We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Plaza Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Plaza Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 229: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean Plaza Resort
 Click to rate
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom spacious, well appointed apartment with laundry facilities and balcony. Stayed in Room 71, level 14. It was an end room on the floor. Fabulous views of the beach and of the hills. Lots of mirrored walls in this apartment. I guess to give the illusion of being bigger - altho it was spacious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTrajkovic
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Really disappointing room, the hotel is in desperate need of a refurb. We had a 3 night stay and the state of the unit was appalling, the beds were the most uncomfortable that we have ever encountered. We were always waiting forever for the lifts & one was out of service our entire stay. The corridors need re-painting & re-carpeting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dusty1954
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi Dusty1954 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort. We are sorry in this instance we didn't fully meet your expectations, it is correct that during your stay 1 of the lifts was out of service, that is because we are replacing all 3 lifts with new ones. You will...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Ocean Plaza for School holidays April 2017. Room 84 Level 17 (Style A) was updated & had ocean views north to Kirra, Tugan, Burleigh & Surfers. The main bed room had ocean views while the kids room had views of the Tweed river. The pool and BBQ area were great. Plenty of parking on B2 and great office...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi Michael k Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us including the Ocean views and the convenient location being so close to the Beach and The Strand shopping centre. Our staff are always pleased to hear that they were able to assist you...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful, big apartment with stunning views in a fantastic location. Our family of four had a wonderful mini break in the two bed/two bath apartment. We couldn't have asked for more - the apartment had everything we could want including a stunning view; plus a pool, gym, tennis courts and golf driving range. The complex is above a shopping centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N H
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi N H, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and were able to share your good experience for other's looking for a good place to stay in Coolangatta. Until next time, travel safely we look forward to welcoming you again in the...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The views from this block are very good as are the views from a number of other equally priced blocks along the waterfront. My strongest advice would be to find an apartment in another block. The Management at Ocean Plaza are rude, indeed they are hostile. I listened in near disbelief as the female manager loudly abused a holiday resident...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blip44
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Dear Blip44 Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Ocean plaza Resort, we are sorry we never satisfied your expectations on this occasion. We hope we can do better next time you visit. In our opinion your recollection of an event at reception is an exaggeration and defamatory of our staff, to the best of our knowledge...

Tenterfield, New South Wales
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location and views are just perfect. We intended spending majority of our time on the balcony soaking in the view and sunshine. Unfortunately the outdoor furniture was mismatched very old tubular plastic chairs - dirty and uncomfortable. We also choose the resort because it had BBQ facilities. These facilities were great, clean and well maintained. The unit itself was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank timcarmelr
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi timcarmelr, Thank you for your review of your recent stay, we are sorry that in this instance we didn't meet your expectations on all levels. We do work hard to present the apartments in the best condition we can, all our apartments are individually owned and just a few owners are not as keen to refurbish their apartments as...

Brisbane
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For price, location and size of the units you can't go past Ocean Plaza Resort. It is located directly opposite Coolangatta Beach with every unit having ocean views. The complex has direct access to the Strand shopping centre (via level1 ) which has a huge Woolworths and Aldi supermarket, bottle shop, butcher, fruits shop and lots of dress shops and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GulliverBrisbane
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi GulliverBrisbane, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and were able to share your good experience for other's looking for a good place to stay in Coolangatta. Until next time, travel safely we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The only redeeming feature is the location. The management are obnoxious, aggressive, abusive, and compulsive liars. The lifts don't work and this situation was blamed on our children even after it was confirmed they had been out of order for several months. Do not stay here. People who behave like these managers should be avoided for your own personal well-being.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve B
Mandy F, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Steve, we expected a review like this from Mt Manganui Surf club members. Even your own team leader/organizer was in tears because of the disgraceful behaviour of her athletes and parents. You are correct, we have one lift that has been out of order for 3 months while a new lift is installed. Our other...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Ocean Plaza Hotel for 14 days. The rooms had dirty finger marks all over the doors. The lifts broke down continuously, in fact one of our party got stuck in the lift for 45 mins. Guests were forced to use the fire escape stairs. The Hotel Management staff were rude and unhelpful totally Unapologetic about the situation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deb484
Mandy F, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are sorry one of your group was stuck in the lift for a short period of time however being the rude and unhelpful managers we are we managed to get the lift door open enough to get bottled water to the guest stuck inside. On their release...

perth
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The apartment was spacious, a little outdated but by no means run down. The view was incredible, the location was great and the staff are very friendly. We were here for 3 nights and i would definitely stay here again,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AshleighBean
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this review

Hi AshleighBean, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ocean Plaza Resort, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and were able to share your good experience for other's looking for a good place to stay in Coolangatta. Until next time, travel safely we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.0 km away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
927 reviews
1.2 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
392 reviews
0.5 km away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
0.3 km away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
3,353 reviews
0.1 km away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#7 of 12 in Coolangatta
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located on the beach in the heart of Coolangatta with every apartment boasting ocean views. The facilities include heated pool and spa, gym, two full size tennis courts, games room, BBQ area that over looks the ocean and is attached to the Showcase Mall. We offer spacious self contained units for your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Resort

Address: 80 Marine Parade, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Price Range: ₹ 7,341 - ₹ 13,322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ocean Plaza Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Coolangatta
Ocean Plaza Resort Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Australia
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Coolangatta
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ocean Plaza Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Plaza Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better view are higher. Style A, B & C have north views while Style D, E & F are south views.”
U7195CFmichaelk, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Units above level 5 have best views. Ask for a renovated unit. Beware of credit card surcharge.”
timcarmelr, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“higher better”
ctr_9, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher rooms mean less noise heard from Griffith Street revellers”
rahrah1, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a sea view- it will be worth it”
KKAdventures, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5