We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lyell Creek Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Lyell Creek Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
WGTN
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

We drove around Kaikoura motels, looked at rooms and compared prices before settling for Lyell Creek Lodge. It represents really good value for money as there are plenty of places charging $20-$40 more for much worse, older rooms. Owners aren't based on site but easy to get hold of and are very friendly. Everything was tidy - had tele, easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melia000
Augsburg, Germany
Reviewed 31 January 2015

We booked three nights in the Lyell Creek Lodge, although it didn't have good reviews at the bbh website and tripadvisor. Our stay was nice, the bed was comfortable, the room had a TV and the Wifi was working very well. The only downside was that the bathroom, toilet and kitchen weren't very clean. In the time we were there,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa G
Innsbruck, Austria, Europe
Reviewed 14 October 2014

We stayed here 3 times during the weekend. The rooms in the first floor are really nice and warm with a fantastic view. Everything was very clean and warm. The kitchen was very good and we could cook great food there. The Lodge is a bit outside of the town and you will need a car to get around. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank surfingdude
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2014

IT wasn't all that it was quite bad , service poor , horrid location i just hated it . I had a poor sleep because of trucks ,vehicles and trains at night . I wish they had the hostel more in town as it was a far walk to the main street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank isabella t
singapore
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Brand new hostel so everything was clean and the rooms were a great size. We ended up having the whole top floor to ourselves (a double room and the twin) with another woman downstairs. Plenty of space.and very hospitable hosts who live at the bottom of the drive. Wpuld be a perfect spot for a family, couples or group travelling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lufctrippers
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great hostel with everything you need. Slightly away from the main street in Kaikoura but ideal if you have a car. We had a lovely room with a great view out the back to the mountains with private toilet and shower. My only recommendation is that could do with a few more good sized saucepans and a non-stick frying pan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WinterLard
Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewed 24 August 2013

me and my friend stayed only one night in the lodge,but the host were very hospitable。we had a pick up from the bus stop and the host's friend took us to the lodge.Every thing was clean and cozy,the only tiny problem is there were a few dead flies in our room。Above all,its a nice quiet place to be in. 這個旅館距離市中心有點距離,建議沒有車的包包們要考慮別家,不過距離New...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lan0919
Ranfurly, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We were there for 3 nights, the place is great, really clean, quiet, great view. Its everything you need in a place like Kaikoura. The owner is really nice and helped us out with everything we needed. We saw there is a courtesy van, so I'm sure that if you ask to get a ride downtown (about 2 kms they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pablo B
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This place is horrendous, bedding was dirty and creased and the bathroom smelled of mould as a result of a dirty shower curtain. However, the worst part was the kitchen. I had to wash cups and spoons taken out of the cupboard before I could use them and the only tea cloth that was available was absolutely disgustingly dirty. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JennieO190755
JonnyKK, Owner at Lyell Creek Lodge, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry that you had a bad experience. We have had two younger managers in over the Summer and due to this response we have let them go. I am currently spring cleaning the lodge and getting it back up to its "normal" standard. You will be happy to know that I spoke with Eric from BBH and...

Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated place, very clean and so comfortable. Set out like a house this small hostel hasn't got many rooms, when we stayed we were the only ones upstairs and so pretty much had our own floor and bathroom! Really would have loved to stay longer if the schedule had permitted, this place was just so comfy and relaxed. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Berrydog

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 km away
Willowbank Motel
Willowbank Motel
#19 of 20 in Kaikoura
82 reviews
0.9 km away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
44 reviews
1.3 km away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#20 of 36 in Kaikoura
166 reviews
2.4 km away
Bad Jelly Backpackers
Bad Jelly Backpackers
#12 of 36 in Kaikoura
44 reviews
2.5 km away
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
#6 of 36 in Kaikoura
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quality Backpackers for the independent & mobile traveler. Small, clean, quiet & homely. Mountain views and a peaceful garden & creek area. Eight private rooms, three with en-suite bathrooms. Two fully equipped kitchens. Log fire in lounge, off-street parking. TV & heaters in all rooms. Wireless & internet access. Guests laundry facilities. Free use of mountain bikes & BBQ cooker. Winter specials / discounts. All linen provided including towels & soap. Complimentary hot drinks. Relax & unwind in beautiful Kaikoura. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lyell Creek Lodge

Address: 193 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Price Range: ₹ 3,387 - ₹ 4,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lyell Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lyell Creek Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even though it's about 15 mins walk from town, it has the benefit of being in a quiet location.”
  • Shared dorm
  • Double room
 of 5 bubbles FlyingBat92, 28 Mar 2012 | Read review
“room 8 has a really nice view”
 of 5 bubbles ShaneO_12, 1 Jan 2012 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay