We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Colonial Lodge Motel

Orbitz.comUS$ 82*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 84*
US$ 82*
Great Deal
US$ 84*
US$ 84*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Colonial Lodge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Start your review of Colonial Lodge Motel
 Click to rate
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here by chance was very well greeted and had a nice enjoyable stay also decent supermarket nearby and nice place for a bbq ,bb is provided very friendly and nice and quite with town about five minutes away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonyforde14
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We stayed here as a family and were in a back unit which was very quiet and we enjoyed our stay. My grandchild loved the playground which had everything but all things were worn out like the basketball hoop the lining on the trampoline etc . Also the bed cover had a stain on it . and unit had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharshaz
Melbourne
Reviewed 15 March 2017

What one expects but no more. Clean, comfy bed but it seemed jaded. It is 5 minutes drive from the centre of town so not an ideal location so a bit on the expensive side. Wifi did not work. As an aside, beware poorly signed parking meters in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George600
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Really friendly service, lovely managers in my opinion. The man even helped me replace my van's tire hahaha! Helped me with all my questions. Room was really clean and tidy. Nice quiet area, was a really pleasant stay there for three days! :) Recommended highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnTailorNL
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. It was a pleasure to have you with us. I hope you had a wonderful holiday in NZ

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Although clean & tidy the accommodation was very basic & dated. Not value for money at all. The fridge froze our milk & wifi didn't work. Manager was very rude, said we must have adjusted fridge temperature! Pointed out to him this (and wifi problem) obviously not new issues looking at previous review this has been mentioned before. He was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback, we take it very serious and we taken the most effort to check our equipment and we are more as certain our fridge is working fine. Out side of office hours we only normal answer emergency calls and asking for milk at 6.30 am is certainly not a emergency. We have installed a...

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Very friendly reception lady. Room is very clean and tidy. Beautiful surroundings. They have several lovely alpacas to look at. Free wifi and car park. Good value for money. Definitely will come back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chen Y
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, We working hard to keep a high standard of cleanliness. Always a pleasure if people enjoying their stay with us. See you next time.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 January 2017

my unit was very clean, well presented and spacious. the staff were really friendly and they had a cute cat. helpful advice on local attractions and good value for money ($125 for single unit with king bed). bed was a bit firm for my liking, but otherwise great

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tactnz
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much. It was a pleasure to have you with us.

Reviewed 20 January 2017

Wifi didn't work, signal too weak to the family units. Fridge froze all our food over night, despite running on level 4 of 10. All tomatos, capsicum, etc. went to waste as they turned into mash during defreezing. The well aged shower had super low pressure, I had difficulties to get wet. Remote control of the heating didn't work properly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiSchnitzel
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Sorry that you didn't enjoyed your stay. We checked the freezer and it was full on 10 you didn't turned it down, Heating: I showed your wife how to turn on the heater, sorry if I was not clearly enough for you but it is only to press the red button. Yes, we have low water pressure, but it is...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Great decor, friendly checkin, good choice Of restaurant close by Facilities are good, warm room ,also dog friendly? Good location Pick a room 4,5,6 to be away from road Good parking Would stay again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Havefun830
Marris B, Front Office Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your great review,we really appreciate the feedback,we hope you visit again next time your in the area,yes we do allow dogs but they should be suitably contained,

Whangarei, NZ
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night on our way between Christchurch and Dunedin to break up the trip. Very nice motel with a very nice 2 bedroom apartment - the second bedroom for the 3 kids was surprisingly spacious - usually you have to jam the third bed in, but not here. The motel operators were very helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GizzyBoy
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you pleased you were warm and comfortable

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
25.7 km away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
2.6 km away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
337 reviews
1.5 km away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
142 reviews
1.4 km away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
2.5 km away
AAA Thames Court Motel
AAA Thames Court Motel
#4 of 18 in Oamaru
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Colonial Lodge Motel

Address: 509 Thames Highway, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Price Range: ₹ 4,956 - ₹ 6,866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Colonial Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oamaru
Oamaru Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Lodge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back are peaceful”
Sharshaz, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 8,9,10 are furthest away from highway so quieter.”
George600, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The group of units in the back are further from the road and quieter, though really I doubt if any of them would be noisy.”
Catlady2boys, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“A room around the rear of the building is quieter”
paree465, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“The back units of the Motel are the quietest.”
  • Kitchen Through To Bathroom
  • Main Bedroom With Rural Outlook
Hottees, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 82* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 84
Hotels.comUS$ 84
Hotwire.comUS$ 84
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates