We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
See the most recent reviews
Showing 480: English reviews
North Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Myself and two children stayed over Christmas and were looked after fantastically, thank you Jim and Joanne. Anything I asked for was accommodated where possible. The room and lounge fitted our needs perfectly and the accommodation was in was in excellent condition, love the plantation shutters. To be honest where else in Palm Cove can you have a self contained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank archie2442
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2016

After hosting Christmas and having a house guest the previous week, we were looking forward to a relaxing stay at the Reef Retreat. With the little chores and inconveniences, it ended up feeling too much like being at home, only without the niceties and the cleanliness we enjoy in our home. The cleanliness of the room on arrival was average...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sand175
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We regret to hear that your stay at The Reef Retreat did not meet your expectations. The Reef Retreat is a complex of self contained self catering apartments, it is not a full service hotel. “As with most self-catering apartments daily housekeeping is not included in the room rate but can be arranged for a...

Hardricourt, France
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Everything was perfect, we had a really good time at the hotel. The superior spa suite is amazing with a king size bed so comfortable, a spa bath and a nice balcony with the pool view. Close to the beach and of all the restaurants. A relaxing place, we enjoyed it !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brement V
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Reef Retreat and Palm Cove in general

Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 December 2015

An excellent and most comfortable accommodation, having con joining apartments with my sister and Brother in law. Very well situated and close to beach and restaurants. Our favourite stay of 5 nights and wished we'd stayed longer. Apartments well equipped and spacious within palm tree setting. The complex felt like our own private resort, would definitely recommend to friends and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tazzyblackie
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that Palm Cove and Reef Retreat was the highlight of your stay. Sincere thanks for your recommendation to friends and family!

Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Reviewed 25 December 2015 via mobile

For my review, I would advise everyone to stay away from the Palm Cove Reef Retreat resort. Even though we booked the room many months in advance, the room we were provided at the Palm Cove Reef Retreat was absolutely horrible. The interior of the room had an "institutional" design fit for a half way house or a college dorm...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank DougL
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review and for the opportunity of responding. Trip Advisor will confirm that all reviews are the subjective opinion of individuals. On check-in we showed you to your Town House accommodation. As you had a large ‘people mover vehicle’ as did other guests in the parking area of the Town Houses we agreed with your offer...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Really nice accomodation with excellent location and facilites, close to promenade and beach. Hosts were very helpful in organising excursions. Would definately stay again and recommend to friends if staying in this area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellercs2015
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your recommendation in relation to Reef Retreat and Palm Cove as a holiday destination in Tropical North Queensland.

Brisbane
Reviewed 29 November 2015

The Reef Retreat Palm Cove was very comfortable with an excellent location. The rooms were quiet spacious and ours was interconnecting. The large balcany was perfect for pre dinner drinks, as was the pool area. I would havbe no hesitation recommending this property, especially for families.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tatchell
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your balcony and our pool area and in identifying that the Reef Retreat is well suited to families as well as independent travelers and couples.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Stayed at the Reef Retreat for 5 nights. The place does not deserve its high reviews. First, this is not a hotel, but a time-share place, so their self-assigned four stars mean really nothing. There are no typical hotel amenities such as gym or bar, but they do have a pool. The hotel has a problem with ants - they...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank rtw123
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a comprehensive review and thank you for the opportunity to respond and clarify some of your assertions. We are not a hotel and do not market ourselves as a hotel, nor do we advertise that we have a bar or gym. We are not time share apartments. All apartments are strata titled...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

The hosts at Reef Retreat were so helpful during our brief one night visit. We stayed over night for Palm Cove Reef Feast and our accommodation was centrally located just off the esplanade. You're only minutes away from the culinary and tropical delights that Palm Cove has to offer. Cheers, jack

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackalicious
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay at Reef Retreat for the Reef Feast festival in Palm Cove. Thank you for your review and recommendation

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Reef Retreat. Excellent facilities, very clean and everything is well ordered. Staff very friendly and professional. Nothing was too much trouble including scanning docs for me to send to the UK. Reception has everything you need for local info, local attractions, airport transfers and car hire. Great location, about 50m from the sea itself....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jim and Joanne T, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and recommendation regarding the Reef Retreat. We appreciate any and all feedback and it is rewarding to know that we were able to make your stay memorable and to do those little extras to make things simple and seamless,

210 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (88)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.3 km away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 km away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,019 reviews
0.2 km away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 12 in Palm Cove
303 reviews
0.3 km away
Paradise On The Beach Resort Palm Cove
0.4 km away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a peaceful rainforest setting, amongst the majestic paperbark trees you will find THE REEF RETREAT, Palm Cove. Just a 30 second stroll, 50 meters to idyllic Palm Cove beach and restaurants. Palm Cove is the jewel of Cairns Northern Beaches, a unique, quiet and relaxing village by the sea where centuries old "paperbark" Melaleuca trees line the casual Esplanade. Just a 25 minute drive north of the Cairns International Airport. The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is a low rise four-star boutique suite style resort set amongst a lush rainforest setting of palms and majestic Melaleuca paperbark trees offering a choice of accommodation from studios, spa suites, 1 Bedroom Suites, 2 and 3 bedroom Apartment. Every room is lovingly laid out and designed to give you all the comforts of home complete with bedroom, bathroom, living area TV/DVD Player, Ipod docks, kitchenette with stovetop and micro-wave, FREE Cable TV, FREE WIFI and spacious private balconies, with views of the pool, lush tropical gardens and the lush green mountains. The Apartment is fully self-contained with laundry facilities. The Resort offers complimentary barbeque and entertainment area for guest use and is licensed to sell Beer, Wine & Spirits for consumption on site. There is a heated salt-water pool and Spa Pool presenting an idyllic Billabong scene, FREE undercover car parking, FREE WIFI and on site guest internet station, Guest Laundry and tour desk services all within a secluded, lush rainforest setting. Reef Retreat can offer you all the personalized, home-style service and facilities that you need for a truly memorable Australian holiday. Ideal holiday getaway for couples and families ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Address: 10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Price Range: ₹ 6,542 - ₹ 12,437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reef Retreat Palm Cove staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Reef Retreat Palm Cove staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all good locations”
colinv397, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the second floor above the car park but it was very quiet with lovely views of the rainforest trees.”
526trishab, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are great!”
J8230EOjennys, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check with the owner if you have access issues and/or want some daylight”
SusieQ184, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No ocean view availability with these apartments but as mentioned earlier extremely close to the ocean.”
Trudy2309, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5