We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bignell Street Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Bignell Street Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The owner Peter is very welcoming and the park is not far from town, not close enough to walk. The kitchen could have been better appointed, such as dishwash liquid and something to dry down the benches. There were quite a lot permanents but the were friendly. The price was about average for what you got.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanman01
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

I'm a great believer that you get what you pay for and this motel is testament to that philosophy. It was the cheapest place we stayed at during our 10 day drive around the central plateau of the North Island and this was reflected in the accommodation. The reception office was scruffy and untidy with a curtain draped behind the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trevor E
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a motel room and by no means can this be compared to a high quality motel as that is not what it is advertised as. In terms of value for money it was excellent, the room was generally clean and quite spacious. The beds were comfortable and it was very peaceful. It had all which we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter J
Nigel M, Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review & we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are located 3.5 km from the center of town which is a short 35 minute walk or 3 minutes by car.

Nimbin, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

Paid two weeks in advance went to move out and they just kept money paid in advance....360.00 cost for four nites stay...should have been 286.00...guests here call the managers peter and nigel crooks...peter asks male guests to lunch repeatedly. ...after being told no...a awful place to stay...glad to leave here...even after being ripped off.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Mark O
Auckland
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Have stayed here a couple of times and it motivated us to find more money for better accommodation for future trips. For the price you cant ask for 4 star but Its not clean and its not in a safe area. If your looking at tourist cabins this is an improvement but its not comparable to a proper motel. Lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megabite
Nigel M, Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We spend a lot of time cleaning, maintaining and refurbishing our units. We provide a safe environment with staff on site 24hrs. I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay, but if you had contacted the on-site manager we may have been able to resolve any issues that you had.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 February 2015

I would not stay here! This motel is by far the WORST place I have ever choosen to stay at! Complete muck around! Management do not know how to sort or manage issues, lazy attitudes, and the onsite managers do NOT know anything. After trying to sort an issue, was given excuses after excuses. He said, she said nonsense! I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank HMMorgan
Nigel M, Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

HM Morgan. We have no record of you staying with us? I also note that you have posted the same review under different names on the internet. This leads me to believe that you did not stay here. If you would like to stay and post an honest review this would be welcomed.

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Spent 4 nights at this motel. Was on a budget. Chose this motel because it was only $14 more a night than the holiday camp we looked at. For an extra $14 a night we for 1. In room bathroom 2. In room Cooking facilities 3.In room TV 4. Linen 5 Room serviced daily Not upmarket and cant be reviewed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
Nigel M, Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

We are please you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to provide value for money accommodation.

Chelmsford
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Have just spent 2 nights at Bignell Street motel. We had a motorhome so used a powered site. We found the facilities quite adequate and clean with loads of hot water, in fact we were asked if the temperature of the water was ok. It was a quiet site no noise at all and only just over a 5 minute...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank breadoven
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Have a safe trip home.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Not knowing what to expect - after a painful experience at a motel in Hastings. We only expected to stay one night at Bignell Street Motel - but after opening the door to our room - we saw how much room there was & clean the place was. We wanted somewhere with space & relaxation - we totally got it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Masta8586
Nigel M, Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much. This is exactly the experience that we want our guests to have. :-)

Dannevirke, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I rang to book a tent site but was offered his own caravan which I paid cash for. No receipt was offered. The caravan smelt musty. The bed didn't look as if the sheets were clean. Fortunately we took our own bedding. I washed all of the dishes because they had dead insects in them. There was only one large...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Valerie D
Nigel M, General Manager at Bignell Street Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. You paid for a tent site but I lent you my personal caravan to stay in at no extra cost as the weather forecast was not good. No one had stayed in the caravan for a few weeks so it had been closed up for awhile. An hour with the windows open would have aired...

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
3.0 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#2 of 27 in Whanganui
204 reviews
2.8 km away
Econo Lodge Wanganui
Econo Lodge Wanganui
#23 of 27 in Whanganui
4 reviews
2.8 km away
Quality Inn Collegiate
Quality Inn Collegiate
#14 of 27 in Whanganui
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#22 of 27 in Whanganui
44 reviews
8.3 km away
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park
3.3 km away
Burwood Manor Motel
Burwood Manor Motel
#24 of 27 in Whanganui
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
$50 MOTEL. Save $$ On Your Accommodation. Come stay with us! Large new units available with one or two bedrooms. 36 caravan sites set in park-like grounds. Close to city centre. Quiet location. 24-hour camera security. Friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bignell Street Motel

Address: 86 Bignell Street, Whanganui 4501, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Price Range: ₹ 3,376 - ₹ 4,384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bignell Street Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Bignell Street Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bignell Street Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bignell Street Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room in the new block”
 of 5 bubbles trevore805, 15 Feb 2016 | Read review
“No good rooms or caravans”
 of 5 bubbles JustusHutt, 21 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles nzkeg, 20 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Do not recommend this motel”
 of 5 bubbles LaurayneP, 20 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Choose a room in another part of Wanganui in another motel.”
 of 5 bubbles sandy22NewZealand, 20 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay