We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Railway Hotel Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palmerston North
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Railway Hotel Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Start your review of The Railway Hotel Backpackers
 Click to rate
tasmania
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

This was the most equipped stop we had clean and basic full shower and bathroom in room. Bed very comfortable air con breakfast light provided. Microwave in room and plunger coffee plenty of towels fresh milk soap good shower. Nice owner/manager showed us our room pointed out how the electronic key worked for after hours entry. Nice big kitchen for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for great feedback. With the travelling you guys have done and all your reviews, this is important to us. Hope to see you again. Garry Young.

Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Needed a place to stay in Palmerston North at very short notice. Barry was very helpful, even picked me up from the airport and dropped me off the next morning. Had a very good sleep. Great backpackers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregandsusie
Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice compliment. Barrie dropped me off at the airport then picked you up. Always a pleasure. Garry Young

Beijing, China
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I attended Massey Uni for three weeks to complete a Masters degree & stayed at this Backpackers in a ladies bunk room. I don't normally do reviews, but felt this place is exceptional and warranted a mention. Barrie was a very caring Host. I haven't stayed in many places like this but felt it was more Hotelish than Hostel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yunwu
Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Wu Yun and hope the rest of your trip is successful. Garry Young

Raglan
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I'll start with the positives...the owners were friendly, the facilities clean, the wifi worked and basic breakfast was provided. But the whole place felt dark and depressing. The building is run down and in a somewhat dingy corner of town. The worst was the mattress. The metal strings pressed through the mattress so hard that going to bed at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gretak45
Garry Y, Director of Sales at The Railway Hotel Backpackers, responded to this review

Oh Wow. I'm so sorry to here about your experience, but you have reviewed the wrong Backpackers,. WE are in the CBD of Palmerston North, not a Dingy part of the City, the Backpacker part of the building certainly isn't run down or Dingy. We have no springs that stick out of mattresses. If you did stay and didn't tell...

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Staff were nice,been here a few times now. travelled for holiday with friends. would stay again as Palmerston North is very central to other places. Stock car weekend was great. Have booked again next year. Phillip alpress

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
Gloucestershire
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Awesome location. Hotel is really pleasant, my room was clean and tidy, the owners were wonderful and helpful. I believe we made a small inconvenience for them but they were continually pleasant. The location is two minutes from the main square, breakfast is provided, everything is clean and comfortavle and homely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Strawfags
Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for you positive feedback, you guys were great. No inconvenience at all. Hope you travelled well. Garry Young

Braunschweig, Germany
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Rewarded myself with a single room after a long time of dorm rooms. I loved this old place. The people were very friendly and the price was not that much after all. The kitchen was great and everything was clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lionheart92
Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We hope to see you again if you are in the area. Garry Young

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Garry is the best owner I have ever met in NZ, who is truly friendly, generous, genuine, patient and helpful. In the past 3 years, I have stayed in at least 30 different accommodations in NZ and Garry is definitely the best owner. I will highly recommend everyone who have the chance to come to Palmy staying here. You will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen Z
Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review Karen. We hope to see you again if you are in Palmerston North. Garry Young

Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Pauline and I spent recently a weekend in Palmerston North visiting friends and celebrating birthdays. We stayed at the Railway Hotel Backpackers and were very surprised about the generous and good service received. Starting with the caring hosts (Gary and Barry), the clean rooms and good bed, the original art works everywhere, turning on the heaters early in the morning,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8623PaulineS
Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time out to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed the property. You were a lovely couple and we hope to see you again if you stay in the region. Garry Young.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Garry and Barry should be awarded the "Most caring hosts" award for their work at the Railway Hotel Backpackers. Each bed comes with amenities, cookies, breakfast and a whole lot care. The value is incredible. The building itself is stunning and ads to the luxurious feel of this hostel. This is flashpacking at its best! This is hands down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin_Laura

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.7 km away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
333 reviews
0.3 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
321 reviews
1.2 km away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#19 of 25 in Palmerston North
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Penny's Accommodation
Penny's Accommodation
#17 of 36 in Palmerston North
16 reviews
0.7 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
149 reviews
0.2 km away
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
BKs Motor Lodge Palmerston North
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel is best described as a Backpacker Budget Hotel which concentrates on the Backpacker fraternity. We have an excellant assortment of rooms. Bunk rooms, double & single private rooms through to private en-suites with all amenities. We also do longer term stays. All rooms have Heater, Air/con, fridge, microwave, TV, crockery & cutlery, plus free unlimited high speed internet throughout the Hotel for all guests. We have a guest kitchen open 24/7 for guests use. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Railway Hotel Backpackers

Address: 275 Main Street, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly The New Railway Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Railway Hotel Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ladies Bunk room is good”
yunwu, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms up front have a lovely view, but maybe a bit more traffic noise”
8623PaulineS, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try Room 22, good view over Palmerston North to the ranges.”
331martynw, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The Budget doubles are smaller but they are great.”
66marciab, 16 May 2015 | Read review
“Try and avoid the rooms opposite the shared toilets/bathrooms to avoid certain aromas!”
Geordiegirl3300, 12 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5