We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel Nelson

Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (13)
Pool & Beach (3)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Hotel Nelson is located a short stroll from the Nelson Saturday Market, business, shopping and entertainment precinct of central Nelson. We offer a selection of studio, superior units and fully self contained apartments - offering a variety of rooms to suit your needs whether travelling for business or leisure. To compliment our accommodation we also offer our on site restaurant - Flames on 40 - an ideal place to enjoy breakfast, dinner or a drink after a days work or exploring. Conference facilities and / or a private dining room are also on site for your business needs. Fully air conditioned units and a heated outdoor swimming pool are available for our guests to enjoy. We now accept WeChat Pay.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Room service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Heated pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
238Reviews
48Photos
0Q+A
56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 111
  • 92
  • 20
  • 10
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
In our recent visit to New Zealand one of the best we stayed at It was better then some hotels in the city very modern and well decorated. There is a very good restaurant which is attached to the hotel which closes at 9.30 pm
Read more
Response from THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded yesterday
Thank you Colin48Kent for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and our restaurant Flames on 40 Restaurant Bar. Kind regards the team at The Hotel Nelson
Read more
The rooms are big, clean and well maintained. All modern and neatly presented. Pressure in shower was brilliant. Beds comfortable and room warm. Will come back. Nice to be close to CBD but not hear it. Great service by Justice (lady in restaurant), food fresh and good
Read more
Response from THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you FleurL129 for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that you will return one day. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon Kind regards the team at The Hotel Nelson
Read more
Nice place to stay, was pleased to have top level room with a good view. Good location not too far from town. Reasonably quiet, apart from someone talking rather loud on their phone at 2am, we were far enough away from road so not too much road noise
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you Jayne M for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our location. Kind regards the team at The Hotel Nelson
Read more
Staff were excellent, the breakfast was good and it is only a short walk to town. My only issue was my room was above the kitchen and I got a lot of cooking odours from there. Would stay again but in different room
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you TheHotShoe for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would stay again but would prefer a room in a different part of the complex - which we can certainly do for you for you when you stay next. Kind regards the team at The Hotel Nelson
Read more
A nice night away, restaurant experience was the best feature, bed was awful, water that came out of bath tap was discoloured (possibly due to water restrictions etc in place from Drought & Fires) Price was good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from THNelson, Manager at The Hotel Nelson
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Sunshine for your review, although sorry to read the bed was awful. Thank you for also advising us of this on your departure when you stayed as we are replacing this bed today. Due to the water level in the Maitai Dam being very low, the council has now started taking water from a second intake. They have advised us that due to the higher manganese content of this water which reacts with the chlorine when it is treated that the water may be slight discoloured. They have advised that it is completely safe to drink. As our water levels in the dam improves with recent rain fall this will also improve. Thank you for your feedback Kind regards Kim Rogers The Hotel Nelson
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementThe Hotel Nelson
Three bedroom master bedroom
PreviousNext
123
"I would not want that room again due to the noise from the restaurant late into the night and again from 6.00am in the morning. "
"A curtain on the main entrance door window as the light shines directly on to the bed."
"Dont forget $2 coins for the washing machine/dryer."
"Room at the back was very quiet, and also near the pool was great for me."
"Ask for room at the back"
PreviousNext
12345612
PRICE RANGE
US$ 63 - US$ 115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
leisure hotel nelson
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Inn Nelson
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandNelson-Tasman RegionNelson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing