We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Quite surreal with kangaroos jumping past while we ate breakfast, plus they were happy to be patted. We were mesmerised watching an echidna digging away, and enjoyed our daily bird feeding ritual from our veranda while we watched the swans on the water. Even though it was peak season and fully booked, it did not seem crowded and I still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank motgies
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed in the Storm Bird lodge which has lovely water views and kangaroos and other wildlife at the front door. This led to an inviting atmosphere which let us escape from busy day to day life. Unfortunately, over the 5 nights we stayed there my partner was unwell so we stayed in, cooked and used the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danniazedo91
waterfront4, Manager at Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. You are correct we do send a pre arrival email stating that the lodges are not serviced during your stay and initial supplies are provided and making suggestions as to the extras to bring with you. We will take on board your suggestions and improve our stock of supplies in the lodges. With regard to...

Durango, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hosts here are great, they made sure every need was taken care of. We had a fabulous long view of the lake. Bird watching was pretty exciting and the kangaroos were quite a treat to see up close. A great place for all ages.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deeann2017
Angels Camp, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had visited Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point a couple of times before making a reservation and knew it would be a great experience based on my visits and interaction with Debbie. It far exceeded my expectations all round. It's incredibly beautiful with lots of native bush and animals. We were a group of 20 and occupied a number of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carriearonson
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2016

For one family member it was a return visit, for the others it was a first time - what a wonderful surprise! We had a very spacious and comfortable villa, much larger than we expected complete with a very efficient gas fire for the cool evenings. The staff were very friendly offering information when needed. Feeding the eleven kangaroos on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Great location. About 10-15 mins from the main towns it's a great spot to get away from it all. The rooms are all well equipped for everything you might need. Cleanish and mostly modern. Only negative would be no aircon.. so wouldn't like to try stay here in summer... you would fry! Set by a Great Lake this little place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrs84
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We booked for 3 nights for a long weekend for four adults (a trip with the in-laws) and I have to say this place is amazing! The views were breath taking, even when the weather wasn't too good you could sit on the undercover decking sipping wine or having a wood fire and taking the views in with the wildlife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
waterfront4, Manager at Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We find even when the weather takes a turn there is still plenty of activities to keep everyone happy and relaxed. You have certainly enjoyed everything we have to offer and more. We look forward to your return visit. PS: You missed the dolphins putting on an awesome display after...

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

I found this place by accident and so happy we did! So much to do if you love nature, outdoor activities and away from technology. Very friendly, very peaceful and really affordable. We loved our cabin with a loft and the fire to keep us warm. Feeding kangaroos is a hit with kids and we loved the beautiful warm pool,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
Mont Albert, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We just checked in and already are impressed. Not five star, but it's very nicely put together and the price is a big plus. The view from our deck is incredible. Furnishings are clean and everything works the way it should. Fire was lit for us before we got here so the cabin was cozy and warm. Just so happened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Cottage is immactulately clean, nothing is missing. Even wood fire place was setup to light with plenty of woods to heat you on a old winter days. Kangaroos are like domestic animals eating from your hands. Kids loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sladjabg
waterfront4, Manager at Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point, responded to this review

Our wood fires are very popular over the winter. It is our pleasure ensuring guests get the most from their holiday by not having to worry about the little things like wood. We look forward to seeing you again.

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bairnsdale
11.6 km away
Captains Cove
Captains Cove
#1 of 2 in Paynesville
135 reviews
11.1 km away
Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments
22.5 km away
The Moorings at Metung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
McMillans of Metung Resort
31.8 km away
Kalimna Woods Spa & Woodfire Cottages
Kalimna Woods Spa & Woodfire Cot...
#2 of 37 in Lakes Entrance
88 reviews
22.6 km away
5 Knots
5 Knots
#4 of 9 in Metung
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4.5 Star rated fully self contained Lodges nestled in a bush setting on the waterfront of lake Victoria of the Gippsland Lakes. Lodges range in size from one to four bedroom, some with spas, log fires, with beautiful water and/or bush views. Conference and wedding centre that seats up to 100 people. Ideal for weddings and conferences where the guests can stay on site. Indoor Heated Pool, Tennis Court, Outdoor Spa, Private Jetty to moor your boat, Native Wildlife aplenty and you and your friends can hand feed the kangaroos, free to use Pushbikes,Canoes and Kayaks. Escape to Naturally Magic East Gippsland and enjoy the tranquillity of our Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point

Address: 200 Wattle Point Rd | Wattle Point, Bairnsdale, Victoria 3875, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Bairnsdale
Price Range: ₹ 8,803 - ₹ 11,516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Retreat At Wattle Point Bairnsdale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waterfront Retreat at Wattle Point staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dargo lodge had a path from the back door to the water”
 of 5 bubbles motgies, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Storm bird had lovely views and a comfy couch”
 of 5 bubbles danniazedo91, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Most of the lodges have a view to the edge of Lake Victoria - they are all unique and extremely comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles carriearonson, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“cabins opposite the lake, each have beautiful view of the lake and a bush clearing”
 of 5 bubbles 297JillP, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Despatch was great, with water view and privacy”
 of 5 bubbles MelB951, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay