We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
See the most recent reviews
Showing 317: English reviews
Cambridge
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good room which was value for money. The restaurant we thought was overpriced but the bar was not by NZ standards. The big let down was the Wi Fi. You only got 30 minutes free and this was on Y in the public access areas, so none in your room. It cut out after about 5 minutes and even after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David716
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights the room was clean the bed very comfortable had breakfast plenty on offer staff very helpful 5 minute walk from the centre of town would highly recommend this hotel had a great stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angrybird M
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We really appreciated the free upgrade ! It was a lovely room and very modern ! We really had no complaints ! The bathroom was also lovey. A huge shower. Very good location! You can easily walk into town! Would happily stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ally M
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the review

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

I'm often intrigued when you can get a great review followed up by a poor one. Provided I'm quick to post this it will be one of those times. We were a family of 5 and were expecting joining rooms. No such luck but with a few changes we were at least able to get rooms next to each other....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reff1
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the review

Mairangi Bay, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We came from Auckland to pick up a car and had one great night here. The cleanest room and bathroom and the bed was perfect with clean fresh bedding and a super strong shower. There was no aircons in the rooms but there was a fixed wall heater and fan supplied. Very handy location and walking distance to the town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonell M
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Room is clean but bed scarf is dusty. A lot of road noise (sounds like burnouts) in the middle of the night (not the fault of the motel). The panel heater in the room is quite noisy. No in-room free internet (50MB of free data usage in the lobby is inadequate for today's web sites). No cable TV channels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KA0007
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Booking in to the copthorne was disappointing as it did not depict what the pictures showed. It was small, outdated and uncomfortable. We were not in a hotel but instead we were in units which was like a motel set up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowie Q
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. Superior hotel rooms are located in the main tower block, with standard rooms located in external buildings. The hotel also has economy rooms available. It is difficult to ascertain for certain from the reviewer name, but it appears you may have viewed Superior room images, but booked the Economy room type?

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Stayed 5 nights leisure break - first class service, first class accommodation, if we visit "Palmy" again we will stay here again. Restaurant menu was somewhat limited for a restaurant, Good location , handy to town and the 'Square'

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 10 December 2016

A must stay for those passing through Palmerston North: modern, convenient, well located, clean and excellent service. Free internet, fridge, large room. Lobby level restaurant has highest quality fare.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosamur
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the review

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Basic room nothing flash.. old and tired but great budget price for a couple of beds for the night. Not in the new flash part. Hot shower Tea and coffee selection Jug Iron and board Close to supermarket and a stroll to the square where there are cafes and park walks. Comfy, clean and quiet. Perfect for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwichatter
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.8 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
312 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
205 reviews
1.8 km away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#22 of 25 in Palmerston North
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
134 reviews
0.1 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
155 reviews
0.1 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North offers 76 contemporary guest rooms ranging from Superior Twin or King rooms and Family Units to premium Executive Suites with spa baths. All have been designed with your comfort in mind and offer a relaxing space to unwind whether staying for business or pleasure. Facilities include a restaurant, bar, gym, 4 meeting rooms, 24 hour room service and a guest laundry. The hotel also offers complimentary car parking on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Address: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: ₹ 4,243 - ₹ 8,728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Palmerston North
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a corner room- they are slightly bigger.”
 of 5 bubbles liam404, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“if you are low on funds ask for the economy rooms around the back and also get breakfast with these rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Eggy62, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you book the rooms in the main building and not the motel styles rooms around the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles KA0007, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“for a breakfast add on ask for the older rooms out the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Eggy62, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the ants!”
 of 5 bubbles 240carols, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5