We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kurrara Historic Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Kurrara Historic Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kurrara Historic Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 368: English reviews
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016

The rooms and the property are really cozy and quaint. Rooms are comfy and have all the amenities expected. Loved the shared lounge where we sipped on tea and biscuits by the fire making plans for our trip. The staff were helpful and breakfast was a nice treat too.

Helpful?
Thank MiliPop
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Kurrara and wish you all the best for your upcoming trip. Best wishes Evelyn & Iain More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I really enjoy the one night stay at the Guest house, love the setting of each rooms and the reception is very welcome and helpful. The room is a bit small but just fine for two of us to stay and enjoy the quiet time.

Helpful?
Thank dongruz
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. We offer rooms of different sizes including three large downstairs spa suites, all individually decorated with 4-poster beds, and large double spas. You can choose your room of choice when you book direct on our website. Best regards Evelyn More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2016

For our first trip to the Blue Mountains, Kurrara Historic Guest House was the perfect place to spend a few nights. The staff were warm and welcoming and the rooms cosy. Being able to start each day with a continental breakfast and returning to the complimentary port, cookies and chocolates was a highlight.

Helpful?
Thank L T
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

Delighted that you had a great stay with us and hope you'll come back again soon. Kurrara is well located for exploring all the Blue Mountains has to offer. Best wishes Evelyn & Iain More 

Milsons Point, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Unfortunately I can't give a good review for this property. There were a few things, which contributed to this. Firstly to be greeted at the back door by someone waving their hands saying 'We're not ready, we're not ready!' was not very welcoming and left us with a terrible first impression. We arrived at 12.50 and only wanted to leave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caterina Z
KurraraHouse, General Manager at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, it is unfortunate that you were met with a poor response and I do apologise for that. We have a strict cleaning schedule and on that particular day we were washing and polishing floors so the reception was unavailable to accept guests prior to the check in time (I was also a staff member down due to illness),... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Our three night stay was a joy from start to finish. We stayed in the ground floor English Rose spa suite,which was not only attractively furnished with antiques but extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. The sun room alcove was an added bonus and the dining area with fridge and microwave meant that we didn't have to dine out every night... More 

Helpful?
Thank robynk1000
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Fantastic bed- slept well here, beautiful antique furniture, gas fire place in main lounge room, leather lounges, interesting art on the walls, including original owners of the property. Lovely bath nice and big with spa shoots. Good to have after a day spent walking in the wilds of the mountains, or travelling further afield. Good location. You can walk to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suellen S
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Very friendly housekeeper. It was a small guesthouse but has almost every necessary accomodations. The rooms was small, but hey, we paid only about 90 euro per nights and why you need so big room if you only need to sleep there. I like also the old style interior with a fireplace.

Helpful?
Thank Qi X
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We stayed one night, mid week without prebooking and found the room to be comfortable and reasonably warm. The weather was wet and windy and the complementary port did help fortify us. The house is large and old with high ceilings, creeky floorboards and the usual guesthouse clutter - some love this antiquey feel. The included breakfast was quite good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ganghook48
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

As they say 'Rome was not built in a day'.............and we are in fact 4 years into the project of restoring Kurrara, an original Katoomba guest house that has been operating since 1902. It would be a shame not to embrace it's history, so we have chosen to refurbish the house in keeping with its Victorian heritage. Room by room,... More 

Koolewong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We had the great pleasure of finding Kurrawa on our recent mid week escape to the Blue Mountains. Tucked away in a quiet street within walking distance to the main st of Katoomba or a stroll down to the 3 sisters the beautifully restored Guest house is a hidden gem. Step back in time and enjoy the ambiance of Kurrawa... More 

Helpful?
Thank kooltravellers
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasurable stay at Kurrara and that it met your expectations. The Rose Spa Suite is a good choice and perfect for an extended stay or special occasion. Glad that we could provide some R&R away from the kids, although I am sure you missed them!!! It was great to meet you... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We stayed at this beautifully decorated and charming characterful Inn for our wedding but we're disappointed with almost everything. After entering through a cluttered and unattractive verandah we were charmed by the interior character but the house was freezing and the owners unfriendly and unwelcoming. They made a big deal of showing us the range of teas they have and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anita L
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review

We do wish that you had advised us on arrival of your wedding. We would have recommended an upgrade to one of our palatial spa suites rather than one of our smaller rooms, which would have been more suitable for your needs. If I appeared unwelcoming at first, I must apologise as I was distracted while trying to identify your... More 

154 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.0 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
788 reviews
0.9 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
505 reviews
9.5 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.2 km away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 20 in Katoomba
621 reviews
0.4 km away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area.We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Address: 17 Coomonderry Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: ₹ 6,478 - ₹ 10,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kurrara Historic Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor if you want to avoid stairs”
 of 5 bubbles mickhayes2016, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Katoomba is very hilly so be sure you have the residual fitness necessary to get around”
 of 5 bubbles B4014EYjohnw, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in the Aster which was beautiful and nice & quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles ameliab_274, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Loved the Bluebell Room”
 of 5 bubbles lozemwhit, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All 3 rooms we had were nice”
 of 5 bubbles April2926, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay