We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 182: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Bella Vista Motel for 8 nights while in Kaikoura assisting in the aftermath of the earthquake. Brendon, the owner was extremely friendly and helpful, and the facilities were excellent. Brendon went above and beyond, accommodating our team at short notice, and he even provided extra beds for some staff that were located off site. In a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank struxerd
Poynette, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very nice room with a twin bed and a queen bed plus kitchen facilities and good size bathroom. Julia asked if we'd like to see the room first, so we did, but thought it was kind of her to offer to show it before we committed. She also recommended a few places to dine. Be aware that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poynette
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This motel was easy to find and very convenient for the area. Received a very warm friendly welcome on arrival and given a lot of useful information of the local area. Views from the hotel were stunning. Room was quite small but very clean and more than adequate for our short stay. All tea/coffee facilities were available with fresh milk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ged E
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The service was mediocre, the room was tiny, the facilities basic and the bed was terrible - it wobbled like a blancmange every time either of us moved! I wouldn't stay there again unless i was desperate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phildon8
BellaVistaKaikoura, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review, we hate that we didnt meet your expectations this time around, hopefully you come back so we can show you what a great place kaikoura is and what a greatplace it is to stay at the Bella Vista. Regards, Brendon & Julia

Sale, Cheshire, UK
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Great views from this motel, located close to centre of Kaikoura. The rooms are quite small but more than adequate for a short stay. Very clean and good supplies of toiletries and tea, coffee etc. Friendly helpful owners.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliesamari
BellaVistaKaikoura, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review

Hi Juliesamari, Arnt our views of the Kaikoura mountain ranges stunning! Sometimes its had to get much work done with that to look at. Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write a great review! Hopefully see you next time. Regards, Brendon & Julia

Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This motel is on SH1 but was not noisy at all. Thought is would be very loud, but never heard a thing. Nice small unit we requested was very clean, and very adequate. We will return to this motel. Staff were very helpful and very efficient when fire alarm sounded due to guests burning food. Well done.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brandy126
BellaVistaKaikoura, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review

Hi brandy126, Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review about us, we are so pleased that you guys had a great stay and enjoyed our handy to SH1 and Kaikoura town location. We are also so pleased we were able to make the best of a fire alarm, annoying but so necessary!! Thanks...

Geraldine, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We felt the room was very small and the wet floor shower put water everywhere and most things on the floor got wet. It was handy to town and there was virtually no traffic noise which was a plus. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hawean
BellaVistaKaikoura, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review

Hi Hawean, Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write a review, sorry we didnt quite meet your expectation for your vist we do however also love our hady location and our double glazed windows in all the rooms sure does keep the noise down. Regards, Brendon and Julia

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight in kaikoura at this motel for one night - 2 minute drive or short walk to town, two great family sized rooms with kitchen and dining area. Rooms were very clean and the owners were extremely pleasant. Great view of mountain range from room. One point to note - I left my wallet there by accident and not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
BellaVistaKaikoura, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thanks for staying with us and thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. Regards, Brendon and Julia

Edithvale, Australia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The second of our Bella vistas, this was better as it only had one double this time, the room was set out and furnished comfortably and well heated. The kitchenette was a good size with good appliances The views from the balcony were stunning Would come back here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
BellaVistaKaikoura, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review

Hi Ian, Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a fabulous review, we love our amazing mountain views here as well! Regards, Brendon and Julia

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We booked in here for 3 nights as it was close to the Domain where we would be attending Seafest. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room and also shown how to use heater if needed. We asked what was the easiest way to venue and down to town and was given great directions. Room was great, close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moochi16
BellaVistaKaikoura, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review

Hi Moochi16, Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. Great to hear you guys had such a good time here in Kaikoura at our iconic Seafest festival. We are so lucky to be so close to all that is great in Kaikoura! See you next year! Regards, Brendon and Julia

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 km away
The White Morph Heritage Boutique Collection
0.8 km away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
334 reviews
0.5 km away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
103 reviews
3.3 km away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
2.3 km away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bella Vista Motel in Kaikoura has 18 units. Compact studios with tea and coffee making facilities, accessible units with microwaves, standard queen studios with kitchenettes, king studios with kitchenettes, Spa bath studio with a king bed and kitchenette through to 1 bedroom units with spa baths and cooking facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura

Address: 45 - 47 Churchill Street, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Price Range: ₹ 5,600 - ₹ 8,448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Would suggest the front units may be a bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles brandy126, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid a room that has windows at the stairwell access”
 of 5 bubbles raymondc4, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The small studio is very small. Get a king.”
 of 5 bubbles heatseekerdale, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose a queen studio rather than a compact for more space and amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles Suegofar, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask what room sizes are available?”
 of 5 bubbles DavidViewbank18, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay