We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Coachman

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Coachman
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Coachman
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 December 2015

We went to the Coachman for a lunch with a group of colleagues who had been ordained in the Methodist Church for 40 years. We had an excellent lunch and were impressed with the staff who waited on us. They were attentive and friendly. When we left at about 2.30pm we thought it was the end. However at 7.40pm I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 840Graeme47
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that Hotel Coachman was able to relieve some of the stress of having your flight to Auckland cancelled. Our staff will be pleased to hear that they did such a good job looking after you during your unexpected stay over in Palmerston North. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 4 December 2015

Had three nights here for a conference. The service was immaculate; a breath of fresh air in New Zealand. The foyer and bar were lovely too - obviously something the locals know as it always had people coming in (unusual in a local hotel/motel). The rooms were quite good - though the kitchen was a sink, a microwave and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey M
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Hotel Coachman is delighted to hear that you we so pleased with our staff and the quality of our accommodation. Please come back to see us again the next time you are in Palmerston North.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 December 2015

The one thing that stood out for me about the hotel, was the friendly and genuine nature of the staff, something which is often lacking in this industry. Each employee I spoke with seemed to really care about making sure you had an enjoyable stay. The room sort of felt homely/lodgey, with a touch of class. No complaints about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thank you for acknowledging our great staff at Hotel Coachman. It is very satisfying to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay, and are so pleased with our property. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 November 2015

We stayed over weekend of 21st to be with my son on his 21st. We took the motel rooms and am disappointed. There was a party for a wedding and they came back at 2am and woke me up. Can hear kids voice and people walking in the motel room upstairs. Internet keeps on dropping and on Monday, we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimberleyL96
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you did not have a good nights sleep because of the noise from an adjacent room. We did have a disruption to our internet service over the weekend due to a bad component, but that has been replaced. We also replaced a broken hot water heater during that same time period, so the water temperature is...

New Zealand
Reviewed 19 November 2015

I see there are a few unhappy customers that have stayed here. I didn't have that experience. Staff were friendly. Room was clean and had basic but adequate cutlery, plates etc. The decor did look a bit dated, but the place was clean & tidy. Close to town & supermarkets. No complaints really, but not somewhere you would want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you were happy with your stay at Hotel Coachman. It's fantastic to hear that we have such friendly staff and clean rooms. We look forward to seeing you again in Palmerston North.

Wellington
Reviewed 19 November 2015

We spent a weekend in the motel section. The room was fine, basic but clean and with everything we needed. The hotel has a small bar/restaurant, we did not eat there but it was handy for a late night drink at the bar. The hotel is a short walk from the centre of town. The thing that spoiled it for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newkiwiWellington
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback about the hot water. I have notified the maintenance department to check the temperature so no one else has the same experience. I am pleased that you were happy with our location, and on-site restaurant, but I'm disappointed to hear about your issues with the bathroom in your unit....

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Booked on the basis it was a motel room with the normal facilities, but what a sad lonely place this was. A single chair, single cup and saucer, 1 plate old smelly and uncomfortable bed. Absolute rubbish. Booked out at 6AM following morning and moved to nice accommodation up the road. Night porter said he didn't blame us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter and Mario... J
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you were not satisfied with your accommodation. I wish I could have spoken to you before you checked out, so we could have resolved this. Please feel free to contact me at web@coachman so I may investigate the issues you have raised further.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Although the Hotel Coachman is in a great location and has an luxurious look to it I would not stay here again. The bed was 'boney' and very uncomfortable. The problem could be solved with a pillow top mattress or a topper pad on the existing mattress. And maybe because I didnt get much sleep, I found the curtains too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riotrioadventures
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

We are disappointed to hear that you were not pleased with you your bed during your recent stay at Hotel Coachman. We would greatly appreciate any extra information you could provide concerning your room so we can ensure that the appropriate measures are taken to rectify the problem. Please send me details about your date of stay and name the...

Wellington Nz
Reviewed 19 September 2015

The rooms are a good size, quiet, comfortable beds and good showers. They are a little dated as to decor - lots of dark wood, and a hideous picture(!), but overall good value. The staff are excellent and the restaurant good value with excellent meals and breakfast, at reasonable prices. Will stay here again if in Palmerston North.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris D
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay at Hotel Coachman. We appreciate that you were pleased with our staff and comfortable beds and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Palmerston North. We will pass on your kind comments to the staff.

Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

Have stayed here several times on business trips to Palmerston north, location is good close to cbd, the staff are always really friendly and helpful and the one complaint I made was quickly dealt with by staff. Pricing is reasonable rooms are really clean and comfortable, gym facilities were a little lacking but was able to make due, found the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank corey94
Michael H, Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you frequently stay at Hotel Coachman. We are pleased that you find our accommodation clean and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.2 km away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
304 reviews
1.0 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
306 reviews
0.2 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
39 reviews
0.3 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
146 reviews
1.2 km away
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Harringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: ₹ 6,075 - ₹ 8,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Coachman staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jonoashton, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Even numbers in the main building look on the garden.”
  • Window seat room 112
 of 5 bubbles drncc1701, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best to be on the southern side - away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles VillaInTheVines, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“One by the castle stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles L8331DOdeborahc, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check linens b4 u jump in especially the extra pillow.”
 of 5 bubbles leysingi, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay