We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillview House

Save
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good40%
  • Average18%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Hillview House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
21
29
15
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
21
29
15
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastevery morningstay there againlovely old buildingthoroughly enjoyed our stayclose to townstayed here for nightstasmaniacereal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Reading some of the reviews I wonder if I stayed at the same place. We were met on arrival by Jenny, who was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our room was clean, the bed very comfortable. Sure the bathroom is small, but it was clean...More

1  Thank Dallas C
Response from HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview HouseResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Dallas Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. It is always satisfying to hear from guests who have clearly enjoyed their experience with us. We pride ourselves on creating a welcoming and warm atmosphere in a traditional B&B setting. We look forward...More

Reviewed 7 April 2017

I chose this place purely on the photographs and memory of years ago when it used to be one of my favourite buildings in Launceston. Well, traveller beware !!!!! This place is a health hazard and is so run down and uncared for it is...More

2  Thank willow17knight
Reviewed 24 March 2017

From first appearances this looks like a lovely old building. The service was average at best a bit unprofessional. The room was very well presented but there was dust and dirt in lots of places could use a spring clean from top to bottom. My...More

1  Thank Colin T
Response from HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview HouseResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hillview House Colin. I was pleased to hear that you had a great night's rest which is so important when travelling. We recently fitted all rooms with new mattresses and the general feedback...More

Reviewed 18 February 2017

I was somewhat concerned about this booking given the reviews. However for the price and location it was all ok. Was met by a friendly young girl and she wasned o around also at breakfast. I only stayone night. The hall carpet appeared to be...More

1  Thank Karen M
Response from HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview HouseResponded 8 March 2017

Thanks very much for your stay and thank you for your time to write this review. We are trying our best to make Hillview House a better place for people to stay.

Reviewed 11 February 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was an average stay. Not the best B&B experience. Positives Nice size room for the three of us staying in one room. Good location close to city centre and Cataract Gorge (if you are driving) Parking free...More

1  Thank Melissa W
Response from HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview HouseResponded 8 March 2017

Thanks very much for your time to write the review. We will try to rectify the points that you had in this review and hope your next with us is a much better one.

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Details
Price range
US$ 61 - US$ 98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 61 - US$ 98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (3)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hillview House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"We had the lower floor room facing the street. Perhaps if you wanted a quieter room then request a room..."
Read review
"make sure you get the ground floor if you have luggage very steep stairs"
Read review
"Get a ground floor room. Steep steps up to the second level."
Read review
"do not use this property"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing