We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peter Lalor Hotel

  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Start your review of Peter Lalor Hotel
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My husband & I had a wonderful meal at the Peter Lalor Hotel in Ballarat. The serving size was spot on, being the perfect amount for us to leave fully satisfied. The salad was very fresh & the hot chips great. We both had dishes from the "Parma Land" section of the menu- in this instance being Chicken mine known...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beck and Steven X
Geelong
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Last Monday went there for a meal, we received the lunch menu, as nothing of interest was on the menu, I asked the bar attendand what fish they had for that day, he responded by saying it was the chef's special, "Fish of the Day", so we both order that. Upon receiving it, I was in shock as the fish...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ArthurG947
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We arrived late into Ballarat and our travel brochure listed the Peter Lalor as an historic hotel so we decided to give it a try. Bad decision! The paint was peeling, curtains didn't fit, poor lighting, decrepit bed linen and faulty bathroom! To add insult to injury we had to ring in the morning to recover our key deposit before...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JudithGry
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2013

It is clear that the Peter Lalor Hotel has seen better days. That doesn't always matter when you stay somewhere because the owner is proactive in doing what they can to maintain the property within their means. A run down place can indeed be pleasant enough. However, this hotel is filthy and the owners need to respond to this immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Meneer J
Barmera
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on Saturday 3rd. November prior to a visit to the Lake Goldsmith centenary rally. I was informed by management that as I wished to leave early in the morning that I could ring him and he would refund my key deposit of $50.00. On ringing three times over a period of an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Waxy41
East Victoria Park, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I travelled to Peter lalor in october, and stayed for two nights, rooms are unclean, only one power point per room, carpet is dirty and peeling. The bathroom facilities were poor and needed to be cleaned, the shower was either too hot or freezing.Should not be marketed as a Hotel, Better off staying at backpackers.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laurenloraine
Tumut, Australia
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We visited for their tuesday trivia night and stayed for their $12 Parma & pot promotion. The parmagiana was outstanding value & the BEST chips ever !!! A fresh salad was also included & for $12 including as pot of beer was the best value meal deal in Ballarat. Service was great & friendly & i would revisit again &...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TumutTravellers5142
Reviewed 11 April 2012

After a horrible dinner on the previous night, we were worried about another shocker of a dinner. But I was pleasantly surprised! Quick service and a beautiful meal is what we got! Large servings of delicious Aussie and Asian meals with a kids menu and the best beers on tap. Will definitely come back next time we are in Ballarat!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lccu
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 July 2011

To say that this place is "sub-par" is being kind. The facilities are what you would expect in this price range, but the service is very slow and staff are quite rude. Food is sub-par but will cost about the same as everywhere else and you pay the same amount for drinks as you would at Crown Casino - I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank youpickone
Bill W, Owner at Peter Lalor Hotel, responded to this review

This Venue has been refurnished and is Under New Management from 6 October, 2011.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I booked my friend and I in for 3 nights at $55/night (book-in at noon Friday, March 11, 2011 and book-out 10am Monday, March 14, 2011) but when my friend turned up ahead of me on the Friday he was told it was booked in for 4 nights (they included Monday night) and that he would have to pay $220...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jagulep

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#13 of 33 in Ballarat
127 reviews
0.4 km away
The Ansonia on Lydiard
The Ansonia on Lydiard
#23 of 33 in Ballarat
119 reviews
1.1 km away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
0.3 km away
Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard
5.3 km away
Alfred Motor Inn
Alfred Motor Inn
#25 of 33 in Ballarat
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Venue has been refurnished and Under New Management From 6 October 2011. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peter Lalor Hotel

Address: 331 Mair St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Price Range: ₹ 2,315 - ₹ 4,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Peter Lalor Hotel Ballarat, Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Peter Lalor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away, very poor lighting in room, mattresses stored in corner, no chair,and no working TV. Two TV's that didn't work.”
 of 5 bubbles Waxy41, 8 Nov 2012 | Read review
1 of 1