We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Barkly Homestead

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tennant Creek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Barkly Homestead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Barkly Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Showing 269: English reviews
Kununurra
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Have stayed before with no problem however upon arrival on 3rd Jan were given room with only 2 beds despite confirmed booking for 2 adults and 2 children. Were provided with additional bedding (blankets and sheets no mattress) and spray for blowflies. Upon booking we were advised of rate being discounted to $150 due no TV due storm damage which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peta M
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, I am very sorry with the mix up with your booking. I cant explain why this has happened except that there must have been a communication error. Unfortunately we only have a certain number of rooms with the extra bed and on this occasion we could not find you another bed as they were all in use. We hope...

Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We regularly stay here on the way to Alice and on the way back to QLD. Has everything. Clean, beautiful gardens, great staff, delicious food a pool and fuel. Service and facilities in this outback oasis far exceed others closer to the coast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z3688WGpam
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you think our service and facilities exceed others close to the coast. We do aim for this a try very hard to make this a nice place to stay. We are very lucky to have such great regular customers like you. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 December 2016

This place has everything, large tree lined van sites, usual amenities and a feeling of comfort. Went to bar for happy hour, great atmosphere and staff. Lots of people having a god time. There were retirees, family groups, young couples with very young children, all seemed happy and comfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trishlewis2015
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay here. Happy hour is always good, especially during the busy months. We look forward to seeing you again.

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 18 December 2016

The rooms are clean, showers hot and air con works well. Had a meal and the food was good. Stopped here before and will stop again. Be warned you should book first as it does fill up quickly in the late afternoon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. Yes we book out most nights so it is very important to book before arriving. We hope to see you again.

Victoria
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

The customer service was great, I had the veggie burger and my partner had the Barkly burger, everything was presented wonderfully and quick. The store has a great range of things if you need them. All in all a very good feed! The coffees are great too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelesY8776YC
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review. Our food and coffee is popular and I'm glad you enjoyed it. See you next time.

Reviewed 15 December 2016

We arrived at Barkly Homestead after a short 4 1/2 hour drive from Mt Isa. Staff were extremely accomodating for our family of 6 (4 kids and 2 adults). Happy hour was great. Restaurant food was yummy. It is pricey due to its remote location, but its worth it! Staff were interesting to talk to and friendly as mostly backpackers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review. We are sorry about the issues you had but we will always try and remedy the situation when something is genuinely wrong. We take a lot of pride in our business and service and this is also our home so we always try and do our best. We are really happy you enjoyed...

Cairns Queensland
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Fantastic room, great food, good shop. Even a fibreglass pool. But just for once I'd wish for a clean floor. One that doesn't blacken your feet. Why can't these places teach staff to actually wash the tiles?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidWhiteFemale
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the review. I have had a word with the cleaners who assure me they are mopping correctly. We hope to see you again.

Atherton, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Almost an essential stopping point on the long haul between Tennant Creek and Camooweal or the longer one heading north towards Borroloola. Well stocked shop and cafe given its remoteness. Fuel is available and it is well worth filling up even if you think it's expensive. It's a long haul between pumps. In terms of prices don't complain if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon G
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for acknowledging our costs. We do our best to keep prices reasonable but in the end we are a very unique business in the middle of nowhere so we are never going to compete with businesses in major centres. We are 100% self sufficient so unfortunately the generator fuel is just one major expense we have to deal...

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on our way from Katherine to Winton. We had a lovely drive thru, shady site. All the amenities were clean and nice. The Roadhouse always cops flack about its prices but they were exactly as I expected them to be. You have to remember that you truly are a long way from anywhere! Food and coffee was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyd1979
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here. We are a long way from anywhere and costs are huge. Thanks for noticing. We hope to see you again.

Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We stayed one night in one of the cabins during a recent trip. It was very clean, and well furnished and suited out needs perfectly. We had a few drinks in the bar and had dinner there and found it first class. It was the most expensive room of our entire trip from Boyne Island through Longreach to Darwin and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zannagirl
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. We don't believe we can be compared to many other places as there is not many as remote or with the expenses we have to bare. We charge $150 for a standard motel room which is cheaper than many in Darwin or other major centres so we believe we are fair in what we charge....

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tennant Creek
171.9 km away
Bluestone Motor Inn
Bluestone Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Tennant Creek
180 reviews
171.6 km away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
56 reviews
0.0 km away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Barkly Homestead

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Barkly Homestead is situated 220km east of Tennant Creek on the Barkly Highway. The Homestead offers a variety of services including fuel, excellent accomodation and fantastic bar and grill. It is a welcome stopover on the long journey across the Barkly Highway. A true oasis in the desert. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barkly Homestead

Address: Corner of Barkly & Tablelands Highways | Barkly Tablelands, Tennant Creek, Northern Territory 0862, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Tennant Creek
Number of rooms: 21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barkly Homestead staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Barkly Homestead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms equal”
 of 5 bubbles 316lesleys, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cabins = good A/C..... motel = nicer bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles paulsS5211QQ, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one of the self contained cabins for a little extra :)”
 of 5 bubbles Etonbeach, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As the rooms are set back from the highway there were no major issues with noise”
 of 5 bubbles 1954dean, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't think it matters”
 of 5 bubbles royp767, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5