We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,747 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,728: English reviews
Burnie, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Good service good clean comfortable rooms good nights sleep plenty of room in shower with great water pressure Great walking distance to town The cctv parking excellent not having to worry about car being vanderlised Good activities and proximity to parks for children We have stayed many times always received excellent service and will continue to stay at Penny Royal... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 74lesliea
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear 74lesliea, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that on every occasion you find the staff to be accommodating and the service to a good standard. It is always our intention that our guests feel welcome and that they keep coming back... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Loved the hotel, room and location. Great job has been done to keep authenticity of building but with improvements such as upgraded bathrooms. Mugs would have given you a rating of 5, as it's a waste of a teabag if you've only got a cup to make it in!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alisha_Ian
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Alisha_Ian, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal. I am happy to hear that you loved your time with us and that the room was comfortable and the location convenient. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful unique product and I am glad that you enjoyed it. Thank you for the feedback in... More 

Ocean Grove
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We were very happy with our stay here. Loved the historic setting. The room we had was spacious, the amenities good. A very comfortable and enormous bed. It is located in a great spot for accessing the gorge, the river and the town, all in walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jenniferwM6332GK
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear jenniferwM6332GK, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the room was comfortable and spacious and that the location of the property to the CBD and main attractions met your needs. We are very lucky to have such a unique product and... More 

.Eaglemont
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Penny Royal and it was close to everything! however it was very noisy the night we stayed. The shower curtain was inefficient and the drain very smelly. I'm sure these are minor things that could be rectified and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 593rhondaf
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear 593rhondaf, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal. I was happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us, I have noted the feedback in relation to the shower curtain and the drain in the bathroom and we will definitely review those items with our team to rectify them where we can. I... More 

Rokeby
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016

stayed at the penny royal 32 years ago for our honeymoon. Enjoyed all of the attractions that where there are this time. Coming back again it was so cool to see that the place had been re vamped again. Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Vicki W, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that we had the opportunity to welcome you back after 32 years and that we didn't disappoint and that the room was comfortable. The renovations and the newly opened Penny Royal Adventures definitely enhance our unique property and I thank you... More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Good location, clean & comfortable.appartment room Good view. Only down fall shower curtain, not good as too short & water flows out. Hope to stay in summer when Penny Royal Restaurant & wine Bar is open on a Thursday night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bronwyne C
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Bronwyne C, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us and found the accommodation to be comfortable and clean. I have noted the feedback in relation to the shower curtain and we will review this with our team. I thank you again for... More 

Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Our flight was delayed but very easy to arrange a late check in. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Easy access to the gorge walk and convienently located near coffee/cafes. Would stay there again on next trip!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amy H
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Amy H, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that there were no problems with your late check-in. We are very lucky to be so centrally located to the main attractions and eateries of Launceston and I am happy to hear... More 

Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016

In house meals value for money. Good menu and ample serving. A little pricy on wine but overall experience great. Room clean and well catered. Would have liked to have had tv available for viewing from the bedroom.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pauleL3572RF
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear pauleL3572RF, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the accommodation was clean and comfortable and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back. Stay Well, Natasha Beck More 

Mangerton
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Comfortable, friendly and close to all amenities. Rooms quirky. We were In the Hayloft! All staff very friendly and welcoming. Would stay there again and recommend to our friends. Restaurant reasonably priced and offered snacks in bar as well as more formal eating in restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yvonnebO5126HS
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear yvonneb05126HS, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the rooms comfortable and staff friendly. We are very lucky to have a unique property and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you... More 

Grove
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Very welcoming and homely feel to the one bed room apartment, with great views over the river. There was a great deal of room and I felt very comfortable. Maybe some shower screens made of glass would be better than the shower curtain, only because I felt sorry for the cleaners having to mop up all that water that came... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peterhY9310UL
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear peterhY9310UL, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that you found the one bedrooms comfortable. We are looking into alternatives to the shower curtains, and I appreciate the feedback on that matter. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with... More 

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.2 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.1 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
783 reviews
0.9 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
670 reviews
1.2 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#5 of 30 in Launceston
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: ₹ 5,608 - ₹ 8,755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room away from Reception and Kings Bridge Bar”
 of 5 bubbles TrevorJ693, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pick the rooms closer to reception I believe they are better.”
 of 5 bubbles catherinebX1TU, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get an upstairs room, no lifts but better view.”
 of 5 bubbles guggetravel, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with a window.”
 of 5 bubbles 64travelbug, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“request bottom floor if you have mobility issues or lots of bags”
 of 5 bubbles SamP2906, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay