We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cooinda Lodge Kakadu

Booking.comUS$ 230*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 246*
US$ 230*
Great Deal
US$ 245*
US$ 246*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

746 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 638: English reviews
Start your review of Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We camped there for 5 nights for the taste of Kakadu festival during May. We were warned about the mozzie problem, but we didn't realise how bad it could be. We took a lot of repellents with us, but you can't ever really protect yourself 100%. Not sure how much the park can actually do about it as it's near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julz T
Sydney, Australia
PROPERTY’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Firstly can I say a lot of,people who write these reviews should stay at home, how can anyone complain about such petty stuff shouldn't go anywhere. You are in the middle of nowhere with no accommodation to stay for miles. The rooms are very large nicely cooled with fans and air conditioning outside area to sit as well. Yes they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carmel O
About Property's Favourite Review
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Hi Carmel O, I like to respond to every review, where possible - what an absolute pleasure it is to respond to yours! A couple of points - we are currently in discussions with the owners to develop the property further. This would include refurbishing the rooms but a scope of works will be put in place accordingly. The beautiful...

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff were all smiles on arrival, not a mention of what we were about to experience. As the previous 2 reports stated the 1 night experience was very stressful and a horrible experience. We had camper van with a unpowered sight, shaded spot amongst the tress. Sprinklers were on, which we turned off, and when I saw a fellow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy371
Bribie Island, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Both pools were lovely and refreshing. Must do while there Yellow Water early morning cruise was amazing and Scenic Flight. Stayed in the Caravan Park where ammenities were clean. Staff friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nomad0202
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Dear nomad0202, Thank you for your wonderful review. The team at Cooinda is delighted that you had a great experience!! The Yellow Water sunrise cruise and scenic flight are certainly spectacular and a great way to take in the beautiful Kakadu National Park. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back...

Brisbane
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Couldn't agree more than with the last reviewer famnugteren. We camped at Cooinda for 2 nights last week (May 17-18). I would have left after 1 night as the mossies were that bad, but my travelling companions were keen on doing the sunset cruise. I imagine it is not as bad if you're staying in a lodge room. We spoke...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roevans
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were assigned an unpowered spot at the campingground on a field in the back. The sprinklers were running all night and this caused loads of mosquitos. We couldn't sleep because our tent was filled with thousends mozzies and we got stung seriously. What a nightmare. At other parts of the campground this was less than where we were.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank famnugteren
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Dear famnugteren, I am sorry that your experience in our unpowered campsite did not meet your expectations. I would appreciate some more information about your stay as we do not allocate unpowered campsites, they are on a 'first come, first serve' basis, where campers pick one of our two hundred sites themselves. I do apologise if this was not communicated...

Katherine, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here a few days ago, for the second time. Again we stayed in a Pandanus room. Again, the room smelt very musty when we first arrived. However after we had been there a short time, we didn't notice it anymore. The bathroom is small but adequate. Good water pressure, and lovely hot water. Take plenty of rid and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jasminette
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Dear Jasminette, Thank you very much for your review! We are extremely passionate about our guests and wish them all a wonderful time staying with us and exploring Kakadu, so it is lovely to receive positive feedback about our staff and service. I will pass your comments on to the team. I am sorry to hear of your restaurant experience,...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here 1 night with my mum as part of a surprise trip to Kakadu for Mother's Day and her birthday, staff nice enough upon hearing this to give us 2 drink vouchers for the bar. Room was simple, a bit run down but cool and had everything you need. Beds were comfortable. Pool was beautiful, unfortunately did t have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WATAQT
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Dear WATAQT, We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Cooinda Lodge, Kakadu. We are lucky to live in such a peaceful and unique location and it is a pleasure to share the beauty and tranquillity with our guests. What a great surprise for your mum! We are pleased that you had a lovely time with us...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's a 3.5hr drive from Darwin. Place is clean, although basic. The whole bathroom gets wet after a shower because there isn't a proper shower booth. But this is all part of the experience. No Wi-fi. Staff are friendly at the reception and helpful with tour recommendations. Being smack in the National park one should expect flies these zoom into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingLeNaLena
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Dear travellingLeNaLena, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important us as we continually look to improve in all areas of the guest experience and better serve you next time you visit. It is fantastic to hear that you found our team to be friendly and helpful. We appreciate you coming to stay at Cooinda Lodge while exploring our...

Castillejar, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in two standard rooms which were comfortable and clean. We could sit outside and the grounds were full of flowering plants and birds. We used the larger of the two swimming pools which was great, both for swimming and lounging beside. The staff were helpful, friendly and well informed about activities. Very handy for the Yellow Water cruises...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miranda T
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this review

Dear Miranda T, Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you made the most of your visit, exploring the incredible Kakadu National Park and then relaxing and enjoying the facilities at the Lodge afterwards - perfect!! We love to hear that our guests had a memorable time with us, so thank you very much for sharing your experience....

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (236)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
42.6 km away
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
1,073 reviews
26.0 km away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
399 reviews
0.0 km away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.7 km away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
16 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by Kakadu National Park at the gateway to the world famous Yellow Water Billabong, relax and re-energise in the air-conditioned comfort of your room. The indigenous owned Cooinda Lodge Kakadu offers easy access to Yellow Water Cruises, Warradjan Cultural Centre, Jim Jim Falls, Twin Falls, Nourlangie, bushwalks and boat entry and exit points for an exciting day of fishing. From our private airstrip take a charter plane for a spectacular birds eye view of Kakadu National Park. After a day of adventure or relaxing by our resort style pools, enjoy alfresco dining and drinks at Barra Bistro Bar or retire to your private patio for a spectacular sunset and natural beauty of the surrounding area. Cooinda Lodge Kakadu has 48 Lodge Rooms, 100 powered and 200 unpowered camping sites. The property has a lagoon pool, picnic and bbq areas, general store, fuel station, tours desk, alfresco bistro and bar, enclosed restaurant,kids playground. All of Kakadu's tours can be booked at the central hub of Cooinda including the award winning Yellow Water Cruises - 2011 & 2009 NT Brolga Award Winner - Major Tourist Attraction, Kakadu Tourism Advenure Tours, Kakadu Air scenic flights, Yellow Water Fishing Tours and much more. Cooinda Lodge Kakadu is indigenous owned business including Yellow Water wetland cruises, Kakadu Tourism Adventure Tours, cultural experiences and accommodation including Cooinda Lodge Kakadu and Cooinda Campground and Caravan Park. We have the largest collection of facilities catering to tourism in Kakadu and are focused on positive outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Kakadu Tourism is owned by the local Traditional Owners in partnership with Indigenous Business Australia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cooinda Lodge Kakadu

Address: Kakadu Highway, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Lodge Cooinda)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Price Range: ₹ 8,207 - ₹ 17,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cooinda Lodge Kakadu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Cooinda Lodge Kakadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Lodge Cooinda Hotel Kakadu National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cooinda Lodge Kakadu staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Seattle, Washington
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cooinda Lodge Kakadu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the weather and the mozzie situation before travelling.”
588julzt, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a campsite away from the toilet block”
rbacter3, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring your own. But you get milked as well for your money.”
susanlP4966SV, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are on the ground floor and seemed to be equally accessible to car parks.”
770richr, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay 1 night and move on”
Z5092EQjanew, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 230* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$ 245
Expedia.comUS$ 246
TravelocityUS$ 245
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates