We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 299: English reviews
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We were very positively surprised of the cleanliness of this hostel. The toilets and showers are clean and kitchen is spacious with good amount of appliances to use. The staff was friendly and helpful too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RPHLST
Ingolstadt
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We were a group of 6 so we booked a private room. It was very big and had a huge bathroom. The main room was also large and had pool and table soccer. I didn't try the food but it looked ok. There is also a Rooftop which we couldn't use because of the rain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florian F
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Well sized room with lockers. We came in a pair and there was only one other person in the dorm which made for a comfortable night although parts of the room such as the window ledges were a bit dirty and plugs were not completely easily accessible. The kitchen was well-stocked with equipment and the bathrooms were clean. Sadly it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leena M
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

We booked a room for 4, for a fair price. The hostel has plenty of fridges open for use, as well as a full kitted out kitchen with cutlery and crockery open to guests. They have a pool table, games, we had a TV in our room... And its a lovely little town to go walk through. Would highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 565hanky1
BMBH144, Front Office at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you 565hanky1! Come and stay again soon, Kind regards, Cathy and the team at BMBH

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We only spent one night at the hostel but liked our stay because of the huge, well equipped kitchen and because of the very nice staff we encountered. The hostel is only a street away from big supermarkets and different cute boutiques and restaurants. The rooms are big and huge lockers are available aswell. There are only very few power...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mona R
BMBH144, Front Office at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Mona R, Thank you very much for your kind review. There is not much we can do about our location, close to the train line, but as you noted we are also in a central location to Katoomba village. Rooms toward the back of the hostel are quieter. Your feedback about the power outlets is excellent. We do have...

Katoomba, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Had a really nice time at this hostel. Clean, quiet, central and cosy. Not a party hostel obviously (there's like two pubs total in Katoomba), but still social. Really helpful staff, who gave good tips about hikes in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eriksB4244BY
BMBH144, Front Office at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hello eriksB4244BY! Thank you very much for your lovely review. Come back and stay again any time. Kind regards, Cathy and the team at BMBH

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Nice hostel! Only a few minutes walking from Railway Station! Big rooms and enough space for your luggage. You can cook in a big kitchen, with lots of equipment! People are friendly and lots of young people there!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlaota2017
BMBH144, Front Office at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hi carlaota, Great to read that you enjoyed your stay. Come back again soon! Kind regards, Cathy and the team at BMBH

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately I only stayed here one night but I wish I could have stayed longer. The rooms were big and clean and the staff were very friendly. The kitchen had everything you needed and when they said free wifi they ment it. Overall a good place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markimark23
BMBH144, Front office at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hello markimark, Thank you for your positive review. Come back and stay again when you get a chance. Kind regards, Cathy and the team at BMBH

Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

We sadly only had one night booked at this hostel, wish we had stayed longer! The dorm room was spacious and you each have a big locker for your things (biggest locker I've had in a hostel to date) bedding is all clean and fresh. Bathrooms and kitchen are also really clean and the kitchen is big enough for everyone,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
BMBH144, Front Office at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Jen, Wow, thank you so much for your very positive review! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much, come back again soon. Kind regards, Cathy and the team at BMBH

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

The Hostel staff was friendly and the rooms were big and clean. The kitchen has all necessary items. It is really close to the train station and only a short walk away from the best hiking routes in Katoomba.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
BMBH144, Front Office at Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Charlotte, Thank you very much for your review. Come and stay again! Kind regards, Cathy and the team at BMBH

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.2 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
843 reviews
0.6 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
536 reviews
0.8 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#3 of 13 in Katoomba
259 reviews
0.7 km away
No. 14
No. 14
#2 of 13 in Katoomba
173 reviews
1.0 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel was opened on May 1st 2009. We are the closest hostel to Katoomba Train Station (turn right from the station and follow Bathurst Road). We have a wide range of clean dormitory, dormitory en-suite, private, private en-suite, family and family en-suite rooms. We cater to travellers, groups, families and can accommodate parties of up to 160 guests. Our lounge is great for all guests, with lots of room to mingle or find a quiet corner in front of the fire. Test your skills on our FREE pool table, FREE table soccer table, FREE guitar or play one of our many FREE board games. The kitchen is spacious, well stocked with utensils and 6 large ovens. Just out from that is a summer BBQ space and courtyard garden. Not only do we have our great reception, friendly staff and clean facilities, we also offer: FREE wi-fi throughout the hostel FREE computers and low priced printing (b/w) FREE laundry FREE games and rainy day activities FREE luggage storage (just leave us a review!) FREE on street parking FREE lockers in all dormitory rooms FREE to use TVs in the lounge and all private rooms FREE tourist information In addition, we can help you with Blue Mountains visitor attraction tickets and much, much, more. Please ask! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel

Address: 144 Bathurst Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Central Blue Backpackers)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Price Range: ₹ 2,203 - ₹ 4,907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel Katoomba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Delhi
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for twin bed or 4 bed dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles FoodieDK123, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dorms were cooler, privates were extremely hot.”
 of 5 bubbles danz2017, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“private room with toilet are quiet and toilets are clean”
 of 5 bubbles liangjunl2016, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The beds are bunk style. The more bunks in the room, the cheaper per person”
 of 5 bubbles jennys153, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“bring your own mirror as the room does not have one ”
 of 5 bubbles 380natasham, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5