Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill

Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill

485 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320 Australia
Traveller (366)
Room & Suite (37)
Amazing food from the restaurant
Dining (20)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#2 of 6 apartments in Pokolbin
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is a picturesque retreat set on 25 acres of tranquility in the heart of the Hunter Valley Wine Country. With many cellar doors and attractions such as Hunter Valley Gardens within easy strolling distance, Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the unbeatable location to base yourself.Marvel at the truly stunning views over local vineyards and Brokenback Ridge – you might even enjoy a visit from the local native fauna and birdlife. This picturesque backdrop is the perfect setting for a relaxing and peaceful stay in the Hunter Valley. Self-contained Studio, One and Two Bedroom Villas. Take some time-out in our air-conditioned studio, one or two bedroom apartments sprawled across the landscaped gardens of the property. All apartments feature private patios looking out to the 25 acres of peaceful hotel grounds and vineyards. To enhance your stay at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, our Superior Rooms have been upgraded with new beds, LCD TVs, WiFi access, modern kitchen and bathroom fittings and soft furnishings. The perfect way to finish a great day of wine tasting and sightseeing is to sit back on your veranda and with a cheese platter and glass of wine or sink down and relax in your in-room spa tub. Take a stroll to the local restaurants or cook a romantic meal (full kitchen facilities available in one and two bedroom apartments). Guests are also welcome to relax by the hotel’s outdoor heated swimming pool, play a game of tennis, or have a BBQ in our undercover BBQ area surrounded by lush gardens. Guests can awake to a delicious breakfast or relax over a superbly prepared meal served at the onsite cafe & restaurant (under new management). Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the ideal location for a romantic break or a trip with friends and family.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Spa
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Telephone
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

485 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320 Australia
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,007 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is lauded for its central location among wineries and tranquil ambiance. Many guests appreciate the clean and comfortable rooms, although there are occasional remarks about the need for updated decor and improved room service. While the amenities like pools and BBQ areas are well-received for their privacy and space, some suggest they could benefit from modernization. The staff generally earns praise for their helpfulness, yet some guests have reported less-than-professional interactions. Opinions on value and cleanliness are mostly positive, with minor calls for updates.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Scenic
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,007Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 662
  • 796
  • 319
  • 129
  • 101
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mario H wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney NSW
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I booked to stay at Leisure Inn for a few nights, overall the stay way excellent, the carpets and the sofas did have stains which made the room look dirty but the ambience made it feel comfortable and clean.
The rooms have a small 2 stove electric kitchenette with a microwave and a fridge but no oven facilities.
The resort has a pool which we used during and had a great time, there is also a tennis court which we didn't use because the in room information book mentioned that we had to pay for the use of equipment, but because of the hot weather we just wanted to spend time in the pool.
Resort is located very close to the Hunter Valley Gardens and a very short drive there and back.
This is our second time staying here and will definitely continue to stay here in the future.

Thank you Leisure Inn for the stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from StayWell_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Thank you for once again choosing Leisure Inn Pokolbin Resort as your destination in the Hunter Valley. We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Survey54 wrote a review Feb 2021
Sydney, Australia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After the initial shock, the twenty-something behind the counter finally got over the fact that no, I don't have a mobile phone anymore but yes I can check in to the Service NSW COVID App as my wife's companion even though I am over (50 years over) sixteen years of age. The remainder of our stay was very pleasant. Plenty of parking just outside the room. Each "complex" consists of a one bed apartment and a Studio unit with a connecting door. Even though the Studio was occupied during our stay, we didn't hear much noise from it. Our one bedroom apartment was neat and clean, with the AC and fan on as we walked in (both worked well during our three night stay, and not noisy). Good size kitchen with a three-quarter fridge that also worked well. The shower is over the spa bath so the vertically challenged may like to bring a little step to assist. We brought our own toiletries so it didn't bother us that the supplied 'pump pack' ones were temperamental. Being on Pokolbin Hill, the venue is conveniently located within walking distance on cement pathways to a lot of attractions and there are electric bikes for hire. Our room was No 7 - the absolute closest to the roundabouts but we heard no traffic noise once the windows were closed. The free Wifi was adequate for our purposes. We enjoyed our stay at leisure in and would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sharon Stanley, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Dear Survey54, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at our property. I apologise regarding the manner in which your check-in was handled. There was clearly a miscommunication and the team has been made aware of your experience. We thank you for your support and are pleased to hear the remainder of your stay was pleasant. We hope to host you again soon! Staywell, Sharon Lavers-Stanley General Manager Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Michelle S wrote a review May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The mattresses are springy and need replacing. I liked the separation of the cottages, The curtains don't close properly and had mould growing on them. The Two Fat Blokes bought the service quality down by not providing what was on their website as a mid week special as when you call them they said that the mid week special had your breakfast and afternoon tea dropped to your room but that is not what is stated in the website it states the food will be prepared and eaten in the Two Fat Blokes kitchen onsite.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Responded 3 Jun 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback and review on your recent stay. We have taken your feedback seriously and have acted on these matters in our rooms where this has occurred. Feedback such as yours has allowed us to make further improvements and we thank you for this. We look forward to welcoming you again when next you choose to travel Regards Sharon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kgrining wrote a review Jan 2020
Newcastle, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this through rooms xxl , I paid for a 2 bedroom villa and was given a studio , not even a 1 bedroom . The studio had a bad smell , terrible stains on the carpet , wasn't maintained and felt grotty . It's been nearly 2 weeks and haven't got a refund from either booking agent or hotel , funny how their quick to take YOUR money , but when they stuff up , you have to waste time pursuing them . There are plenty of other lovely places to stay in Pokolbin , I definately wouldn't stay here again .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from StayWell_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. As per our previous correspondence the hotel allocated the room type as per the booking received from the wholesale agent. The error occurred between your booking agent roomsxxl and the wholesale agent. We have reached out to both parties numerous time on your behalf, to date the hotel has received no payment for your booking and any compensation must be sort from the agent who processed your payment. We will continue to assist you in reaching out to the agent. I am sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations and will address the points raised with out housekeeping and maintenance teams. Once again please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roxxy G wrote a review Sept 2020
Sydney, Australia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I and my partner stayed in Pokolbin for 3 days and were pleasantly surprised by this property. Some of the highlights for us was the cleanliness (especially important during COVID times), the well-maintained property, and the nearby wildlife that visited us such as the Kangaroos, and ducks.

We really enjoyed the cafe as well, great breakfasts and nice cocktails, and pleasant staff.

I guess I would had given 5 stars if the wifi was better (low limit) and also the power went out one evening and when we called the front desk the next day the lady at reception told us to check the fuses. We did not do so, and it was fixed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PeteCandlin wrote a review Mar 2020
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First impressions were that this place would not measure up BUT how wrong can you be,, friendly efficient staff. Super comfy beds and a great pool plus lovely gardens with lovely views. Ok now to the food OMG the meals were quite superb and great value.
If I had to be picky the 2 apartment villas have adjoining doors which permits sound transfer.
However the hotel is let down by the poor bar facilities and limited drying options.
Nevertheless it’s location in the Hunter valley is great and two wineries can be walked to in a matter of minutes.
Got to be worth a trip.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AvtheBav wrote a review Jan 2021
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely and welcoming on arrival.....despite the covid precautions. Explained well. Lights were on in the unit which made it feet very warm and cosy. Quite and the relaxing. Everything was very fresh in the room.....and even some visits from the local wildlife included in our stay. Thanks once again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sharon Stanley, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Responded 12 Jan 2021
Dear AvtheBav, Thank you for taking the time to review Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill. What a pleasure it was to read your comments! The service you experienced is exactly what we aim to deliver, along with good value & a quality comfortable product. It is times like these that myself & my team can truly feel like we succeeded in achieving our goals of satisfying our guests expectations which as a Hotel Manager is the highest reward! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill. Stay Well, Sharon Lavers-Stanley General Manager Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel K wrote a review Oct 2023
Goulburn, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location but unfortunately that’s where the positivity stopped for us.
On check-in we were given no information about the amenities or directions. I asked where they served breakfast and what time and was told there is a cafe and to google it!
It wasn’t communicated with us that we wouldn’t receive room service every day. Three days into a four day trip when we contacted them to either request our room get made up or some fresh towels we were told they don’t do room service every day and because it was after 5pm if we wanted fresh towels it would be a $50 charge. It you aren’t going to make up the rooms every day at least tell your guests and provide a couple of spare towels.
This could be a really beautiful place but the grounds and gardens aren’t very well maintained. On arrival there was rubbish in the gardens outside our room, which remained there for the 4 days.
The rooms are tidy but dated.
Went to the cafe for breakfast one morning and were disappointed to find the chef would not allow any simple changes to items on the menu. Asked for a side with my eggs, refused to do it, didn’t expect it for free was happy to pay for extra sides but they refused. Another diner asked for a change and they asked us to give the chef a break because he was tired, very unprofessional service. Couldn’t complain about the food but the service was disappointing.
Overall this stay was not what we were expecting, convenient location but will look at other options next time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ray Manulat, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Responded 23 Oct 2023
Hi Kel I am sorry to hear about your experience, we loved having you stay with us. Our rooms are sold as unserviced so that we can keep our prices as competitive as possible however we can organise a daily service anytime. I am sorry this wasn't communicated to you effectively and I will speak to my team. we'll do better next time. I will also pass your cafe experience to the operators and let them know about your experience with them. Let me know if there is anything I can do for you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peace32021 wrote a review Jan 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first time to the Hunter, was pleasantly surprised with the location and accommodation. Very busy at front office though understandable with Covid restrictions in place. Overall very good but had to find out about things to do and places to eat at, from other people in the area rather than the reception staff. The cafe within the grounds had very helpful staff and reasonable priced meals, in particular the young male wait staff was polite and informative. Thank you Leisure Inn.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sharon Stanley, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Responded 12 Jan 2021
Dear peace32021, I am delighted to learn that you had a thoroughly enjoyable experience and it gives me great pleasure to read your kind words on our facilities and perfect service. At Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill we take pride in serving our guests and continually strive towards service excellence. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property on your future visits to the region. Staywell, Sharon Lavers-Stanley General Manager Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OnHolidays247 wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room had an unpleasant odour, and we could here our neighbours through the connecting door, that was enough to not want to return.
I wouldn’t recommend staying here. If money was spent renovating the rooms and surrounding grounds it could be great, but it falls way short.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Kalimna72
Sydney, Australia14 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi No oven but well appointed kitchen. Good size fridge, wine glasses, corkscrew, plates, glassware. Cooking utensils limited.
samfred1013 asked a question Feb 2017
Newcastle, Australia20 contributions1 helpful vote
How close are you to the Verandah Restuarant
Answer from Lynda G
Sydney, Australia55 contributions21 helpful votes
Hi, the Verandah Restaurant is 2.6kms from The Leisure Inn
Answer from RuthyMackay
Sydney, Australia17 contributions35 helpful votes
Hi there Steve The Hunter Valley has wineries everywhere and double the price on the weekend anywhere you stay. Leisure Inn is very central and walking distance to quite a few places. You should be paying around $A120 per night Sunday-Thursday. Google best prices at Leisure Inn or email the Inn and ask them for their best mid week price. The one bed units are perfect. Happy travelling :)
carolineL833OJ wrote a tip May 2024
Mororo, Australia46 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check if cabin have now working sewage."
Read full review
Martin T wrote a tip Sept 2023
Adelaide, Australia8 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Central to the region eg -Great lunch at Ben Ean winery about 10 minutes away in Baume restaurant"
Read full review
Jade0077 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Sydney, Australia584 contributions70 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check the sliding glass door locks, and the fly screen door locks."
Read full review
Chris O wrote a tip Apr 2023
Sydney, Australia192 contributions24 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere"
Read full review
Otto171 wrote a tip Apr 2023
Brisbane, Australia21 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Would be difficult for those with access issues and light sleepers"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pokolbin area.
PRICE RANGE
₹6,853 - ₹10,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
leisure inn pokolbin hill hotel pokolbin, pokolbin hill chateau
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleCessnockPokolbin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LEISURE INN POKOLBIN HILL (Greater Newcastle, Australia) - Apartment Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Which popular attractions are close to Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill?
Nearby attractions include Hunter Valley Gardens (0.8 km), Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food (0.4 km), and Hunter Valley Aqua Golf and Putt Putt (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, barbeque facilities, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blaxland Inn, Oishii Japanese and Thai Restaurant, and The Cellar Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Pokolbin.
Are there any historical sites close to Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Poppet Head Park (13.3 km).
All Pokolbin HotelsPokolbin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PokolbinHotels near Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire