We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,118: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A great location and nice staff but that's the only positive things I can say really. Our room was old and dated, with no air conditioning and a fan which we had to stand in front of a window to try to get some cool air into the room. The breakfasts were Ok but the main meals were terrible with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cam0567
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Cam0567 Thank you for your review of the Best Western Plus, Laucneston. WIth a complete refurbishment underway, I am sure that your next stay with us will indeed be memorable for all the right reasons. With new beds, soft furnishings, art work, high speed internet, IP phones & televisions and free Wi-Fi we hope to deliver a really special...

Sydney
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here on the night of the Breath of Life festival when accommodation was scarce and hotels were taking advantage of that. Booked via Wotif a few weeks prior. Only room available was a Queen with a single bed which I booked even though I was travelling solo. Promised a bath and a LCD tv plus opening windows. Hotel rang...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lxgirl
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Lxgirl Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston My apologies that the staff didn't respond to you straight away. Thank you for taking the time to talk to me over the phone and discuss recent stay with us. As discussed the TV in the room was broken from a previous guest which...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel should not be 4 stars, the staff were great. The room was very dated, the bed/pillows were uncomfortable. No modern air con, just a noisy old floor model or noisy fan. The food in the restaurant was overpriced for what was basically a pub meal, and served cold.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Batrone
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Batrone Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston While we aim to present exceptional service to each individual guest I do apologise that we have not been able to complete during your stay. I am pleased to note that we are in the process of upgrading all the rooms with air-conditioning new...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is worn out it is in need of a lot of TLC the general appearance of the hotel says it all it resembles a communist block building. Friday and Saturday nights can be noisy due to a few pubs that have live bands playing so get a room facing Earl street. The 24 hour room service menu is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chainsawversustree
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear ASDKW Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston While we aim to present exceptional service to each individual guest I do apologise that we have not been able to complete during your stay. I am pleased to note that we are in the process of upgrading all the rooms but as you...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I was in 2 minds whether I should rate this facility 2 or 3 star. So I will say the hotel gets a 4 because it continues to improve. The rooms continue to be well serviced, it looks like there is new/additional staff and they are all wonderful. Unfortunately the Room Service Menu has changed considerably but after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia E
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Sylviaei Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston I pleased that you found the improvements that the staff are making to the Hotel to your liking.My apologies that we did not meet your expectation with room service, I have taken your feedback and will be making changes to menu. I do look...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed here for one night earlier this month. I only stayed here because the regular place I stay in Launceston was full. I am glad I had the chance to stay somewhere different. This hotel is no looker from the outside - a drab, unappealing brick exterior fronting onto what looks like an alleyway. However, that alleyway is right...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scotthumphries
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear scotthumphries Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston I pleased that you found the Hotel good overall value and you enjoyed the Tram I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Best Western Plus Launceston soon. Kind regards Leon wood

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Reception staff were more than welcoming and cleaners were polite. Hotel is a little tired but still comfortable and clean. Paid $150 per night and feel it was worth it's money with cheap car park available. Great location walking distance to mall and around town. All in all we had a great stay. Thanks team

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ilona S
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Ilona-star Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston I pleased that you found the Hotel good overall value I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Best Western Plus Launceston soon. Kind regards Leon wood

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed two nights and could not fault it. Parking is an additional $6 per night but is situated just behind the hotel. We loved the free Wi-Fi in every room and the public areas so we could catch up with friends and book ahead. The situation was just off the main shopping area - Brisbane Street. We ate in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Applegate138
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Applegate138 Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston I pleased that you found the Hotel conveniently located in the CBD and the parking convenient. We have just changed to FreeWiFi so I’m glad you enjoyed this. I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Best Western Plus Launceston...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Easy walk to shops. Good room but NO AC,,,,,,,, room can get stuffy. Fridge, standard BW TYPE PROPERTY. Good stay bathroom standard, staff friendly, I found a jacket under my bed!!! Not much else to say

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OntarioCanuck1
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear OntarioCanuck Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston I pleased that you found the Hotel conveniently located in the CBD and the parking convenient. I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Best Western Plus Launceston soon Kind regards Leon wood

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Good location, we didn't expect a great room, just as we expected, small hotel room, but clean. hotel facility such as lift is bit dated, however we got a parking pretty easy and check in and check out are very easy and pleasant. surprisingly, breakfast is pretty nice! Only downside is there is no Air-condition in the room, there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Exp E
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Exp E Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston I pleased that you found the Hotel good overall value I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Best Western Plus Launceston soon. Kind regards Leon wood

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.1 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#5 of 30 in Launceston
1,168 reviews
0.2 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.5 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Address: 3 Earl St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: ₹ 5,663 - ₹ 14,980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Bogart, Georgia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get there early to secure a parking spot”
 of 5 bubbles 740jodiew, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2 Double beds”
 of 5 bubbles TammyInSydney, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book direct and ask for free parking. They also offer seniors rates which sometimes includes free breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles BibiTasmania, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Shower was in the bath. Is a big step up, over and down to the bathroom floor. Beware if you have mobility issues. ”
 of 5 bubbles melindaland, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A little bit too much movement in the King size bed, but otherwise a very comfortable, well maintained room.”
 of 5 bubbles Sandtill, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5