We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Launceston Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Launceston Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Launceston Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2014

I got this backpacker from the tour pick up list. The environment of the backpacker is very spacious and it has a good location. Supermarket is nearby which is a 5-min walk. The rooms are okay with neat and clean linens. It's good that there is a heater top on the ceiling, though it's centrally controlled. The shower room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherrytky
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Cherrytky, thank you for your review. We are not sure what noise you heard. It could have been a noise from one of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed meeting one of our staff who does a lot of cooking. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 October 2014 via mobile

I was staying in female dorm, room is huge compare with those i stayed at Hobart before. Bed frames are very sturdy, bed sheet is clean and the heather worked very well. Large shower rooms with very hot water. Kitchen is huge and well equipped but the oven was not working. Need to pay extra money for wifi and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FloraMicRicky
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Flora, thanks for your 5 star review. We are glad you enjoyed our clean spacious rooms. We have just reduced the price of WiFi to $1:50 per hour. The oven you mentioned is always working it is just a bit tricky to turn on. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on my own whilst on a road trip around Tassie. Got a room with 2 single beds to myself. Room met my needs, good common room and kitchen area. Secure carparking right out the front door. Bathroom clean and showers okay. Walking distance to CBD area, 24 hours convenience store couple blocks away to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRB651
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Ipswich, thank you for taking the time to review Launceston Backpackers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your Tasmanian trip.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This backpackers is huge, but the communal dining room, kitchen and TV room are spacious enough to accommodate most guests (although I wasn't there when the hostel was full!) These communal areas were well heated, however I found my bedroom quite cold. A panel heater was suspended from the ceiling over the bed (very bizarre) but it was connected to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Kristen B, I will check which room you were in. You may have been in a room with an old panel heater, if so we will replace it if it is not working efficiently. Yes we do have signs about not using your own heaters, we do this to help minimize the fire risk. After 24 years in the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2014

went here in late july on a cold wet day. everyone was friendly and rooms were clean, the amenities are good and the place is huge. one tip is bring your own blankets, you can hire blankets from the reception and the price is ok for them, you will need them in winter though. I'm sure in the summer it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matt19900
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Matt19900 thanks for your review. We are glad you good nights sleep. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We were only here for one night, but I thought the staff was friendly and the place was clean. The only thing I would say is that you have to bring some serious blankets, because the building really retains cold air! Freezing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn L
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Evelyn, thanks for taking the time to review Launceston Backpackers. It is a good idea to grab a few blankets in winter. For 50 cents customers can take as many blankets as they like. All the bedrooms have heaters which come on at 7pm and go off at 6am. Safe travelling.

Hobart
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I'm an Artist who works on Festivals I always book into Launceston Backpackers because of its casual relaxed atmosphere and dependable service. Its a great location 10 min walk to the unbeliveable Cataract Gorge and 10 min walk into town. When I've finished for the day I know I can cook up a feast in the huge kitchen that has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fujirama
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Fujirama thanks for your review, it was nice to see you traveling through this way again.

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had a great time here - the location is very quiet but a quick walk to town (though I found very little to do on a Sunday arvo/evening) so easy parking and minimal traffic. Middle of winter so I had the room to myself and was a bit nervous about how cold I would be - you can rent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your review Sophie M. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay at Launceston Backpackers. We are glad you found your room warm and comfortable. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a twin room, bathroom shared but clean, kitchen - dining is large and also clean. Reception was very helpful and gave us plenty of tips for the oncoming track in Cradle Mountains. We didn't use the living areas, went out instead. Hostel location is very good, about 10 minutes walk from the gorge and 5-10 minutes walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viktoria2011
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Victoria2011 for your review. We are glad you liked the facilities at Launceston Backpackers and thanks for recommending us on the Tripadvisor site.

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as part of an Under Down Under package tour. We found the beds comfy, the bathrooms and kitchen clean and well appointed, and the glorious rabbit-warren of a building charming. Management were cheerful, helpful and accommodating. Thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
derek l, Owner at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew M for your review. Under Down Under have been staying with us for nearly twenty years now. We are glad you liked our comfy beds. We do keep an eye on the mattress quality and we replace the ones that are wearing out. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour around Tasmania.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.1 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
522 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 km away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
340 reviews
1.0 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Launceston Backpackers is a one hundred year old Victorian building. It has 30 rooms, including double ensuite, doubles, singles, triples and dormitory rooms. It has a large commercial kitchen, large TV room and separate dining room. There is a free car park. Launceston Backpackers has a modern fire protection system. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: ₹ 1,202 - ₹ 2,553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Launceston Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Launceston Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Launceston Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“En-suite room”
 of 5 bubbles Steph618, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms are cooler in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffAH, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Make sure they put you in a room you paid for :)”
 of 5 bubbles 652elienv, 29 Jan 2016 | Read review
“For privacey and a peaceful nights sleep, reserve a private room which comes with a queen size bed. Some of the private rooms even have en-suites. These rooms are a bit more expensive, but worth the price. They book up fast, so reseve early.”
 of 5 bubbles nmleo, 24 May 2015 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere for a double.”
 of 5 bubbles 542bretta, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5