We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Mountain Jade Backpackers

    41 Weld Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    02/07/2017 03/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (37)
          Room & Suite (13)
          Dining (6)
          Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
          548 reviews
          #3 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
           
          Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
          605 reviews
          #1 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
           
          Jade Court Motor Lodge
          161 reviews
          #5 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
           
          Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
          235 reviews
          #4 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
           
          Overview
          • Excellent43%
          • Very good40%
          • Average9%
          • Poor4%
          • Terrible4%
          Travellers talk about
          Wifi
          Free Parking
          Beachfront
          Non-Smoking Rooms
          Kitchenette
          Wheelchair Access
          Laundry Service
          Self-Serve Laundry
          Breakfast included
          All hotel details
          {"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
          Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
          548 reviews
          #3 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
           
          Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
          605 reviews
          #1 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
           
          Jade Court Motor Lodge
          161 reviews
          #5 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
           
          Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
          235 reviews
          #4 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
           
          Write a Review
          Turn Your Opinions into Points!
          Turn your opinions into JPMiles
          Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
          *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
          JPMiles / Payback Arrow
          JPMiles / PAYBACK
          50
          Reviews (75)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language
          • More languages

          1 - 5 of 75 reviews

          Reviewed 2 weeks ago

          I booked a single room at Mountain Jade – when I got there sun was streaming in through the windows and there was a great view of Hokitika's main street. Host was helpful, facilities were clean, and the free wi-fi was appreciated. Thanks!More

          Thank mrspidernz
          Response from MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

          Hi Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased that you had a great stay with us here. Yes we have had some fantastic weather here in Hokitika winter is a great time to see this part of new Zealand. We hope to...More

          Reviewed 9 May 2017

          We stayed in a lovely self contained apartment on Feb 23. Reached there just before 9pm as we had been driving from Christchurch and had a couple of hikes at Arthur's pass. If we had been further delayed checkin may have become difficult as the...More

          Thank IndFamTraveler
          Response from MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade BackpackersResponded 16 May 2017

          Hi Thank you for your great review of us. We are very happy that you had a great time on the west coast. We hope that the rest of your travels around New Zealand are as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

          Reviewed 1 May 2017

          We stayed here for two nights in mid April. The hostel is kept very clean and tidy by the owner/manager, who seemed always to be busy folding towels and sheets, making up beds etc. We stayed in a double room which was pretty small but...More

          Thank P W
          Response from MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade BackpackersResponded 16 May 2017

          Hi Thank you for your comments on us here. We are happy to hear that you had a good time with us here and hope the rest of your time in New Zealand is the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

          Reviewed 27 April 2017

          Too many Bed bugs there, Avoid! I got biten Whole body, Face ,arms,back, Most Itchy Ever Never!!!!!!!!!! Everywhere swolen ,No efect medicine, Storong Bed bugs!!!!!! I got spend monay for madicine, Dr. fee, Extra accomodation e.t.c. cleaner staff "Jhon" was no appolozize, moreover he was...More

          Thank Pppoo
          Response from MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade BackpackersResponded 16 May 2017

          Hi Thank you for your review. We did go over the entire room as you did see us starting with the Commercial steam vacum, The beds were stripped completely. Every time a bed is used all of the sheets etc are changed and fresh sheets...More

          Reviewed 21 April 2017

          I received top quality service from John and his staff. The rooms and facilities were neat. John is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. I saw the man always doing something, interacting with people...he is running the place for the people and along with people. The...More

          Thank piotrekj81
          Response from MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade BackpackersResponded 16 May 2017

          Hi Thank you. Wow thank you for the amazeing review of us here at Mountain Jade Backpackers. We are very pleased that you had a great time relaxing with us here. Yes this area does offer so much to do and you could spend a...More

          Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
          548 reviews
          #3 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
           
          Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
          605 reviews
          #1 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
           
          Jade Court Motor Lodge
          161 reviews
          #5 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
           
          Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
          235 reviews
          #4 of 9 hotels in Hokitika
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Beachfront
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Laundry Service
          • Self-Serve Laundry
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$ 27 - US$ 44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Kitchenette ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
          • Accessible rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 38
          • Reservation Options
          • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mountain Jade Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
          • Location
          • New Zealand >
          • South Island >
          • West Coast Region >
          • Hokitika
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (37)
          Room & Suite (13)
          Dining (6)
          Hotel & Grounds (21)
          Bathroom (4)
          Nearby
          Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
          548 reviews
          .20 km away
           
          Jade Court Motor Lodge
          161 reviews
          .42 km away
           
          Fitzherbert Court Motel
          91 reviews
          .98 km away
           
          Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
          235 reviews
          .24 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Fat Pipi Pizzas
          535 reviews
          .20 km away
          Stella Cafe Hokitika
          357 reviews
          .19 km away
          Stumpers Bar and Cafe
          600 reviews
          .17 km away
          Clocktower Cafe
          110 reviews
          .04 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Wilderness Gallery
          186 reviews
          .12 km away
          Hokitika Beach
          339 reviews
          .28 km away
          Hokitika Museum
          142 reviews
          .19 km away
          National Kiwi Centre
          166 reviews
          .10 km away
          Questions & Answers
          Get quick answers from Mountain Jade Backpackers staff and past guests.
          Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
          Posting guidelines
          Submit
          Room Tips
          "Avoid!!!!!!!!Too many Bed bugs there!!! Dadly Worst Back packer!!!!"
          Read review
          "6 bed dorm is huge no feeling of being crampt, so generally a good sign for the rest of the rooms."
          Read review
          "Try to get a room which the window is not facing the bar on the other side of the road."
          Read review
          "If you're looking for a double - book in advance. There wasn't many people there when we stopped, so..."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing