We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 415: English reviews
Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Only con was the bed cover. Those little flappy things are awful. Otherwise a really nice place to stay - strong hot showers, good communal lounge and kitchen area, really lovely friendly hosts. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessica_mio
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback - which allows us to constantly monitor our performance and gives future guests confidence when booking. I know exactly the duvet covers you mean. Of course, we do have rooms that have alternative covers, and I know that many guests "love" the uniquenss of the "flappy" duvets. If you have the opportunity to return, we would...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 November 2015

From the moment you check-in, the staff will make you feel at home. And 'home' is exactly what they have set this up to feel like. It has a great lounge area with large flatscreen TV, Sky, A huge kitchen that you can cook up a storm in and very comfortable bedrooms all with their own smaller flatscreen Tv's. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PulpTraveller
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and the facilities we offer. FYI, as well as the lodge rooms, we also have fully selfcontained suites and apartments as a further option. And all our rooms enjyou the same high standards and attention to detail. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We had a very late last minute booking to be greeted by extremely helpful people. The oom was immaculate as were all the amenities. Very relaxing and comfortable settings after a long day on the road. I highly recommend Anndion Lodge to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoolCrittersCartage
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and were able to give you a positive experience after a wary journey.

Cairns Region, Australia
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Dion was very welcoming on our arrival and extremely obliging in advising us on tips in Wanganui from Dining options to the weekend markets. We had a lovely stay in our own room with ensuite. Very comfortable, clean and great amenities. Would absolutely recommend a stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hadado
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and comments which allows future guests to book with confidence. We do try and extend a genuine welcome to all our guests and are proud to advise what Wanganui has to offer. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Patea NZ
Reviewed 20 November 2015

I had a very nice en suite room with a nice view. A delicious evening meal and breakfast was delivered to my room. The staff were extra helpful as I am on crutches. They moved my car to very close to my room and assisted wih all my luggage. The dinner on the second night, which was a school reunion...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank howardsa
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments Howard. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and the small considerations for the limitations of your crutches is all just part of the service. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Langwarrin, Australia
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Was not impressed with this Motel/lodge. Advertised as having licensed restaurant - now closed. Bed had ridge in centre and dipped to the middle Showers (shared) - well what can I say? if you were a larger person there is no way you would fit in them. Very disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

It is always dissappointing when we learn that guests did not enjoy their time with us - and especially difficult to address when it is post there stay. We have a wide variety of accommodation options availabe - from the lodge rooms in the shared facility for the more budget conscious (which Julia booked) to fully self contained corportate and...

Hamilton
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Home away from home. A fantastic place to stay and so well priced. The owners were very friendly. Totally recommend it to anyone in Wanganui. We will certainly stay there when down that way again. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank troycrook
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to the opportunity to host you again. Thank you for your kind words and feedback.

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We stayed here at Anndion at a friends recommendation and were in no way disappointed. Both Ann and Dion are fantastic hosts eager to please and give you the inside edge on what's going on in and around Wanganui. We only stayed the one night as they were booked solid which is I believe a testament to the place. Lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank declan_couchman
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments - it is always pleasing to hear that we are doing things well. We are glad that you were able to experience our hospitality and regret that you were unable to stay with us longer - perhpas next time.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the two bedroom suite for one night. There was so much room! It was very comfortable and modern. The staff were very helpful in check-in. Wanganui was a lovely place to visit. We enjoyed visiting Virginia lakes while we were there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Get0ut0fthecity
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see you enjoyed your time with us and our little city. And great to see that our staff welcomed you well.

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Amazing service and great rooms! This lodge had everything that you would expect a family owned place to have including AMAZING service! Will stay there again. Only thing I missed was not having a balcony! GREAT value for money AAA++++

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kwatson31
Anne_Dion, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is very nice to get such positive comments from you on both our facilities and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.8 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#2 of 27 in Whanganui
204 reviews
0.8 km away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#22 of 27 in Whanganui
44 reviews
2.2 km away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#9 of 27 in Whanganui
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#10 of 27 in Whanganui
114 reviews
1.8 km away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#3 of 27 in Whanganui
244 reviews
1.4 km away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#7 of 27 in Whanganui
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the award winning unique hospitality the Anndion is renowned for with 21 accommodation rooms ranging from 1 and 2 bedroom apartments to boutique fully self-contained king suites and lodge rooms with guest share facilities, spread over three properties the Anndion complex is more like a travellers resort than just a bed for the night. Set in lovely kiwiana themed gardens with a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located on the banks of the Whanganui River, just 5 minutes from the city centre. Facilities including free Wi-Fi, off street parking and secure motorcycle and bicycle garaging, a salt-water swimming pool, outdoor spa, infrared sauna, covered BBQ courtyard and guest laundry facilities. Conference and function centre with full onsite catering ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Address: 143 - 145 Anzac Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Price Range: ₹ 3,532 - ₹ 6,629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Whanganui
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whanganui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book the cove room unless a Hobbit They had sponge on top of the door ways so you wouldn't hit your head. Clean yes, but disappointed with room description on booking site.”
 of 5 bubbles kaz297, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No sky so make sure the TV gets all the free view channels”
 of 5 bubbles B8228XGmikeh, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“close to amenities, garden views, river views”
 of 5 bubbles rhawera, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Booked room without shower and toilet; wasn't aware. Was not a problem; facilities close by and spotless clean. Very cosy accommodation. Communal kitchen with everything available to drink, etc. communal tv room, pool table. Nice to meet other travelers. ”
 of 5 bubbles JohanT931, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Toilet tip. Request a room close to facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles Lavinia832, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay