We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Newcastle

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

652 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 641: English reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Budget boring chain hotel not far from newcastle cbd. Arrived in Newcastle at 1.30 am so took the first place we saw that was open but would not have chosen if had time and options. Room small but ok. However thought the cost was excessive for what we got - ie hotel strictly budget. However if you are looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Chris G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I do apologise that we did not seem to meet the expectations of your stay and do hope we have a chance to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

australia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We stayed overnight at the beginning of December. Although basic, it is spotless and has everything you need. We had booked at the Novotel but there was a mix-up ('no room at the inn') and, although we were at first very disappointed to be offered the Ibis as an alternative, they couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianandgail
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear brianandgail, Whilst you started your time in Newcastle disappointed I am just thrilled to hear that you found the team to be helpful and welcoming, I will definitely share your comments with them and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again Sincerely Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

Muswellbrook, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philipr298
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We found Newcastle accomodation to be expensive across the board and we were expecting a good comfortable budget room but I wasn't expecting the ensuite to be a pod bathroom - which you step up into, and i can only describe as being a moulded all-in-one pod like a caravan bathroom. As an Accor member we were disappointed our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nonny16
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Nonny16, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I would like to apologise that we did not meet your expectations for your stay. I do hope that we have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

An excellent choice for a one night stay as it is close to the centre and easy to get to beaches and restaurants. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. Would recommend when visiting Newcastle.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 153kerrig
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear 153kerrig, Thank you for such a great review, I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a great new year's in Newcastle Sincerely Jo-Anne Ashby, General Manager

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Awsome stay close to town food drink etc, great value for money as well. good parking which can be a hassle at times. being able to walk from town safely was a huge bonus not like Sydney where you dare to walk home.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W8273JQwaynem
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Thanks W8273JQwaynem for this feedback. I am glad you found our location and value for money convenient for your stay. Hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Simon Wells General Manager Ibis Newcastle

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Don't expect anything too fancy, the rooms are small but clean and updated. The staff were all lovely and the bar downstairs was handy. We were in Newcastle for a gig at the Cambridge Hotel which was a short walk, so the location was perfect. No complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taryn D
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Thanks Tarynn for this feedback which sums us up well. Our focus on affordability, staff service and clean, comfortable rooms suited your needs. Kind Regards Simon Wells General Manager Ibis Newcastle

Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

This budget hotel got the things that matter right. Not a whisper, a sound, the peace was calming. The softest bed and cleanest bathroom. Shame about the charges for wifi and car parking. Apart from that excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank purebyron
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Thanks Purebyron for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. When next hear please ask about our free wifi options for our loyalty members which is free to join. I am sorry this was not explained. Kind Regards Simon Wells General Manager Ibis Newcastle

Reviewed 23 November 2016

A very comfortable motel. The bathrooms are very well appointed. Bed was very comfortable and Bar was welcoming. Only negative comment was the glasses in the bar were somewhat dirty with stains on them.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor G
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Thanks for this feedback Victor. Whilst I am happy you enjoyed your stay, Ill let the team know about a bit of extra attention in the bar. Kind Regards Simon Wells General Manager Ibis Newcastle

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 November 2016

The rooms are relatively small, so are not suited to an extended stay (unless you are travelling solo). Nonetheless they are well appointed & cleverly set out to maximise space efficiency. For example the shower cubicle is quite large, so you can shower without banging your extremities on bits and pieces! The bed was comfortable as well It is in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlainMusigny
IbisNewcastleGM, General Manager at Ibis Newcastle, responded to this review

Thanks AlainMusigny for your review. We hope you have the chance to visit again when next in Newcastle. Kind Regards Simon Wells General Manager Ibis Newcastle

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 km away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,272 reviews
1.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
940 reviews
2.1 km away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.0 km away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
369 reviews
4.5 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Newcastle is in the heart of the city, within easy walking distance of the Regional Museum, Art Gallery and Civic Theatre. Guests also have easy access to the many boutiques, restaurants and nightclubs in the popular Queens Wharf and Honeysuckle foreshore precinct. The hotel has 98 rooms, a restaurant, bar, Internet access and was winner of a 2005 Tourism NSW award for excellence in accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Newcastle

Address: 700 Hunter Street, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: ₹ 4,489 - ₹ 8,979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Newcastle staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay at the Mercure at the Airport, the views of the planes are great!”
 of 5 bubbles 314graemer, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room off the main street area, preferably facing the harbour. No traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 785marieh, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Dont go here and pay more than $100 a night”
 of 5 bubbles 833leok, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Although not facing the water, some of the high rooms have a water view. Ask for one!”
 of 5 bubbles brianandgail, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request room with no steps if you have some disability.”
 of 5 bubbles leelinb, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5