We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

3 Explorers Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
3 Explorers Motel
3 Explorers Motel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 3 Explorers Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 331: English reviews
Casino
Reviewed 22 October 2014

Having stayed at 3 Explorers prior, I knew that it was great. The actual location in Katoomba is excellent, allowing us to walk to 3 Sisters with ease. Manager is a very obliging man and maintains a high standard for the motel. Very enjoyable stay with 2 grand daughters that we only see 3 to 4 times a year. Great...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan D
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2014

The staff were extremely helpful; the place was clean and fresh with the room being checked daily. The bed was very comfortable - all in all an excellent place to stay while we did the "tourist" thing :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bren_home58
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 October 2014

This was the second time we stayed at the 3 Explorers Motel. The rooms are comfortable and well furnished and are presented in a clean and tidy manner. The motel is positioned very close to all the Katoomba attractions. The Chinese restaurant named the Canton Palace is located nearby and was enjoyed again on our second visit, would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew M
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2014 via mobile

My kids had a shower the night we stayed and complained the hot water ran out quickly and had to wash their hair in freezing cold water. I thought it might be a once off issue until next morning when I had a shower - the hot water lasted 1 minute and then went freezing. The place is a joke...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank teendad053
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, unfortunately you never raised the problem with reception regarding the problem experienced with the hot water, we have a gas fired system for the hot water & not...

Reviewed 8 October 2014

Great place to stay in Katoomba. Walking distance to Pins on Lurline (Restaurant) and the three sisters. Great advice around places to eat and to get to Scenic World early (which we did to avoid the queues. Will stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blackdelta
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Poindimié, New Caledonia
Reviewed 8 October 2014

For our second visit to the blue mountains we stayed in this Motel a full week with my husband in September. The first opinion on arrival was not too bad considering that the motel is getting old, and the room is not perfectly clean .. but the location is just perfect (few meters of Echo Point). Everything was suppose to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Isabelle S
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, pleased that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains. The soap holder was part of the fitted tile & by breaking the holder the edge of the remaining piece could easily cut any Guest whilst taking a...

Norco, California
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We had booked a room for an overnight stay months ago, and a last minute change of plans.had us extending our stay in Katoomba to 3 days. The only problem was that the room type we had booked originally was not available all three nights so we decided to just change rooms the last night. On our arrival the owner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rankbronc
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2014

My husband and I stayed there over two nights. We found the manager most helpful. He gave us great advice on how to use our time and avoid the crowds. We arrived early but our room was ready and he put the heater on for us to warm up the room. We had a double room and it was fine....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dora P
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer a very kind review on your recent stay @ the 3 Explorers Motel, delighted that you enjoyed your stay & your time in the Blue Mountains, pleasure having you & hope to see you again

Reviewed 1 October 2014

We are a family of 4 we all had to cold showers very disappointing after spending $200. Left a small shopping bag of children clothes still with tags. We were informed by owner that he would not post it. We live 800 klm away. The only way we could get is post and go couriers costing us $68. I asked...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Vanessa N
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we did contact you to advise that you had left a bag of clothes which you had totally forgotten about, we advised that you use Pack & Send for all items left by Guests, there was no rudeness on our part, even after your threatening comments relating to what would happen if you had to...

Singleton, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2014

Stayed at 3 Explorers Motel in a "family" room for $275/night which was just an average motel room with small bunk beds in the passage way to the original tiny bathroom. For the amount we paid we were expecting the room to reflect this price point but were extremely disappointed. No bath, dated bathroom with just a toilet and shower....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sheree V
3ExplorersMotel, Manager at 3 Explorers Motel, responded to this review

We replied to each of your emails, each time you were advised that all your emails & comments had been forwarded for the Owner’s attention & duly noted. The Managers are permanent & not Relief, thank for your comment “You were very informative on checkin with advise etc but isn't that expected at any hotel/motel reception”. We did advise you...

290 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Family Deluxe Room (28)
Viewed
Queen Spa Room (33)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Family Room (37)
Viewed
Superior Twin - Double Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Luxurious Spa Suite (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.6 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
814 reviews
1.7 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
515 reviews
1.1 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 km away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#9 of 15 in Katoomba
453 reviews
2.4 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: ₹ 5,583 - ₹ 9,872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from 3 Explorers Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms were great, whether upstairs or downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles StephG34, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms seem good”
 of 5 bubbles stephenb541, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground level out the back.”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms are upstairs so may want to specify ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahnorris99, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early if staying on weekends”
 of 5 bubbles 716MikeF716, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay