We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Start your review of Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation
 Click to rate
Waihi, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We had a family group stay in both the house and cottage. It suited us perfectly with a great kitchen and lots of beds to choose from. The seating was comfortable both inside and outside the house. Mike McDowell was very helpful and easy to communicate with. We highly recommend anyone staying here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geeandpoppie
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Owners are extremely dodgy. Charge you for unnecessary cost after you have left thru your creditcard. Asked us to wash the dishes without using dishwasher??? Poor state of the house with only two toilets

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raj C
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

Wow these people are shocking I wouldn't advise anyone allowing them to stay in their home. They stayed 1 night and the optional departure cleaning was explained to them when they arrived, (most people repect the house and dont have to pay departure cleaning) this it is as optional service and only charged if the place is left untidy. Well...

Reviewed 27 June 2016

I stayed here with my friends last month. We came here on a friend's recommendation just to get away for the weekend. Our hosts, Shelly and Mike were very friendly and did everything to make our visit pleasant. We've gotten a 2 bedroom layout so our stay was very comfortable. Our rooms were clean and had everything we needed for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tan312
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure having you and would love to catch up again some time in the future. Thanks for leaving the property in a tidy state.

Geraldton, Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2015

My husband and I and another couple where very unfortunate to book this accomodation from an Isite in NZ when we where traveling in Feb this year....we where booked for 4 nights (and paid). As we had arrived a day early, we rang the Manager, to ask if it was possible to book in a day earlier, he said it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicki H
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

I was contacted by these people after they had stayed a night in the house. I was under the impression our certified contract cleaners had overlooked some things in the house. I went straight around. I arrived I asked them if they could show me what the problem was so we could rectify it, but they couldn’t. We have a...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 March 2014

You need to stay here, facilities great and location close to everything. Mike & Shelley great to deal with friendly and informative, loved the location and the house. value for money. I would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Christine E
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The place is good value, tidy, and although we where nearly left stranded with no one to check us in, we where given a discount which was a lovely gesture. Good location, quiet area but easy drive into the main township. I would book this accommodation again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Amie R
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2014

. I was part of the group of 7 with Tracey R 'shocking' and I agree with Dani & Jay R that shelley was very friendly! and on arrival even presented us with a bag of strawberries which was a very nice gesture, I agree the house was in a nice location and although the house may have been left...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JCW1810
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

Yes I would give this review a miss Just another ridiculous review from the same group of people from Leeds Give it a miss. Easy to right misleading ridiculous statements on trip advisor all because they couldn't mislead AA Travel into a refund after we held their reservation for over 11 months. Problem with this is we have been operating...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I recently stayed at whangarei holiday houses and i strongly disagree with the below comment "shocking". The hosts Mike and Shelley were friendly and easy to deal with. The house was lovely and clean. The facilities available were great. I Will be returning next holiday.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dani772014
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

Thanks for your response The problem with Trip Advisor is they allow these types reviews to be posted as you know they aren't factual, These people are unethical stirrers all because they expected us to take the loss because they changed there minds at the last minute. Maybe operators need to think twice about advertising on a website that tolerate...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Six of us stayed here the weekend of our son's wedding. We were upstairs, our son downstairs, and daughter,husband and grand daughter in the self contained chalet. All in all it was a brilliant weekend. We stayed the Friday, Saturday and Sunday, and the venue perfectly accommodated all our needs and more. Mike and Shelley were very friendly, helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marion B
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

Nice to hear from you again Marion. Thank you for yours comments. All the best to the happily married couple.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I have used this both these holiday homes on many occasions and have experienced nothing but outstanding service from Mike and Shelly. Both houses are always kept in a very tidy state and the surrounding property is a nice change from the city hussle I am used too. The pet sheep are friendly and are a nice addition to the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jay R
RarotongaBeachHouse, Manager at Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation, responded to this review

Hi Jay yes you are a real adventure person and in the middle of winter to, The Ruakaka spear fishing charter has been a great experience for a number of people, we would recommend it to future guests looking for a great adventure just contact us for information about this...

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
2.5 km away
Russell's Rest
Russell's Rest
#4 of 32 in Whangarei
18 reviews
3.9 km away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 35 in Whangarei
87 reviews
6.6 km away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 35 in Whangarei
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
151 reviews
3.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 35 in Whangarei
33 reviews
2.0 km away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Excellent alternative to a motel - 4 bdrm and 2 bthrm Holiday Houses in Whangarei on an acre property fully self-contained with outdoor entertaining BBQ. Great for single or couples even groups up to 30 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation

Address: Paranui Cres | Mairtown, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range: ₹ 4,967 - ₹ 11,313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation North Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Whangarei Holiday Houses Accommodation staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Self contained chalet was great for couple and child.”
 of 5 bubbles marionb450, 13 Jan 2014 | Read review
1 of 1