have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Our two day conference was made easy with the help of the excellent team at The Cullen Hotel. They looked after all of the details and pre-empted our needs. Things ran so seamlessly... it simply happened without even asking.. Excellent facilities and great friendly staff.. always doing that little bit extra to ensure our function was a success. Magnificent food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dush V
Amy_Moylan, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to recently hold your Leadership Conference at the Cullen Hotel. Myself and the entire team are thrilled to see your 5 star review of the service, facilities, and food. It is fantastic to hear this was a productive and successful time for the delegates. Thank you for your glowing review of your event, we were delighted...

Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We find this hotel is in a great location, the staff are very helpful and friendly plus the rooms clean and comfortable and has a trendy vibe. For us it is close to most things we want to do in Melbourne. The Prahan Markets are over the road and trendy Greville Street is within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
Amy_Moylan, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback! Great to hear that the team made your stay an enjoyable one... Look forward to having you back here again soon. Cheers, Amy Moylan Hotel Manager

Auckland
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed here for a weekend after a business trip in CBD. The hotel was exactly what we like - boutique size, super decor,friendly service and a great area to explore on foot. The markets across the road are great,and the tram to town leaves from just outside. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLTrish
Amy_Moylan, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear TLTrish, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. The Prahran markets across the road from the hotel are amazing for delicious local fare and produce, so glad you found them to explore at our doorstep! Sincerely, Amy Moylan

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Cullen hotel is my number one choice and in no form of disappointment. Amazing hotel with great personality that come from the building, design, staff and the food too. It is situated in a great location, and take advantage of using the cute smart cars to get around or better yet the push bikes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANNA P
Amy_Moylan, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Anna P, Thank you so much for your kind words, we really do appreciate it. I’ll ensure you comments are forwarded on to the team......I know they’ll love reading them. I do look forward to seeing you again at the Cullen hotel. Kind Regards, Amy Moylan Hotel Manager

Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay in Melbourne. I was here not long ago for a business trip. Great cafés and restaurants close by. The prahran market is also just right across. The rooms had beautiful decorations and it was very clean. The kitchen was complete with a microwave oven if needed. The only noise I could hear were the trams, apart...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lyn209
Amy_Moylan, Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review

Dear Lyn, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Amy Moylan Hotel Manager

438 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (278)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (142)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (121)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Growler Penthouse (42)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
1,656 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
2,019 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,347 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 159 in Melbourne
2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Price Range: ₹ 7,980 - ₹ 15,635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Prahran, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Art Series - The Cullen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The one suggestion would be, better reading light! Everything else was perfect.”
Bjpusa, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Get the vibe off Chapel St and Commercial Rd on the lower floors....”
Lace4774, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The lights in the bathroom are on separate switches, one just outside the bathroom and one connected to the main ceiling lights in the apartment. It's easy to think one is not working. ”
susanvJ8697WT, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing Commercial Road were a little noisy with window open. I liked the tram sounds, nothing too loud. Very quiet when windows closed”
robynl96, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was a bit on the chilly side outside but that's Melbourne weather.”
yvonnez596, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 109* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$ 231
Orbitz.comUS$ 109
Expedia.comUS$ 109
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates