We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Heads Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Dolphin Heads Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 133: English reviews
Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This place is completely run down and badly in need of maintenance and modernization There is rot on a lot of timber and rust on metalwork everywhere. We actually stayed here 15 years ago on our honeymoon and I swear nothing has been touched since. Terrible. Go somewhere else!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 175phild
Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is a mess , I travel a lot and I have stayed in some disgusting places throughout Thailand etc but this place takes the cake . The railings on the stairs are rotten so very dangerous, you could lean on it and fall through it . We had our Bluetooth speaker stolen from our room . They let...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank James H
DolphinHeadsResort01, Owner at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review

James was a long term rental that was asked to leave on Tuesday. James was given 3 warnings about his behaviour and on one occasion staff felt the need to call police if he didn't quieten down. His Bluetooth speaker was stolen from his patio on the ground floor which he left outside over night. The power was not interrupted...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The accommodation is comfortable. The room my father-in-law stayed in had recently been renovated so it was nicer. The staff are really friendly and helpful but unfortunately whenever there was more than a couple of tables of people the food took forever to come out. Lovely place to stay if you are looking to just relax and get away from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter F
DolphinHeadsResort01, Receptionist at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thank you for your review, we are sorry that the food took a little longer then usual to come out. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing get away. Hope to see you back here soon! Kind regards, Dolphin Heads Resort Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I didn't stay at the resort I do however frequent quite often for the amazing coffee and breakfast whilst the kids swim for free. Service and food is great and the kids love swimming while the adults drink coffee and chat 😂

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kate H
DolphinHeadsResort01, Receptionist at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review

Hi there Kate, Thank you very much for the lovely review! We are glad that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere at our Resort and Restaurant! Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Dolphin Heads Resort Team.

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

12 ladies stayed at Dolphin Heads Resort for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday nights). The Resort should be very proud of their staff - right from Erica at the front counter to the restaurant staff (Mark, Leanne & Heidi) no request was too much and they tried to accommodate our every wish. Marg the lady who serviced the rooms was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette T
DolphinHeadsResort01, Receptionist at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review

Hi There Jeanette, Thank you so much for the lovely review!! We are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful girls weekend! We hope to see you again soon!! Kind regards, Dolphin Heads Resort and Salt Café, Bar and Restaurant.

Reviewed 30 October 2016

Where do I begin ... stayed in room 242 beachfront room which is in need of some repair! Shower screen doesn't close properly so bathroom floor was a constant puddle of water, Shower head leaked. Bed sheets were unclean, makeup and black hair found on the pillow cases and sheets. Advertise foxtel but don't have it. The only upsides on...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Tash M
DolphinHeadsResort, Manager at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry to be advised that room 242 is in need of some repair. This is a newly renovated room and it appears to have developed a problem with the shower door. With regards to the unclean sheets had you advised us immediately we would have inspected and either changed you to another room or changed the sheets....

Reviewed 29 September 2016

I had my wedding at Dolphin Heads Resort; All I can say is that the only good thing about the place is that it has a nice view. My accommodation was poor, my ocean view with a spa had no cutlery or dishes in it like I have had when I stayed at other resorts, did not even have a...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Kristy C
DolphinHeadsResort01, Manager at Dolphin Heads Resort, responded to this review

Hi Kristy, Thank you for your feedback. We obviously have a different view of the events of your wedding and sadly there are too many inadequacies with your review to address. Therefore we apologise that you were unhappy however we feel that we did our utmost best to meet your demands and the majority of your guests had a fantastic...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Attended a family wedding at nearby Eimio Surf club & needed local accommodation for 3 nights. Lovely position & clean & spacious units. Place is a little dated but staff were attentive & obliging & rates were reasonable. Only downside was there was nothing else around that immediate vicinity, so you need a rental car to do any shopping or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank priesty1
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2016

On a recent business trip, had a mid week stay for one night, the ocean view ground floor was an absolute delight. With pristine lawns, palm trees and little ducks wandering around the grounds and the sound of gentle wave rolling in, heavenly with a nice glass of wine. We had dinner in the restaurant and sat out side overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank havagoodtime
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights as a short get away. It was lovely and peaceful. The room was recently renovated, clean and bright and had amazing ocean veiws. We ate dinner at the restaurant where the food was of a very high quality. Although it was cold the pool was well maintained and good to sit around and relax. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma H

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
2.6 km away
The Shores Holiday Apartments
9.5 km away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
13.1 km away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
69 reviews
11.9 km away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#12 of 34 in Mackay
179 reviews
2.0 km away
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Dolphin Heads Resort

Address: 6 Beach Road | Dolphin Heads, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Price Range: ₹ 6,983 - ₹ 12,398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dolphin Heads Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Heads Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Heads Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ocean view rooms are awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles 864jeanettet, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beach views are great but beware the easterly wind straight off the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles priesty1, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“although there is no trolley in foyer ask and they will give you one.”
 of 5 bubbles havagoodtime, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great views from the ocean view rooms; large pool; heart shaped spa; friendly staff; friendly ducks! ; easy access to the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Lady_Dorothy, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“As we are a family of 6 they have rooms that join up.”
 of 5 bubbles sherriehession, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay