We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Orbitz.comUS$ 208*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 249*
US$ 208*
US$ 211*
US$ 249*
US$ 208*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

974 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 961: English reviews
Mona Vale, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed on a Saturday night as a quick getaway from Sydney. All in all we had a great stay. The staff were very welcoming and efficient and the location of the hotel itself is fantastic - right on the foreshore, 50m from the beginning of the restaurants and bars in the Honeysuckle precinct and a nice walk along...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
Erin O, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you Alex for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team do work hard to make every guest feel welcome so they can have a great stay. We are very fortunate to be located in the Honeysuckle precinct that is complimented with gorgeous views of the working harbour and easy access...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom with kitchenette room as part of the Maternity by the Sea program. Room was great, clean, modern, everything worked and we found the bed very comfortable. Check-in/out and valet service was top quality but most notably the room service food was some of the best we have ever had. Restaurant quality without...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ezza1002
Erin O, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your Maternity by the Sea stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our wonderful location and that our service made for a relaxing stay. Regards Karyn B Guest Relations

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

Room on top floor, Juliet balcony overlooking the water, 2 rooms : very quiet and comfortable. Restaurant good, service good.... Smiling and obliging staff. Valet parking (fee applies). Within walking distance of lots of Cafes on the water and just a little further afield to the Art Gallery. A good stay....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John Charles W
Erin O, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud of our harbourside location with views over the working harbour and easy access to everything that Newcastle has to offer. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Regards Karyn B Guest Relations

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We stayed at this property for one night as part of long journey and it was such a pleasurable experience. The staff are brilliant here. Check-in was easy and we were upgraded to a balcony room for free. As we were in the process of moving inter-state, our suitcases were buried in our car boot and my parents had used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThePaynez
Erin O, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you had a great stay with us. We are very fortunate to be located in such a pristine location with the beautiful surrounds of the Honeysuckle precinct and easy access to everything that Newcastle has to offer. I look forward to welcoming you back to Newcastle. Regards Karyn B...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Fairly cheap at $200-$250per night but it is in Newcastle and it is completely outdated. service was ok nothing to write home about. Room service was also ok. The bar was ok, service was fairly poor due to the two dudes working who seemed to be having bromance moments on the regular.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrismcniece
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear chrismcneice, Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We genuinely appreciate your comments and I'm very sorry that you felt underwhelmed by our product and service. While the hotel is over 10 years old we maintain a rigourous program to maintain the property as well as having spent a great deal in 2015 to upgrade the facilites...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 January 2016

I spent Australia Day weekend here and had a wonderful stay. I booked the King bed suite with spa for my sister and myself. The room was perfect with a king bed in a separate room to the louge room which had a double fold out sofa bed. The spa bath is huge and the louge room has a small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jewels68x
Erin O, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your short getaway with us. We are very fortunate to be located in the Honeysuckle precinct that is complimented with gorgeous views of the working harbour. I'm pleased that you were able to enjoy your comfortable suite and drinks in our bar. We are so pleased you...

Melbourne
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

We checked in to Crowne Plaza for our anniversary last Saturday. We went for a walk and I made the mistake of leaving my wallet in the room. When we got back we found champagne and glasses in the room but $100 missing from my wallet. When we notified the manager she immediately came to let us know that she...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Spokerina
Matthew A, Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Spokerina, Obviously it is terribly dissappointing to have your stay marred by such an unpleasant experience. As you mention we have conducted a lock audit and confirmed with you the delivery of your anniversay welcome amenity as the only access to your room in your absence. The only other possibility is that the room door was left open at...

Sydney
Reviewed 27 January 2016

2nd stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle in 12 months with this trip much different to the first. -Required special accommodation requirements (adjacent rooms for parents and 3 kids) which Crowne Plaza met, even offering access to special discounted (though pre-paid) rates. -Staff were lovely to my young kids, the rooms spacious and met all their needs and parking available (paid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NowMoreWellTravelled
Erin O, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is for every guest to have a relaxing stay, able to enjoy the company they are with and all that Newcastle has to offer. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - we hope to see you again soon. Regards...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2016

It is frustrating to say the least to check into a room when one wants to watch an important news bulletin to find that the wires on both televisions have been knocked out by the housekeeping staff. At least, that was the excuse provided to me by the concierge who came to fix the problem. If that is correct, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janne L
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Janne L, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate our room setup, the convenience of our location, and our kitchen/dining room staff service. However, I was concerned to see your disappointment with the television due to the housekeeping, our bar staff, the...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2016

I had an occasion to spend 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza Newcastle recently when on a coach tour. The hotel was very modern and bright and situated on a boardwalk right on the water front, where you could sit and relax and have a drink before dinner and watch the passing parade. The city in its self is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
Erin O, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Newcastle is such a special place, and we are so happy to be able to host guests and help them enjoy the city. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - we hope to see you again soon. Regards Karyn B Guest...

479 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (314)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Other (137)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (102)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Queen City View Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.2 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
824 reviews
1.4 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.9 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
345 reviews
0.3 km away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
351 reviews
0.2 km away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy stunning harbour-front views, elegant bars and restaurants and easy access to Hunter Valley golf courses and premier wineries when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle. Relax and rejuvenate in total comfort when you chose from one of our varied selection of 175 suites, each with separate living room and a spacious working area. Indulge in a delicious meal at Crowne Plaza Newcastle's signature restaurant, Seasalt, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and enjoy fresh-caught seafood and dishes expertly prepared from fresh local produce. Sample some little known gems from the Seasalt wine menu or try an award-winning Hunter Valley tipple. Why not meet friends or network with colleagues over a pre-dinner drink in our hotel bar and watch the sunset over the harbour?Guests seeking to remain active while they travel can enjoy full complimentary use of our on-site fitness centre, featuring an array of gymnasium amenities and a 25-meter private pool.Events and wedding celebrations are also a speciality of Crowne Plaza Newcastle, with nine versatile function spaces available for guests to choose from. Most meeting and function rooms boast an abundance of natural sunlight and picturesque views over the harbour's rippling waters.Crowne Plaza Newcastle is conveniently located just a 25-minute taxi ride from Newcastle Airport in Williamtown, or 2 hours' drive from Sydney Airport. We're 100 metres from Civic Train Station, and a tourist tram serving local attractions stops outside the hotel. The Hunter Valley is 45 minutes by car, while Newcastle's beaches are just 800 metres away. The harbour-side location also means that local industry, especially coal, is close by.Enjoy complete comfort and exemplary service when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Newcastle and experience all the history and wonder of this beautiful coastal location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Newcastle

Address: Cnr Merewether St & Wharf Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: ₹ 8,992 - ₹ 20,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Newcastle Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Newcastle staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Sydney
over a year ago
sydney
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Need to really question hotel staff on check in.”
jonathano107, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to use or become an IHG Member for maximum benefits”
andrewwalsh2016, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a harbour view room but beware of ships foghorns!”
V8399VQsandym, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for harbour view room”
traveller2473, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“try to book a harbourview room with balcony, worth the extra money”
, 18 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 208* /night
View Deal
CrownePlaza.comUS$ 211
TravelocityUS$ 208
HotelQuicklyUS$ 249
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates