We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
See the most recent reviews
Showing 210: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location close to the central city with walks along the river across the road. The room decor was calm and tasteful. Free wifi was very much appreciated do I could work at night. The staff were very helpful. The sheets were divinely crisp and the towels fluffy. The only things that spoiled it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne S
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Jayne, We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay. Rgds Chris

Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

My first time at your hotel. Rooms not ready on check in time and still not ready hour later. Then given another room to small for three people. Then given another room. Given different prices for breakfast and charge more than what was told. Go out for day come back to window left open by your staff. Leaving room insecure....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 12chickie
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Carolyn, I am very sorry your room was not ready at the time you arrived. This should have been sorted right there and then by giving you the correct room type you requested. As for housekeeping opening any windows in the room, they are instructed to leave windows as the guest has them, if closed they stay closed and...

Reviewed 1 May 2015

Stayed for three nights on business in Whangarei. It is an easy walk into town, was very quiet and the room was very clean and tidy. The onsite restaurant serves a great lamb shank but the squid was pretty average. No towel rail in room and towel was replaced every day which was not necessary. Had to move rooms as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Justin, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay in Whangarei. Glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and the location to town. I have mention the food issues to the restaurant to ensure they improve the quality of the food and keep the levels of consistency high. The housekeeping team do change all the used...

Los Angeles, CA
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We needed a place to stop over in from our way back from Ninety Mile Beach as we didn't want to travel all the way back to Auckland. The hotel did the job to serve these weary travelers. It's not luxury if that's what you are looking for but it was clean and comfy. There is a restaurant on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladusky
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Ladusky, We are glad we could be there for your short stop-over, and you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Rgds Chris

New Zealand
Reviewed 26 March 2015 via mobile

not much to look at however adequate for business night stay as has restaurant and clean rooms plus is near to the center of Whangarei town. Walking distance from the harbor. Close to supermarket. Will stay again for future visits

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janek2009
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi janek2009, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We stayed only 1 night and while there was no air conditioning, and cigarette smoke drifted in from the balcony, it was clean, the bed was comfortable, it was quiet. Good location for those passing through or business travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raelene S
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Raelene, Sorry about the smokers, please inform reception as the balcony is a non-smoking area. Glad you enjoyed the comfortable bed and location of the hotel. Rgds Chris

Reviewed 9 February 2015

Friendly and very accomodating staff. Close to all the shops and town. Very clean. Peaceful location. No complaints. Only thing I didnt try was the restaurant. (no time) Would definitely return with the family.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lily L
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Lily, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris

Dargaville, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Well worth the money. 2 people for 2 nights in room including dinner & breakfast + late check out on Summer Package deal for $300-upgraded to premium room for another $20. Breakfast was anything from the menu (awesome variety) & dinner was 3selection of burgers(huge), fries & beverage- anything different just pay the difference between prices. Room was lovely &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiri W
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Kiri, Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2015

Like reviewer Linda9696 I had #51 & was a little surprised by it's size. The room & bathroom were spotless on arrival. The bed very comfortable. As hook for my toilet kit would be a welcome addition to the bathroom. Don't know how the ladies would manage with the lack of counter space in the bathroom. Not all Sky channels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The standard rooms are our smallest rooms, but we do have larger rooms available to book on our website. Please contact reception if any of the TV channels are not working, as we do not know this unless we are told. Fans are also available at...

Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 13 January 2015

Our room was really clean and nicely decorated. There were a few things that weren't so good. The night we stayed was hot and stuffy and the air con was totally useless. The service wasn't the best, at 10pm I rang reception to ask for an extra towel as they only give one per person so there are no extra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caw83
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei, responded to this review

Hi caw83, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do not have air con and the rooms do get hot sometimes but we do have fans available if needed. Reception does close at 10pm and after that after that it goes to a night service. Rgds Chris

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.8 km away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
2.9 km away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#11 of 35 in Whangarei
48 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 35 in Whangarei
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
8.1 km away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 35 in Whangarei
274 reviews
0.3 km away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Settlers Hotel, perfectly positioned colonial style hotel with its in-house restaurant and bar, nestled in beautiful park like surrounds,a short stroll from the hotel will lead you along the riverside, down to the town basin; where the Whangarei marina bursts with international flavour. An assortment of colourful shops, and galleries can be found in this area. A short drive away lie the Whangarei Falls, a breathtaking waterfall and bushwalk in a beautiful native bush setting. Another 20 minutes on you will find yourself in the world-famous Tutukaka Harbour, gateway to the Poor Knights Islands. These Islands offer the most spectacular diving and snorkeling in New Zealand; with stunning underwater topography and a cornucopia colourful life. Dozens of white sand beaches, romantic paradise, or fun family getaway. These are just a few attractions Whangarei has to offer whether it's business, pleasure, domestic or international. Discovery Settlers is the place to stay in Whangarei. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Address: 61 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range: ₹ 4,910 - ₹ 8,708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei North Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Swansea S.Wales
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ground floor rooms presently much tireder than upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles Colorchap, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“next time going for next level of accommodation ”
 of 5 bubbles F4946DSyvonnec, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay when the hockey finals are on”
 of 5 bubbles 277MarkM277, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front row may have river views .Rear row maybe quieter and some executive rooms are larger. Ask for A/C or the room could be stuffy.”
 of 5 bubbles 412laurencef, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles opiopi, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5