We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,264: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We found the Cosmopolitan to be a great value for our family of 4 plus an extra guest, and it's location for St Kilda sight seeing was brilliant. Staff very helpful. Ample parking. Great to have in site laundromat. Saturday night was a bit noisy (parties in St Kilda not at the hotel), but that's to be expected.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank McFrood
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear McFrood, Thanks for writing us a review. It's great to see that you and your family loved your stay with us and enjoyed our on-site guest laundry and complimentary on-site secure car parking. Our fantastic location in the heart of vibrant St Kilda makes exploring all that the great place has to offer a breeze. Thank you for highlighting...

Doreen
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Friendly and helpful staff, great location. Bathroom in need of up grade and vents, curtains need cleaning. Heater wasn't working properly had to get a portable. Was expecting there to be a bar and restaurant open at the hotel at least in the evening.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 171kerrik
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear 171kerrik, Thank you for writing us a review. I am sorry to see that the heating in your room wasn't working properly. It is great to see that our helpful, friendly team were able to assist in providing a portable heater. Unfortunately our Chalk Cafe is only open for breakfast but our amazing location in the heart of St...

Cronulla
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The Cosmpolitan is a great place to stay. Brilliant location. Room very clean, had balcony but too cold to step outside! Only down side was the air conditioning wasn't warm enough for me so it was better not running it at all. Breakfast was yummy and really good value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandranK2395DJ
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear sandranK2395DJ, Thanks for writing us a review. I am delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be clean and comfortable. It's great to see that you found your breakfast in our Chalk Cafe to be really yummy! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cosmopolitan Hotel the next...

Pyrmont
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The hotel was OK for the price. Rooms are clean but a bit tired & in need of improvement. The hotel is in a great position, close to transport, restaurants, beach etc but can be a bit noisy on weekends.. Staff are very friendly & helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F3778CEsusanr
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear F3778CEsusanr, Thank you for writing us a review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aware that some of our room types are showing signs of wear and tear and in need of some love. Our amazing location in the heart of vibrant St Kilda, moments from the tram stop and everything...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Very tidy boutique hotel. Room itself was lovely with new bathroom and nice fittings, corridor a bit dingy. Good free WiFi reception. Friendly and well informed staff. Excellent location.Good value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte C, Thanks for writing us a review. It's great to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our complimentary wifi is a favourite amenity of our guests. Thanks for highlighting our friendly and helpful team. We are constantly striving to ensure that all of our guests needs and comforts are met and exceeded. I look forward...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 320shanyp
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Greater Perth, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Cosmopolitan hotel is a great boutique hotel. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The room was always cleaned, with fresh towels, tea, coffee and other refreshments provided daily. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends. It is very affordable. My only complaint is the Wi-Fi. I am a uni student and needed the internet to check my...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 207kelseys
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear 207kelseys, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am glad to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and loved our location. Being in the heart of St Kilda you have everything you need and want at your fingertips! Thanks for bringing to my attention the issue you had with our complimentary...

Booie, Australia
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Recommend this hotel to anyone. ..comfortable rooms and friendly staff. The restaurant only caters for breakfast and is of fair value. Overall, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to trams and cafes and bars

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear James W, Thanks for writing us a review. It's great to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be comfortable. Thanks for highlighting our friendly team. We are constantly striving to ensure that all of our guests needs and comforts are met and exceeded. I look forward to welcoming you back to...

Adelaide
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Very clean, staff friendly, comfortable and central. Check in was easy as what the X press checkout. Car parking insight was a bonus. Very close to a fantastic selection of food to eat in or take away.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 595prudencep
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear 595prudencep, Thank you for writing us a review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found check in and out was easy with friendly service! Our fantastic location coupled with our complimentary onsite secure car parking makes us the perfect base to explore all that this great place has to offer. I look...

Alexandra
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Comfy beds. Noise from street a bit loud for us country folk. Staff very friendly. We were going to a show at the Palais and this motel is well situated for a quick walk to the venue. Also a pleasant stroll to Acland Street.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikejuleeh
CosmopolitanMgt, Front Office Manager at Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review

Dear mikejuleeh, Thanks for writing us a review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your bed to be comfy. We use quality MicroCloud bedding to ensure all of our guests have the best possible nights' sleep. Our great location in the heart of St Kilda does unfortunately mean that some of our...

308 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Deluxe Terrace Room (22)
Viewed
One Bedroom Studio (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Studio (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.5 km away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.9 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.5 km away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
247 reviews
0.8 km away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
230 reviews
2.1 km away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of trendy St Kilda on the doorstep of Luna Park, The Esplanade, St Kilda Arts Markets, St Kilda Beach and Melbourne's finest restaurants and shops, the Cosmopolitan Hotel stands out with its boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. This landmark icon immaculately redesigned with the latest luxury amenities and variety of accommodations to suit all needs, will assure an unforgettable and truly authentic Melbourne experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 2 - 8 Carlisle St | St Kilda Beach, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: ₹ 5,105 - ₹ 14,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8 St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel St Kilda
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - By 8Hotels St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#1 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I hope you don't get allocated room A102......a disgrace.”
 of 5 bubbles Riley550055, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms have different amenities - read the descriptions carefully if you want something specific.”
 of 5 bubbles 784scottn, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles chellmc59, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Remember to ask for a room on the quieter side of building!”
 of 5 bubbles 631bron, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Would try and stay in a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles petemE6449QO, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5