We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Orbitz.comUS$ 87*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 202*
US$ 87*
Great Deal
US$ 95*
US$ 95*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,077 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,054: English reviews
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Please dear Management check the room 225 with open eyes. See the dirty phone, see the dusty/dirty bathroom door (the little knobs and decorations) try the bed who is used too long and replace it and check the table who is shaking/moving so hard you can't sit and write. The lights are terrible in color, maybe some "warm-light-bulbs" will do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XyBarbara
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear XyBarbara, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, we appreciate the feedback you have provided and these issues will be addressed immediately with our housekeeping department to ensure that moving forward the room cleanliness is rectified. Our apologies in relation to this matter, they will be addressed, and we appreciate the feedback as it does...

England
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We actually initially enjoyed our stay. The price was good, nice clean room, good location, everything we needed. Have to compliment the cleaning staff. We were in the room when they came to service it - absolutely lovely and did such a great job. The problem was this - on our last night, an alarm went off around 1am. All....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aussie11_10
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear aussie11_10, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal. I sincerely apologize for any disturbances during your time with us. We are currently reviewing the alarm situation, as it appears to be related to Tas Water and they are currently investigating that for us, so on behalf of the hotel and staff, we offer our sincerest...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Simple homey rooms with an old-school/historic architecture (& WINDMILL!). We had a nice stay and a great dessert in the pub. Not much else seems to be in close walking proximity but we stayed on Monday night and Mondays are always a dud for restaurants/culture! Would recommend for a casual night away or business trip!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LorinElizabeth
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear LorinElizabeth, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us and that the room was comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Stay Well, Edith Kinninmont

Fern Tree, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had a really comfortable stay. Everything was clean, the service was great and the location gave us walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go. Perfect for a family looking for great value, activities and fun for the kids, and and all round pleasent stay in Launceston.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C3921TJmichaeld
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear C3921TJmichaeld, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the accommodation was clean and comfortable and the service exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Stay Well, Edith Kinninmont

Inverloch
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Launceston is our old home town so when returning on a visit it is always our choice to stay at The Penny Royal. It is central to our needs and I must admit the parking has improved. I was disappointed in our room this visit, just a little too basic, very short on utensils and no microwave. The bathroom tiny...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bevk294
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear bevk294, Thank you for your recent review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal, I was happy to read that you continue to stay with us. I do apologize that on this visit you were a little disappointed with the room and allocation. Please ensure that on your next visit that you do let us know your preferred room location and...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We paid $122 for a double room, so what you pay for is what you get. We were assigned Room 234 directly above Reception in the original part of the establishment. The room must be recognised as smelly and hot as there were 2 fans in the room and one was operating when we entered. The reason for the musty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MadamJosephine
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Madam Josephine It is disappointing to us that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We commenced late last year with placing air conditioners in the hotel, but this is a mammoth task and will be ongoing in the future. With our location being so central in the city, we unfortunately cannot prevent the noise from the road...

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Love the character and the style of the place, good views, plenty of activities and places to visit in the area, fast check in and check out, plenty of touristic information included with the room key, nice detail.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fernando R
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Fernando Thank you for your review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal. It is very pleasing to hear you love the character and style of the Hotel and our location. We look forward to having you back with us in the future. Stay Well Edith Kinninmont

Somers
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We were in Launceston for the weekend for a wedding and found the penny Royal to be perfect for us. Right next door to the reception and perfect distance from the city. Backs on to cataract gorge too which made for a beautiful walk in the morning. No negative comments here

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 602melindah
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear 602mellndah We are extremely pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Leisure Inn Penny Royal. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you back with us in the future. Stay Well Edith Kinninmont

Buddina, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Our checkin left us feeling as intruders.The room confirmed that ,2 portable fans were in the space and required running 24/7 to maintain airflow.The carpet was frayed.A table and 2 chairs prevented my disabled husband from accessing the oldest queen size bed in Tasmania.I moved them in front of a fixed wall heater.The accessible bathroom had a padded bar behind...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Syrenia
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Syrenia It is very disappointing to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at the Leisure Inn Penny Royal at all. We have commenced placing air conditioning in the Hotel and this will be ongoing into the future. I have taken your comments on board and will be addressing these with the relevant departments. Hopefully in the future...

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

From the outside this accommodation is good looking. However I was disappointed with the inside of the room. In particular the bathroom was small and poorly designed. The location is very good for visits to the Gorge and walks into town. In my opinion the cost of a room is way too much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pantherpete63
Manager170873, Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Pantherepete63 Thank you for taking the time to review Leisure Inn Penny Royal. I am certainly glad that you found the location is ideal. Many guests share the same sentiment with such easy walking to the gorge and city centre. However I am disappointed that we failed to satisfy you overall, & apologise that the while you liked the...

295 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (108)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.3 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
538 reviews
1.3 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,341 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: ₹ 4,073 - ₹ 7,434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor apartment meant we could park outside the room”
theoldone, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't book this hotel if you want to sleep well !”
LisaD19, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“If you are in the "older" age bracket make sure you are located on the ground floor.”
janis1246, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If elderly ask for a ground floor, all the stairs are a killer.”
, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from noise of street and Restaurant beside”
XyBarbara, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 87* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 95
Expedia.comUS$ 95
AMOMAUS$ 202
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates