We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Hostelworld.comUS$ 60*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 275*
US$ 60*
Great Deal
US$ 134*
US$ 134*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BASE Backpackers St Kilda
See the most recent reviews
Showing 361: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 10 June 2015

Probably the most social hostel that I've ever stayed at, in terms on the daily activities, and the fact that the staff are all backpackers makes it a lot better atmosphere as well. Lots of people who are working outside the hostel, too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hello - Thanks for your lovely review. Great to hear that our staff looked after you and you enjoyed getting involved in all our activities. We hope to see you again in Melbourne soon :)

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 June 2015

I would recommend BASE to young people looking for affordable, fun and exciting accommodation! Was the cleanest and prettiest backpackers I've seen! My friends and I really enjoyed the activities that BASE was running through out our stay as they had different themed night, through this we made friends in BASE! It was a extremely enjoyable stay!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 470erinb
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hello. We were stocked when reading your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly do have some awesome activities on each night. Make sure you come back and visit us if you are in Melbourne again.

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2015

I would definitely recommend this hostel. Brilliant location in St. Kilda and close to everything you need. The hostel bar is really good throughout the week and the staff were extremely friendly and reliable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
BASESTK, Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hello. Thanks so much for your lovely review. We were stocked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had some great nights out in the bar. Make sure you come back and visit us again soon. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Reviewed 5 June 2015

After a long bus ride from Sydney we were greeted by kind and helpful staff who allowed us to check into our room early, since they had it available already. We had a private room which came with an ensuite bathroom and balcony. The kitchen is basic and the bar is full of gap-year-ers. In Auckland we stayed at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day Helen H! Crikey! What a fantastic review! We appreciate all reviews given but reading ones likes yours really make us smile. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia Guest Services Manager BASE ST KILDA

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Great location, could be cleaner but certainly not dirty. Stayed in a private room which was small but provided what I needed a bed and a bathroom. The room was above the bar so was loud however I was out or in the bar till the early hours anyway. It is a backpackers so should be judged as one and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ho23l
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day there Ho23l! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay, which is fantastic and what we aim for! I did however notice that you stated the cleanliness of the hostel as average which is not so good news. Here at Base we go to great lengths to keep everything...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2015

Stayed at Base St Kilda for a few days - this place has fantastic hospitality and a great atmosphere. A really friendly team who made me feel welcome and went out of their way to accommodate. I'd recommend Base St Kilda to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GailB201505
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day there GailB201505! Wow! What a fantastic review. We're glad you had such a fantastic time with us and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and join us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Base is Full of live and the best place for backpackers, i love it. I stayed here now for a month also i just planned to stay for two weeks in the beginning. It Never Gets boring and The staff helps you with everything you need to know/do ! I am so sad to leave!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monamonaaa
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day there Monamonaaa! Thank you for leaving us such a amazing review! We really appreciate your feedback and it seems like you had a fantastic time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope you enjoy your future travels and you join us again when you're back in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

Reviewed 12 May 2015

I was disappointed by the X BASE hostels in common but this one was the worst hostel I've ever been. Loud music all day AND night, unfriendly staff, unclean dorms, bathrooms and incredibly expensive. We booked through a travel agency which recommended it as a nice party hostel where you can get in touch with people easily. We usually don't...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Franziska K
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

Hi there Franziska K, We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. We've taken your comments on board and will discuss them all at our next managers meeting. We apologise that your travel agent may have given you the wrong information, leading to a different portrayal of what kind of a hostel we are. We pride ourselves...

Sydney
Reviewed 7 May 2015

The service and location of this hostel are very good, but if you do not like to party, this might not be the best place for you as there are pretty loud parties going on every night. St. Kilda is a lovely neighborhood with cute little shops, cafes and restaurants and St. Kilda beach is only a few minutes away....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jutta K
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day there Jutta K! We really appreciate you leaving a review! All feedback is important to us. We are a party hostel however we do try and cater to all travelers. We have lots of activities from yoga and walking tours to trivia and karaoke! We hope there's a little something for everyone. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked base through STA travel and to be honest were pretty underwhelmed. It markets itself as a party hostel, and it is definitely that. We stayed in a dorm of 8 and for the first few days this was 7 guys and 1 girl. Everyone drinks in the room - although it's apparently not allowed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank liam w
BASESTK, Guest Relations Manager at BASE Backpackers St Kilda, responded to this review

G'day there liam w We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. We value all comments given. Although we are an award winning party hostel we do try to cater to all guests that come through our doors. Our reception desk is manned 24/7 to deal with any concerns and questions. We do not allow drinking up...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Habitat HQ
#1 of 18 in St Kilda
611 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 134 in Melbourne
515 reviews
St. Kilda Beach House
#3 of 18 in St Kilda
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BASE Backpackers St Kilda offers the best in high quality Budget St Kilda accommodation. With a range of small and large mix dorms, private Queen Rooms and the exclusive Girls only Sanctuary dorms, we have a room for all fun loving budget conscious travelers, we are the closest hostel in Melbourne to the iconic St Kilda Beach & have the PUMPING Red Eye Bar on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BASE Backpackers St Kilda

Address: 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: ₹ 962 - ₹ 7,314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — BASE Backpackers St Kilda 2*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your BASE Backpackers St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
BASE Backpackers St Kilda Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BASE Backpackers St Kilda staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BASE Backpackers St Kilda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“check out the 3rd floor or ask about the weekly rate”
mark1234562017, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay in a dorm cause it's the easiest way to meet people!”
606orlam, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“dorms for party people, private rooms for chilled travels”
501chlo_m, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Seriously stay on a floor/ room as far away from the bar as possible, and hopefully your bed isn't as awful as ours was...”
lizajean496, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“I was on the 2nd floor and couldn't hear the party downstairs from my room”
HelenaT85, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 60* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$ 134
TravelocityUS$ 134
AMOMAUS$ 275
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates