We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Port Macquarie

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Port Macquarie
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

871 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Port Macquarie
See the most recent reviews
Showing 857: English reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

The location was amazing. Walking distance to Port Central. Staff were always friendly. The money on a hotel room I don't think was worth it though. Was nice having my bed made every day and clean towels.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Binna82
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and glad you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. You have stayed over the Junior Touch tournament when supply is very tight. We do offer some good off peak and minimum length of stay rates at other times if you have the opportunity to plan in advance. Thanks again for your...

Tea Gardens, Australia
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Let's just say, I have stayed with Rydges from Kalgoorlie WA , to Sails resort Port Macquarie over 60 times! , we have stayed at The Hilton on numerous occasions, I have never been treated with such poor Service, I hold the priority guest rewards black card which is the highest level in PGR, when we arrived in restaurant we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mechanic01
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback into your recent stay and I apologize that we haven't met your expectations on this occasion and I will follow up with my team and come back to you direct to discuss. My apologies that our service delivery wasn't up to expectations on this stay.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Arrived for a one night stay on a wet Sunday which wasn't a great start. Free parking outside hotel was a bonus and the room was ready for us early. Lovely room, well appointed. Walking distance of everything, beach on your doorstep and plenty eateries surrounding the hotel. Bar in hotel was great, entertainment made for a busy night. Swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neepzy
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback in regard to your recent stay and I am glad that you have enjoyed our facilities. The hotel is very central in Port Macquarie with Port Central, Restaurants, Town Beach and activities at the wharf all easy walks from the hotel. Thanks again for choosing the Rydges Port Macquarie and I trust that we will have...

Lake Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

What has happened to this once iconic venue? We're has the evening entertainment gone, what has happened to the service and where is my meal? This was a place that I recommended that everyone should go to go to when visiting Port Macquarie but after my recent experience I wont bother going back again myself. When ordering my meal at...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter J
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us last night. We are in the process of making some changes to our menu and service order in the kitchen all of which was launched last night. We did experience some unexpected delays in meal delivery which we hope will be ironed out...

Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on business, the location is great lovely walks around the bay and the beaches either way when you walk out of hotel plus within walk of central port Macquarie. My room was large, comfy bed but quite plain and unfortunately I was on the cheap side with a view of the bottle shop. The room could have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia W
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks you for your review of your recent stay and I am glad that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay. The views over the Hastings river and break wall are lovely but as you have noted we have both a sea and town view aspects from our rooms. We do sell the Sea view rooms with a upgrade...

Nelson Bay, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2017

This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of plenty of cafes and restaurants, plus a lovely view of the river. Our room was large and very clean, although the whole place was just a tiny bit tired. I love the fact that the bathroom actually had space to put our wash bags, which is so often not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sue O
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for the review of your recent stay and I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities. The hotel is very convenient located and central to the CBD and lots of options within a block walk. Thanks again for the patronage.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We were not advised dining room was closed on Sundays so we had to eat in the bar/grill where you have to go to the bar to order our first attempt both entrees and mains were unavailable finally settled on flathead fillets and chips very disappointing but even more disappointing was the service, staff who obviously haven't been trained properly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lampsac
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay and I was concerned to read your comment in regard to the Zebu Bar dining experience. Firstly my apologies that the meal and service wasn't up to our normal friendly and efficient standards. I will follow up with our F & B team in regard to the feedback so we...

Reviewed 31 January 2017

Great location to get away from the city life. Fantastic area to spend the Australia day long weekend. Treasure hunting for the painted Koalas was a great way to keep the kids entertained. Having the bar and restaurant in the hotel was great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew C
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and the hotel on Australia Day is right in the heart of all the action with all the Australia Day activities out the front of the Hotel with lots to see and do. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay and the Koala trail is great and we have Ziggy the Koala proudly in...

Moss Vale
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Lovely place to stay and fairly reasonably priced for the location, the service provided and also considering that it was peak holiday season. We had a serene view over the river and watched people having a great time and the seaplane land and take off. The German receptionist (sorry, I’ve forgotten your name!) was customer service personified. She was funny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley S
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thanks again for the feedback on your recent stay and I am glad that you have enjoyed our facilities. The outlook over the Hastings river is very special and you can see a lot of the attractions that are based in and arounmd the water from the rooms which is great. I will pass on your feedback to Suzanne as...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

When we entered our room it had a damp rag smell mixed with banana. We rang reception to ask if we could swap rooms and we were told they were fully booked. We were told to open our windows. Guess what? The windows don't open so we don't jump out! Later we asked a hospitality staff member to come into...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vanillabeanz
JustinBoydell, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and I was concerned to read your comment about the smell from your room. I will follow up with maintenance to check the drain in your room as it is rare to have a damp smell in the rooms as they are very airy and we get great breezes...

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
808 reviews
0.7 km away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
296 reviews
1.1 km away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,222 reviews
0.4 km away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
1.1 km away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Price Range: ₹ 8,647 - ₹ 14,608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Port Macquarie staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Port Macquarie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book a standard room. The higher levels of hotel would be nicer view, but cannot comment on standard of rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles eagle1232017, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Worth being a Priority Guest member”
 of 5 bubbles gamain, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room did not face the water but was still lovely and very spacious and also quiet which suited us.”
 of 5 bubbles pkourt, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a balcony have a view over the river. All the rooms have a view over the town”
 of 5 bubbles 316ruthb, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River views”
 of 5 bubbles lampsac, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5