We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Colonial Lodge Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Colonial Lodge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
Start your review of Colonial Lodge Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly reception lady. Room is very clean and tidy. Beautiful surroundings. They have several lovely alpacas to look at. Free wifi and car park. Good value for money. Definitely will come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chen Y
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, We working hard to keep a high standard of cleanliness. Always a pleasure if people enjoying their stay with us. See you next time.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

my unit was very clean, well presented and spacious. the staff were really friendly and they had a cute cat. helpful advice on local attractions and good value for money ($125 for single unit with king bed). bed was a bit firm for my liking, but otherwise great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tactnz
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much. It was a pleasure to have you with us.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Wifi didn't work, signal too weak to the family units. Fridge froze all our food over night, despite running on level 4 of 10. All tomatos, capsicum, etc. went to waste as they turned into mash during defreezing. The well aged shower had super low pressure, I had difficulties to get wet. Remote control of the heating didn't work properly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiSchnitzel
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Sorry that you didn't enjoyed your stay. We checked the freezer and it was full on 10 you didn't turned it down, Heating: I showed your wife how to turn on the heater, sorry if I was not clearly enough for you but it is only to press the red button. Yes, we have low water pressure, but it is...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Great decor, friendly checkin, good choice Of restaurant close by Facilities are good, warm room ,also dog friendly? Good location Pick a room 4,5,6 to be away from road Good parking Would stay again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Havefun830
Marris B, Front Office Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your great review,we really appreciate the feedback,we hope you visit again next time your in the area,yes we do allow dogs but they should be suitably contained,

Whangarei, NZ
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night on our way between Christchurch and Dunedin to break up the trip. Very nice motel with a very nice 2 bedroom apartment - the second bedroom for the 3 kids was surprisingly spacious - usually you have to jam the third bed in, but not here. The motel operators were very helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GizzyBoy
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you pleased you were warm and comfortable

New Zealand
Reviewed 22 June 2016

On our way travelling North, we stopped here for a night with a huge trailer. The owner here was lovely in allowing us to park in two parking spaces to accommodate it. The rooms were warm and inviting. The beds were comfortable and clean. The kitchenette and bathroom well cleaned and equipped with all one needed. The interior was up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisabug1964
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Pleased to know you were warm and comfortable hope you had a good trip North Thankyou

Fanny Bay, Canada
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I stayed here 2 nights April 2nd and 3rd and really enjoyed the spacious unit I had in the back. With pastures behind and no traffic in front except for the adjoining units it was very quiet Everything was very clean and the bed comfortable. The receptionist was nice and friendly and I even took note of her name on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catlady2boys
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 May 2016

For a week we travelled around the deep south, down from Dunedin then up and around to Oamaru before making our way back to Dunedin. In all 7 motels we stayed in, Colonial Lodge Motel by far surpassed our expectations of having the most comfortable bed, hence the best sleep! Although on the main road our room was set behind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paree465
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you we are pleased you enjoyed your stay we try our best to ensure units are clean and comfortable

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 May 2016

I recently stayed here with my Sister and daughter. We had two bedrooms and living area. Very spacious and nicely decorated. Cosy and comfortable. Very good value for money at $120. Landlady was pleasant and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We had three nights in this nice Motel and enjoyed our stay. It is on the main road north of the city centre but it didn't take long to get into town or to the various points of interest. We stayed in the back units of the Motel which are nice and quiet and we could look out the bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hottees

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
25.6 km away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
31 reviews
2.6 km away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
327 reviews
2.7 km away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
165 reviews
1.4 km away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
4.0 km away
Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Colonial Lodge Motel

Address: 509 Thames Highway, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Price Range: ₹ 6,312 - ₹ 8,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Colonial Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oamaru
Oamaru Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Lodge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The group of units in the back are further from the road and quieter, though really I doubt if any of them would be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Catlady2boys, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“A room around the rear of the building is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles paree465, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“The back units of the Motel are the quietest.”
  • Kitchen Through To Bathroom
  • Main Bedroom With Rural Outlook
 of 5 bubbles Hottees, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back section, beyond reception, are the quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles SMTas, 18 Dec 2015 | Read review
“back units are away from road.”
 of 5 bubbles rose740, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5