We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 194: English reviews
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

I was an interstate visitor. I was booked on the top floor. Climbing about 40 stairs with a shoulder injury was pretty hard. If I had known that there was no lift , I wouldn't have booked! The wifi was a pain. Every five minutes I had to put in the code. The information wouldn't stay. I also didn't know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosita K
Avonmoreonthepark, Front Office Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosita K, I am sorry that your experience with us was not as you expected ... you have raised some interesting points and I would like to respond. By the sounds of it, who ever booked your accommodation did not do their research very well as we do not advertise a restaurant and we do not mention that we...

Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stayed here with friends and the purpose of the visit to Sydney was to go to the races. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking is a problem if you have your own vehicle and especially if it is a larger vehicle. The location is perfect for your choice of food options and also plenty of shops within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaen F
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback in order to improve our service to you.

Reviewed 5 September 2016

I made a last-minute decision to go to Sydney for the weekend and was looking for somewhere comfortable, not too noisy and with good access to public transport. I jumped on one of the booking websites and did a search and the name Avonmore on the Park came up. At once, I recalled having stayed here in 2003 when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matthew T, Thank you for your kind review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to do so. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 31 August 2016

No parking, there are 3 car park spaces . If you are lucky enough to get a spot in the street ...it is 2 hour parking! No room service , no dining room..the room was very small but clean and quiet. Finding somewhere to eat was not as easy as made to believe, unless you want to eat pizza.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen W .. I am sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Everything you have mentioned can be found and explained on our and other websites .. but I will just clarify for the record. We have 5 spaces (4 external / 1 in garage) car spaces at the rear of the property that are available...

Bathurst, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights looking for a relaxing weekend in Sydney, and that's exactly what we got. The building itself is quite old, being built in 1888, if I remember correctly, and it was a bit of struggle up the narrow staircases with our luggage to the third floor where our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeithH4
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback in order to improve our service to you.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I have stayed in Randwick every month or so for the past two years while attending UNSW as an external student and have tried all the accommodation options available in the area. The Avonmore is the best. Quiet, clean and elegant with helpful staff. I recommend it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank warwick488
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback in order to improve our service to you.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Avonmore has spacious rooms (at the front of house), thoughtful and considerate staff ready with information on the many great pleases to eat nearby - all within walking distance. There is a lovely graceful old fashioned feel to the place. Across the road from a park, it is in a quiet location. Parking can be tricky but thee is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris A
Avonmoreonthepark, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback in order to improve our service to you.

Waitara, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Most helpful fellows , a very good location, very handy to a good all round restaurant & breakfast spotty . There is some most interesting history to this building way back , a very nice open area several acres to walk about , from a Kiwi .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank felix j
Avonmoreonthepark, Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your Review. Many of our guests do find the locale of the hotel both relaxing and convenient to restaurants, the hospital, university and other amenities. As you also mention, the heritage and history of the building gives an added charm to any stay whether business or pleasure with many of the original features giving an insight into...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Atmospheric, relaxed, with excellent character without being formal or contrived. Fantastic value for money and very helpful staff. A lovely experience. Convenient for everything on the south side. A feeling of being a federation gentleman.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ninefathoms
Avonmoreonthepark, Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to detail your stay at Avonmore on the Park. We like to think the hotel offers the best of both worlds in offering a stay of which captures a congenial historical ambience combined with the creature comforts one would expect to find in quality accommodation these days. We hope to welcome you back again...

Qatar
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

While my client's location dictated where I stayed, I also chose this hotel for its price and the traditional style of the renovated terrace. These three factors were not enough to salvage the quality of my stay. The decor is dated, worn and stale, a theme that continued into the room I stayed in for three nights. Visual aesthetics aside,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer H
Avonmoreonthepark, Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of the Avonmore Hotel. There are many grievances you raise and if these were that much of a problem, we here at the Hotel would have been eager to rectify them on the spot. It would have been no issue to do so for there are many other room styles available of which you, the...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
135 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Randwick Central Suites
#4 of 11 in Randwick
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel comprises 30 rooms and suites. 23 Elegant rooms (including two with disabled amenities), offering private bathroom facilities, LCD HD television, kitchenette, ceiling fan and heating. In addition, our newly renovated north wing now offers 7 fully air conditioned queen & king bed suites. These rooms also feature a private bathroom, work desk, flat screen tv and a host of modern comforts. Reception is open 24 hours on Fridays & Saturdays and from 7am to 11pm all other days offering taxi bookings, local maps, directions and general information. FREE Wireless internet connection throughout the Hotel.There are laundry facilities (coin operated) on the premises or a dry cleaning service is available within a short walk. Centrally located in historic Randwick, Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel is a luxurious fully restored, three storey late Victorian mansion. Originally built in 1888 by John Walsh, Avonmore boasts a permanent heritage listing and is reputed to be one of the largest terraces in Sydney. With the building just a stone's throw from the peaceful, tree-lined Alison Park, your stay with us is sure to leave you relaxed and satisfied. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel

Address: 34 The Avenue, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Price Range: ₹ 6,188 - ₹ 9,959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Goulburn, NSW
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ASk for air conditioning as only some rooms have it, I believe”
FarmerJohn45, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be aware the King Suite does not have a true King bed”
pearlchampagne, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“more modern rooms up stairs, no lift, so book for ground floor if elderly guests or limited mobilty.”
simoneh621, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We found the Heritage Room, located on the first floor to be a good pick.”
dasdad54, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Garden room was easily accessible.”
P9760SUmicheleb, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Agoda.com
Hotels.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates