We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Orongo Bay Homestead

Save
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good5%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
17
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
17
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet dinnerbreakfast basketthe main houseattention to detailmichaelbirdsongtealhomestayduckspillowssuiteguestshostsaccommodationbay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights and couldn't fault anything. We had a ground floor room with two decks. The room was immaculate, Michael and Chris were the perfect hosts and the garden and wildlife within fascinating. Breakfast was a delight. Thank you so much.More

Thank Judith59_10
Response from Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay HomesteadResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Judith and Harry. it was a pleasure to look after you; I was pleased you enjoyed the Greywacke Sauvignon Blanc! Thank you so much also for the kind comments in the guest book.Have a lovely spring - we are just getting the big...More

Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

The Orongo Homestead is an elegant but comfortable slice of paradise close to the historic community and tourist amenities of Russell. We stayed in the upstairs suite and enjoyed looking out over the trees and pond. The suite is spacious and light with a small...More

Thank katharinep3
Response from Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay HomesteadResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Katharine, we are delighted that you and Tom enjoyed the peace, and that our little town was also a hit! Late summer is lovely here but the last figs have fallen (into my apron!) and today's descent to 10 degrees has us piling...More

Reviewed 27 October 2017

We booked this B&B on the last leg of our two week New Zealand trip. It was a bit pricey but booked it based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were disappointed from the minute we drove up to the place to the minute we left after...More

Thank Texan1977
Response from Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay HomesteadResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Lissa, We are genuinely sorry you were disappointed and did not feel the same as other Trip Advisor guests at our historic Homestead. Your visit was at the end of winter and, with our organic focus, there is only so much of nature that...More

Reviewed 27 August 2017

Michael & Chris are perfect hosts & go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The beds & pillows are so comfortable with sheets that are a blend of cotton & wool & surprising in winter, no need for an electric blanket! Underfloor...More

Thank Les H
Response from Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay HomesteadResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you Les for your shining review. You and Judy were a real joy to look after, even more special because it was such a lovely time of celebration for you. We look forward to seeing you back with friends. The first glass will be...More

Reviewed 26 July 2017

We enjoyed our stay so much that we are looking to return in summer. Chris and Michael are fantastic hosts who have a high attention to detail. We were made very welcome in the main house and nothing was a problem. The breakfasts were great,...More

Thank allycat3030
Response from Orongo-Bay-Hosts, Owner at Orongo Bay HomesteadResponded 14 February 2018

It was a pleasure to look after you both, and with summer not really ending until April we do hope to see you again.

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 148 - US$ 284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 148 - US$ 284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Accessible rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Orongo Bay Homestead staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"All rooms lovely, but higher floors provided a nice view of the grounds"
Read review
"All three rooms are wonderful - probably not the right place for kids because it is so restful, tranquil and..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing