Villa Provence

Villa Provence

132 Gillards Rd, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320 Australia
beautiful driveway
Traveller (113)
nice bedroom n cute chicken!
Room & Suite (44)
outdoor pool
Pool & Beach (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#5 of 5 guest houses in Pokolbin
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Overlooking 20 acres of vineyards, Villa Provence boasts classic Provincial-style villas. Situated within 3.9 km of Hunter Valley Gardens, features a number of facilities including a seasonal outdoor swimming pool, BBQ facilities and 4 themed gardens. The 10 air-conditioned, self-contained villas includes a seating area, spacious lounge area with French doors opening onto the terrace, a TV and kitchenette. All guests can enjoy complimentary coffee, gourmet tea and spring water bottle per stay. Continental breakfast includes fresh fruit, bread, cereal, yogurt, milk and fruit juice. The property is 5.9 km from Hope Estate Winery. Brokenwood Wines is 3.6 km from the guest house, while Tyrrell's Wines is 5.9 km from the property. The nearest airport is Newcastle Airport, 74.6 km from Villa Provence.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Breakfast available
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
203Reviews6Q+A72Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 88
  • 42
  • 14
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
WaggaWagga wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had driven from Wagga Wagga, took us nearly 6hrs. When we arrived it was late at night, around 9.45pm & so the entrance to the property against the darkness was quite romantic with it’s sweeping driveway lit up by candles (ok solar candles, but still effective) There was no reception area & no one to meet us, we were quite confused as to who & where we were meant to go. Phoned the property owner & she came & met us & took us to our rooms. Rooms are clean & comfortable & quite quaint but do need some updating. Bed was comfortable. If you don’t mind the Aussie outdoor beings wanting to share your comfortable room then they are welcome! But if you have phobias towards spiders then I would be bringing along a couple of cans of Mortein. We paid $550 per night, we were there for 2 nights. At this price we expected our rooms to of been cleaned & our beds to of been made. Not once was this done. We also didn’t get clean towels. Not once. Very disappointing for what we paid. I’m afraid we won’t stay here again. By the way, Elton John was fantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MRVAust wrote a review Apr 2021
Caringbah, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a lovely 2night stay at Villa Provence ... rooms are well appointed and grounds are pleasant. Just needs a little tidy up - pull out the weedy gardenia hedge by the pool so the view of vineyards can be enjoyed, gurney much of the paving and replace every fly screen door’s mesh and the place will be like new. Small improvements will remove the little annoyances. Overall was a great stay - regardless I’d highly recommend especially if going to a Hope Estate event.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lisa g wrote a review Nov 2022
Liverpool, Australia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We discovered this place because price was great value for the area close to our restaurant for dinner. Amanda's on the edge worth checking out. This little apartment is full of world charm ,all the little extras biscuits on arrival, ice in the freezer,fire place,candle and the list goes on .bed so comfortable shower lovely sitting room comfortable. My favourite is the balcony with a coffee and a gorgeous view. Love this place so clean and felt so welcome .will definitely tell my friends and family will stay again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Yes parking,free wifi great value
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dee M wrote a review Oct 2020
Sydney, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dated room and over priced. Decor is strange & cheap.TV is small, bed and pillows uncomfortable, walls are thin, seemed as if cleaner had no check list, some lights didn’t work, remote batteries didn’t work, not cleaned well. No staff at night to check on noise levels so pool parties were entertaining.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alwaystravellin33 wrote a review Sept 2020
Singapore, Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If you ever stayed at a Holiday Inn, this is the equivalent. Actually a little worse. It looks great and very Italian looking in the photos but the rooms are all very bland, the bathroom a definite yikes and the general "feel" is motel / holiday inn.

Not to be compared to Peppers or Chateau Elan ... this is a cheap 3.5 star accommodation ... nice people, good location, but the rooms are VERY basic.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mandy wrote a review Apr 2022
Gatton, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place to stay. Close for exploring the area and also far enough for peace and quiet. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfy. Nice to just relax and sit outside the room. The bed is comfy and there is blankets for the cooler nights.

Elizabeth is very welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We prefer lower level rooms. As I am an early morning runner being in the upper rooms I fear...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BookMyNextStay wrote a review Mar 2012
Camden, NSW
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We easily found Villa Provence with the instructions from the web site. It's a pretty drive in & really handy to all that Pokolbin & The Hunter Valley have to offer. I don't understand the negative feedback I've read & think that maybe people need to be realistic about what they get compared to what they pay out. If you what 4-5 star accomm/service then pay for it accordingly.

Very easy check-in, not personalised but that's ok with us. A welcoming letter was with msg left @ reception on which room we were in & how to get in. A contact number was left for us if we needed anything so we were not left without any way of contact. Some cobwebs, but having lived in bush areas I know that no sooner do you wipe them away & they're back again.

Breakfast provisions were plentiful & given that while staying in the Hunter you're likely to eat @ a number of wonderful restaurants & eatery's I'd suggest you wouldn't want anymore than provided.

Room was cleaned & tea/coffee etc topped up during the day & the light bulb that blew on one morning was fixed during the room servicing without us even bringing it to their attention.

We stayed for 2 nights mid week & this was a pre-paid CUDO pkg that we were not disappointed in. I'd highly recommend it to others as it was great value for money & made for a great couple of nights away to recharge the batteries from work & the kids. The bed was comfy & we slept well.

Thanks to Villa Provence for a lovely stay & we'll be sure to return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We stayed in upstairs room & found the afternoon sun through the doors a wonderful warmup on...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eve16 wrote a review Jan 2011
Hong Kong, China
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 2 rooms for 1 night stay after reviewing the website, and price seemed reasonable for Hunter Valley standards.

On entering, one of the rooms had a pungent smell (combination of toilet smell and air freshener to cover up the bad smell). The bedlinen had suspicious stains. We eventually got a room change.

Rooms were fairly large with separate lounge and small balcony with pleasant view. High ceilings, basic furniture, and carpet a bit worn but all seemed acceptable for the price.

However, when we returned in the evening, we were greeted by various insects. The reception area was filled with frogs and mosquitos and spiders. In our room, spiders were found in every corner of the ceiling and mosquitos were flying around. We managed to kill a dozen long-legged spiders before having the courage to fall asleep. More spiders returned the next morning.

Our friend's room also had spiders and heard frogs croaking in the room all night long.

I have never wanted to leave a hotel so frantically. Lucky it was only 1 night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rkkmc wrote a review Dec 2014
Woronora, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed there for 2 nights. When we arrived we asked for a downstairs room and was told that the place was fully booked out. As we were the second ones to book in for the day and there was no one else there I could not see why this was a problem, and during our stay other people booked in that were not happy with upstairs and was moved to downstairs, guess it depends on who is on if anyone is on reception at the time you book in. The girl we had was more concerned to txt on her mobile than talk to us.It was extremely hot and there is no shade in the upstairs, so we could not even sit outside to enjoy the scenery, we went to the pool area to cool down but the pool pump was not working and there is no mattresses on the wooden chairs so really nowhere comfortable to sit. The rooms themselves where OK but there is no-one on reception only a sign most of the time to tell you which room you are in. There was little toilet paper in our room and there was no one around to have it replaced so we had to go and buy some!!. We had a power blackout on the 2nd day which was not the hotels fault, so not only could we not sit outside we had no aircon either. Their were weeds everywhere around the pool and the grounds definately need a tidy up.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have table for you to sit and eat at with plenty of shade. Upstairs rooms get...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joanne B, Manager at Villa Provence
Responded 14 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. At time of booking many guests request an upstairs or downstairs room. If you arrive without letting us know in advance that you have a preference we still try our best to accommodate your request but sometimes this is not possible. I am sorry that you found our use of txt messaging annoying - we txt guests each morning confirming certain aspects of their stay. the upstairs balconies all face the south (looking at our gorgeous vineyard and mountain view and are well shaded by the building. The pool has shade umbrellas and timber pool furniture to relax in. Our reception is not manned at all times as we also clean and service the rooms. We are always on site - and live only metres away from reception so can assist anytime day or night that you require assistance. There was spare toilet paper in your bathroom cupboard as well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jurassicark wrote a review Dec 2013
Sydney, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 2 nights on a voucher deal. The voucher price looked like a bargain but after staying there we felt it was not so good a bargain. This place has great potential but needs a LOT of work to bring it back to its best. Gardens were a mess, pool needed cleaning, BBQ was filthy and it was generally depressing. If there was any one in charge we certainly did not see them. A note was left at reception with our key on checkin and that was our only contact with management. The indoor accommodation was fine, quite large, everything was clean and worked, but a bit spartan. Could not recommend it, deal or no deal. Will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from JO B
Pokolbin, Australia2 contributions
Glad you enjoyed your stay! The soaps are Appelles - an Australian company. The one you liked was their rosemary leaf body bar. All of their products are fabulous and can be purchased on their website. Jo, manager
Answer from chiyo2348
Sydney, Australia65 contributions18 helpful votes
In the Hunter you really need a car to get around, you can't just walk out of Villa Provence and expect there to be heaps of shops and restaurants right outside the door. If you do have your own car, Villa Provence is less than 5 mins away from the Roche Estate/Tempus Two complex and Hunter Valley Gardens. Just depends on what wineries you want to visit really, whether you want to big commercial giants or the small family boutiques. My stay a few weeks ago over the long weekend was fantastic, no noises at all despite being full house with some young kids around. Only thing that woke me was the adorable friendly sheep in the paddock next door in the morning!
Answer from Garth M
LISAROW45 contributions17 helpful votes
No public transport passes the door. It's about a 1,5km to the main tar road via dirt road. If you are in daylight there would be buses on main road but at night nothing. Only option would be a cab which would come at a price,
lisa g wrote a tip Nov 2022
Liverpool, Australia471 contributions97 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Yes parking,free wifi great value"
Read full review
Mandy wrote a tip Apr 2022
Gatton, Australia168 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We prefer lower level rooms. As I am an early morning runner being in the upper rooms I fear waking people. Take a small knife for cutting fruit."
Read full review
jo b wrote a tip Apr 2017
Newcastle, Australia4 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I love Chardonnay - downstairs by the pool in summer or one of the upstairs rooms in the colder months"
Read full review
Julee H wrote a tip Mar 2017
Brisbane, Australia115 contributions73 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upstairs was great"
Read full review
Peter D wrote a tip Mar 2017
Forster, Australia13 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We enjoyed a top floor room , the A/C quickly cooled the room down in time for a very comfortable nights sleep"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pokolbin area.
PRICE RANGE
₹11,525 - ₹15,367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastleCessnockPokolbin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLA PROVENCE (Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia) - Guesthouse Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Provence
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Provence?
Nearby attractions include Sutton Estate - Hunter Valley (2.4 km), Hunter Valley Wildlife Park (7.1 km), and Saddlers Creek Wines (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Provence?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Provence?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Provence?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Provence?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Provence?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hunters Quarter, EXP. restaurant, and Yellow Billy Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Provence?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villa Provence?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Villa Provence?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Poppet Head Park (14.6 km).
All Pokolbin HotelsPokolbin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PokolbinHotels near Villa Provence
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire