We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crest on Barkly Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crest on Barkly Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crest on Barkly Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The unit I was provided was roomy, but there were problems. The remote to the tv in the bedroom didn't work. It was the wrong type for the tv supplied. The vanity basin in the bathroom lacked a plug. The wooden blinds on the windows had broken slats which let the light in at night. Overall the blinds were well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank royo460
Greg N, Manager at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Hello royo460, Thank you for your review and taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Please be advised we have noted your points and discussed within a Management forum. Lighting and blinds have been central in our conversations across the entire venue. We have also made the WiFi complimentary to all of our guests, rather than the first...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

After buggering up our accommodation for Sunday night my husband went online to book somewhere a little closer to Melbourne. We booked for a night and when we arrived we were upgraded to the 2 bdrm apartment. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. I would let friends know a about this accommodation as they were so helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kym D
Greg N, Manager at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Kym D, Thank you for your review...it is very much appreciated. All of our Staff members are particularly proud of the levels of service they offer our valued customers and they take great delight in reading such comments when passed on accordingly. We hope to see you again soon shortly. The Team @ Crest on Barkly.

Brisbane
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Efficient check in. Rooms tidy and roomy enough. Found a bobby pin under the hotel compendium in our room which makes you wonder about cleaners picking stuff up to dust/clean, instead of actually picking up things to dust under. Word of advice in some of the rooms like we had if you have to fold back the glass shower screen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
Greg N, Manager at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Linda D, Thank you for your review. We certainly appreciate that you have taken the time to comment on your stay here at the Crest on Barkly. We have certainly acknowledged your comments. Our Housekeeping staff are very dedicated to ensuring all rooms are kept to a very high standard. They have systems and procedures and checklists to ensure...

Reviewed 14 September 2016

I was very stuck this past weekend and desperately needed a place to stay quick. Luckily I found Crest on Barkly with vacancy still, but for some godforsaken reason I have booked the wrong date. The front desk staff Maxi was kind enough to try in every possible way to deal with the online travel agency to change the booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie L
CrestonBarkly, Guest Relations Agent at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, Thank you for your positive review about the Crest on Barkly. Your kind words will be passed on to the relevant staff. Our priority is looking after our guests. After all that is what hospitality is all about. We are very pleased that we were able to assist you in your time of need. We are honored that...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Rooms were very clean and well presented for the price we paid. Easy to find, friendly staff and a good location. We booked a room with no window , were surprised by having a room with a window with nice views of the city. Bed was very comfy too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron F
CrestonBarkly, Guest Relations Agent at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us here at the Crest on Barkly. We are so pleased to hear of your enjoyment during your stay with us. We indeed do strive to offer a service worthy of our 4 star rating and we are pleased this was achieved during your visit. We look forward to having...

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely Hotel. Inexpensive. Rooms clean. Though a bit far from downtown Melbourne. The hotel was nice. Would stay here again. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of five, Was the lift kept breaking down, and it was a far walk from the garage to my room with heavy luggage. No help with luggage available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nurserosie
CrestonBarkly, Guest Relations Agent at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosie, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that overall your experience at the Crest on Barkly was positive and that you would stay with us in the future. I do apologize for the difficulties you faced with the lift being out of service due to maintenance. I understand that it would have been unpleasant having...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Very large room, Elevator was out of order for repairs, but was only on second floor fortunately. Smoke free building, staff very pleasant and helpful. Secure car park was definitely a requirement, and was included in price of room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camrowley89
CrestonBarkly, Guest Services at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that overall your experience at the Crest on Barkly was positive. We appreciate your understanding with regards to the maintenance work that was carried out on our lifts. We are very pleased to announce that the maintenance work is over and we now have upgraded lifts. At the Crest on...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

After paying up front for 2 nights accommodation I was hit with a further $300 up front payment as a security deposit, nothing said about this when I booked, then upon departure I asked for the security deposit back and was informed it would take up to seven business days to get the refund. The property itself is old and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cate-Pete
CrestonBarkly, Guest Services at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your stay in one of our serviced apartments. We take all feedback from our guests very seriously. Your feedback allows us to improve our services. We are disappointed that over all you were not happy with your stay. As a business we do require room bonds to cover incidentals. Our security bond policy...

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Beautiful charming older 2 bedroom apartment well appointed had everything we as a family of 5 could want. The polished wood floors and staing glass windows and doors were charming and beautiful. Will definatly be back 😀 $20 per night parking was secure and very well priced. The area was super quiet and close to everthing. The service was imaculate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
CrestonBarkly, Guest Relations at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl M, We appreciate your positive feedback following your stay in one of our serviced apartments. We are pleased to hear that you found the apartment to be aesthetically pleasing. We also agree with you that our location is very handy. We are not far away from the attractions of St Kilda and it is only a ten minute...

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a room with bunk beds and a shared toilet. Very nice room, although the layout is a bit odd. can only see the TV from one bed. Fridge and kettle provided. Bathroom was very modern and clean. Staff were lovely and even helped us carry our bags over to our room. Very nice stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
CrestonBarkly, Front Office Manager at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robyn, Thank you for the positive words about your stay at the Como Court Apartments. I am pleased that you found the accommodation to be pleasant. We always pride ourselves on good customer service and I am pleased that you noted the efforts of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.3 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
1.0 km away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.7 km away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.6 km away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
226 reviews
0.9 km away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crest on Barkly Hotel is located right behind No. 1 St Kilda Road Melbourne. Just 8 minutes from Melbourne's Central Business District. Our apartments are all fully self contained, you will find all the facilities you will need to feel at home away from home. Great for families, long stays and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crest on Barkly Hotel

Address: 47 Barkly St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: ₹ 6,234 - ₹ 12,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crest on Barkly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Crest on Barkly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest On Barkly Hotel St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crest on Barkly Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Humpty Doo
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Crest on Barkly Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were allocated 004'whichnwas on the ground floor handy to reception, but at the same time was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PamA916, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs might be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles jomQ1080KJ, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't go there”
 of 5 bubbles 194stepheng, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Would not recommend, not senior friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles SunCruise2014, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the busy street.”
 of 5 bubbles royo460, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5