We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (78)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (7)
Overview
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good14%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“b b”(83 reviews)
“wine and beer”(9 reviews)
“hot tub”(19 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Accessible rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Nikau Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
224
42
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
224
42
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bwine and beerhot tubbreakfast was deliciousnew zealandwhale watchingbay windowgreat hostslovely placeshort walkensuite bathroomthe snow covered mountainssmall fridgebeautiful roomexcellent staystunning viewsonly stayed one night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
71 - 75 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

Maybe it is just Kaikoura, but for $260/night, I expected a little more. Quentin met us at the train station, barefoot with his dog in a dirty SUV. I understand that this is a casual country, but this isn't a casual rate. The biggest disappointment...More

Thank segwayTexas
Response from NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau LodgeResponded 20 March 2015

We are sorry you were disappointed with Nikau Lodge and we also apologise for our dirty vehicle. It is used for everything including our FREE pick up service from the train and taking guests to and from the peninsula walk. We didn't know you wanted...More

Reviewed 16 February 2015

Quentin & Jane were fabulous hosts, made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Very informative and helpful for our stay, we only had one night in Kaikoura and after staying at Nikau Lodge we will definitely be back. Lovely cozy room with...More

Thank foxmouse
Response from NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau LodgeResponded 3 March 2015

Thank you very much for your review. We like our guests to be relaxed and are glad you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope you can make it back one day.

Reviewed 16 February 2015

House was beautiful, rooms were comfortable and airy, hosts very helpful with dinner recommendations. The second choice was even better then the first. House was very quiet ,away from the hustle of the tourist centre but an easy drive to attractions

Thank cbarker03
Response from NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau LodgeResponded 3 March 2015

Thank you very much for your review and we are very pleased your enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 10 February 2015

Unfortunately we arrived at Nikau lodge to find our room had been double booked. Our hosts, Quentin & Jane, were obviously very embarrassed and were very apologetic. They organised a room for us at the Bella Vista Motel (not recommended, but that's another story) which...More

Thank HareAndRabbit
Response from NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau LodgeResponded 11 February 2015

We were horrified to find this double booking and have been working with our online booking server to find the cause and ensure that it does NOT happen again. We are very pleased to now be able to say the cause of the problem was...More

Reviewed 30 January 2015

We spent 2 nights here in January and wished we had had longer. Nikau Lodge is slightly away from the town set up on the hill with beautiful panoramic views. It is only a short walk down through a walkway to the Main Street with...More

Thank Carol T
Response from NikauLodge, Owner at Nikau LodgeResponded 7 February 2015

Thank you very much for your great review. We do have to agree about the views form our lodge, we never get tired of it.

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Kaikoura, New Zealand
See all 19 hotels in KaikouraSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$ 200 - US$ 206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 200 - US$ 206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (78)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (7)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Nikau Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"The north facing rooms offer the best of the views."
Read review
"We loved the views from the whale suite"
Read review
"If traffic noise is an issue for you request a room furthest away from the road."
Read review
"Whale room has beautiful views"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing