We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Avonleigh Country House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avonleigh Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
Start your review of Avonleigh Country House
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Old style guest house. Rooms a bit small and no kettle or tea in rooms. Apparently they quick to set off fire alarms shower with door closed or alarm goes off. No kitchen facilities. Good location for Three sisters (6 or 7 min walk) and 5 minute drive to Scenic world. About 5mins drive out of town centre. Friendly staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenian
Matthew Y, Manager at Avonleigh Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review & allowing us to respond, as you know we have all the coffee and tea facilities in the communal lounge area which takes less than 10 seconds from the rooms and we would like to remind you that we do not offer or advertise kitchen facilities.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This is a lovely old heritage cottage. The room was clean and adequate and there is a great sitting room with tea and coffee facilities. The customer service is fantastic, Matt is welcoming and extremely helpful. One added advantage was that the Pins Restaurant is within walking distance. We would be happy to stay here again.a

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LED276
Matthew Y, Manager at Avonleigh Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review & allowing us to respond, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the Hotel Avonleigh,hope to see you again.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We booked through last minute.com. We paid for a Deluxe room with Queen Bed. We actually got a Double Bed. We have requested a refund from last minute.com for the $30 difference between the price of the double and the queen room. This has been refused. The carpet was filthy and the upholstery furniture in the public rooms was torn....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Matthew Y, Front Office Manager at Avonleigh Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review & allowing us to respond, we are not too surprised by your review.You were insisting doggedly that your room was not Queen size and wanted get a full refund after checked out? We never had a complaint about the size of Queen bed by other guest and if this is...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

The customer service was fantastic, the room was clean and tidy and the location was fantastic. If I ever go back to the area, I will be staying there! We got shown on a map where the good places to visit were and where to eat. We followed the advice and were not disappointed. A great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizzie21pie
Matthew Y, Manager at Avonleigh Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review & allowing us to respond, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the Hotel Avonleigh,hope to see you again.

'Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2016

The magnificent trees and the veteran verandas of the country garden at Avonleigh House are a plus in this part of Katoomba township, where mansions and cottage gardens survive into modern times. The floorboard has creaks and the carpets have threads which can be overlooked in favour of the total elegant/earthy Katoomba-ness. The antique air and the last-century eclecticism are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank francesca082
Matthew Y, Manager at Avonleigh Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review & allowing us to respond, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the Hotel Avonleigh,hope to see you again.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

I'm just about to leave Avonleigh after a delightful three night stay. This was my first solo trip ever and this was the perfect place to stay. The accommodation has old school charm (lace curtains, wooden furniture etc) but modern technology (flatscreen TVs and bathroom fittings). There's a loungeroom with a roaring fireplace, a shared fridge and a microwave. There's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie_NotInACan
Matthew Y, Manager at Avonleigh Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review & allowing us to respond, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the Hotel Avonleigh,hope to see you again.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

My partner and I had such a great stay at this cosy, comfortable and welcoming hotel. Just a short walk to the three sisters and a short drive to the town centre. The manager was friendly and accommodating, great ambience in the common area, all in all an enjoyable trip!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pindarj
Matthew Y, Manager at Avonleigh Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review & allowing us to respond, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the Hotel Avonleigh,hope to see you again.

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Avonleigh Country House is perfect for people like us wanting something just out of the middle of town but also perfect distance in exploring the area. On arrival Matt was fantastic in guiding us to information about the area as well as 'must dos'. This was so helpful. Our room was clean comfortable and cosy. Great heating and very homely....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hannah S
Matthew Y, Manager at Avonleigh Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review & allowing us to respond, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the Hotel Avonleigh,hope to see you again.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Regular traveller and first review on this site. I'm fairly easy going and unless facilities are poorly kept and obviously unclean, or where staff show an obvious disregard for customers, then I'm fairly tolerant.. I think. Last night we had booked a room on lastminute.com for the Avonleigh at Katoomba.Katoomba was very heavily booked that night. We were literally visiting...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank _propertyfind101
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights. Our room had a bed, bathroom, closet, heater, TV, tables and chairs. It had a classic and cosy feel to it. Matthew showed us around and made us feel welcome. Upon arrival he gave us maps and showed us places to go on these maps. He showed us to the common...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lainie N
Matthew Y, Manager at Avonleigh Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review & allowing us to respond, delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains & stay at the Hotel Avonleigh,hope to see you again.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.6 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
856 reviews
0.3 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 km away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
544 reviews
1.0 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.2 km away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Avonleigh Country House

Address: 174 Lurline St | Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: ₹ 4,665 - ₹ 10,172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avonleigh Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avonleigh Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonleigh Country House Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avonleigh Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are quiet”
LED276, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We are in the back of the hotel (away from the road) if you want to be somewhere quiet.”
TravelingP0m, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was good”
Lawrence_in_Aus, 28 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We had a room at the back of cottage and it was very pleasant and spacious.”
ColleenP414, 19 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We had the family room (11)”
Angelfish918, 11 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5